Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Bluegrass Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 40 students

Our school is best known for it's Christian world view and service to others.

 
 

Living in Richmond

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $538.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 26, 2014

We were part of BCS for almost 8 years and had a deep love for the school. We were huge advocates and supporters with our time and money. We felt that for PreK - 5th grade there was no match in Madison County. We are professional, educated and well traveled parents that were always impressed with the results. The issue we never had a single complaint but the 1st time we did were told VERY coldly too bad and if we had any other dislikes don't bother. I still think your child will get a good Christian education in a loving and safe environment. So this is really more of heads up that you need to be a submissive type of parent to be at peace with the board and administration and that no matter how long or how much you have supported the school with your resources you are not viewed as a client and no consideration is given to you. It was sad and shocking. So hopefully both the administrator and board can learn from their mistake with our family. Lastly, please know this county needs a Christian school like BCS but it will never have a strong one until the hypocritical pastors in this town start financially supporting one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2014

BCS is a wonderful Christian school. Caring and qualified teachers. The new headmaster is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

Christian oriented, student friendly and combines education in a Christian setting. Well worth the investment in the future of a child to realize the full potential which God has planned for their life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2013

I'd add that BCS is an accredited educational institution by the state of Kentucky. They are the only Christian school in Madison county with that badge. The State accreditation does not however require them to use the N.E.A. approve materials or the "common core" materials. They use ABEKA and to great success.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2013

Bluegrass Christian School provides a wonderful Christian education for its students. The leadership at this school is phenomenal; the teachers and staff are amazing. The new Headmaster, Dr. Bonita Cobb, has professionalized this school with her extensive background in education, leadership and strong conviction of solid Christian Education; all for the glory of God. How fortunate these children are to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

This school is wonderful, they have a true heart for the Lord.. and a true love for their students as well. I have two children that go to school there and already know more bible verses at 3 years old than most people know as an adult. They also have a new Headmaster that has brought a new view to the school and nothing but positive response.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2013

We have been so happy with what our little girls have learned at BCS this year and they are just in preschool. It is real heart warming when you hear your little one's recite scriptures they have learn or the books of the bible. They even remind us to say blessings before we eat. They have good teachers and a new headmaster that has whipped things in shape. We couldn't be any happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2013

We are impressed with BCS this year..there is an amazing, new Headmaster and the teachers are wonderful and care about their students education. I give this school 5*****s!! We are so happy that we decided to enroll our child and recommend BCS for those who are looking for their child to have a quality Christian Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2013

I am so excited to see the changes at Bluegrass this year. With a new Headmaster and almost a whole new staff, the school's atmosphere is completely different than in past years. My child loves all of his teachers, and has gained and new excitement for learning about Jesus. I could not be more pleased with the improvements. I recommended Bluegrass Christian School for all parents seeking a loving and nurturing learning environment for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 16, 2012

This "school" is horrible, it staff make children do labor work, and they only watch videos! I thought i was paying for my child to get a good edutation, but apparently , this not the case, my child often tells me how displease they are with this place, the teachers dont help or go indepht and my child even says they dont have important classes like they should, im very very concern bout my child future and chances of getting into a good college , im concern bout all the kids who go there as well, for it not as great as they would have you think, teachers dont help, they listen in to private conversastions, they go on a not needed lecture instead of really teaching and they make my child and others clean up places like dusty basement even so im sure they hired someone, for that kind of job, this is not a place to send your child if you want them to have a very good edutation , for all this place is,is bout watching videos , lecturing for not needed lectures instead of teaching and think everything that not good in their eyes is evil, I just thought i warn you all bout this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2011

I am very satisfied with the teachers. I have never seen better teachers anywhere except when my child was younger and attended St. Marks Catholic School (Now My child is too old to attend St. Marks Catholic School anymore). Also, there are not many students in the classes so there is lots more individual attention. If only the older children had better attitudes and morals. The children at Bluegrass Christian are very snotty towards any new students. The girls in particular. They seem to treat any new students like outcasts. I pay $310.00 a month for twelve months for my child to be treated like this in what is supposed to be a "Christian" environment with "Christian" students. These children are very backbiting and extremely sheltered from the real world. I have tried speaking with staff. They supposedly have spoken with the children. But honestly those in the two higher positions or the school counselor seem to really not be very helpful in resolving the issue at hand. What if it was their child I wonder? I will be putting my child on the waiting list for Model. I am just so disappointed. I had such high hopes when I found Bluegrass Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

