Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rineyville Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 517 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 9, 2013

The rating for this school should be much higher! I am so impressed with this school and it's staff! The principal, Mr. Coffey, goes above and beyond for these kids! My daughter wakes up everyday and asks if she is going to school that day, and gets disappointed if I tell her she has the day off. I am so blessed to have found this school for my daughter!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2010

I LOVE Rineyville Elementary. My daughter is in first grade now. She had the most loving, caring Kindergarten teacher last year (Mrs. Blanc). Mrs. Blanc made my daughter's first year in school a wonderful, unforgettable one. She loved and cared for her students immensely. And now she's in first grade, and her teacher this year has been wonderful as well. I could not be happier with this school. The Principal knows every student by name, and he always talks to me whenever I see him. Last year on the last day of school, the principal and all of the teachers stood out on the sidewalk and waved at all of the students as they left on the buses for summer break. They really do care about their students at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

I LOVE Rineyville Elementary. My daughter is in Kindergarten and her teacher is amazing. We love the principal and vice principal, in fact I