I researched private and public schools in both Richmond and Lexington before deciding to send my child to BCS. The school uses the A BEKA curriculum, wich is the same as Lexington Christian Acadamey. But the tuition is less than half of LCA and classes are small with a student to teacher ratio of about 10 to 1. The school built a new facility 2008 and they are expanding in the basement. All teachers I have encountered are more than willing to do whatever it takes to help your child excel. They have a band program that is almost like private music lessons. They are active in an acclereated reading program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2008

This is an outstanding PreK through 12th Grade school. We have been with the school since it opened seven years ago and there is no other place I would want my children. If an issue every arises, it gets taken care of immediately. Outstanding teachers and administration. It feels great to drop my children off at school and not have to worry about them. These children are extremely loves by everyone here. The academics is excellent! Each year my children have scored well above their grade level on their achievement test scores. I highly recommend this school to anyone who is interested in a Christian education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

A christian school is the way to go. This school is it!! If you haven't visited us, please do. See for yourself that Christ is not dead. Kids need to know that. Public schools won't even let you say His name. How sad is that...My son has a personal walk with God, he knows Him, knows Christ is real, knows that prayer changes things. This school and the teachings/beliefs back me up on what I'm instilling in him. I am very pleased. Come see for yourself. Children are accepted of all walks of life. Kids don't feel like they're better than other kids. They're not running around competing with each other. Whose wearing an Abercrombie shirt doesn't matter to them. Everybody is friends. You just have to see to believe. I fully support this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2008

I am so pleased that there is always time in the principal's day to talk with parents and show special interest in the students. I truly am grateful that there are NO safety issues and that the principal is always present to see and know what happens during the school day with the students. The principal is a very straight forward disciplianarian. Students know that there are high expectations and comply with the rules.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2008

I was truly amazed when we were thinking about leaving public education that the principal of the school would committ to coming to a meeting at the public school about our child. What a blessing to have someone show that kind of interest in our child even before we left the public arena. Knowing that the administration was that dedicated to our child showed us that Bluegrass Christian School was where our child needed to be. Praise the Lord for the school, the teachers and the administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2008

Our daughter supposedly had a learning disability when we pulled her from public school. Come to find out she was just shy and needed extra attention. With class size of 15 or less, she was able to get the help she needed. She now tests a couple grade levels above her current level in several areas. The school is not perfect, (none ever are) but provides a safe, Christian atmosphere with dedicated teachers and an excellent Abeka curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2008

Bluegrass Christian School is now 6 years old. The curriculum is available to 3yr. olds in Pre School all the way to an accreditated high school. The ABEKA curriculum is used and is accepted by most colleges and universities. There are crediable tests and assessments that measure what is taught at this Christian School. At this time, BCS is working towards the certification of the school through the Ky Non Public Schools in Frankfort, KY.


Posted January 3, 2008

It is a school that fosters the spiritual growth of children. They give children a firm foundation in the word. Having attended chapel services at the school and witnessed the actions of students in my church, I know that the administration and teachers at Bluegrass Christian School are dedicated to serving the Lord.


Posted November 7, 2007

Although a Christian school, we're not impressed. (with exception of a few devoted and wonderful teachers) Kids tease, are extremely worldly and many come from rich families. Rules are lax, communication is poor, not progressive, leadership shuts it's ears, and they fundraise constantly without end. We want a school where our kids are learning to live in today's world as Christians and be led by God but we feel like we're wasting our money.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
 

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

Unfortunately, this school doesn't have sufficient data to generate an academic rating.

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Eastern Kentucky University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Media arts
  • Technical design and production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • training
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Bonita Cobb
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (859) 624-3099

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Abeka
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Educational Therapy
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • training
Transportation options
  • Parent
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • As offered
Girls sports
  • As offered

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • Technical design and production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
Yes

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Eastern Kentucky University
College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
training
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

211 Pin Oak Drive
Richmond, KY 40475
Website: Click here
Phone: (859) 624-3083

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Harvest Academy
Richmond, KY





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT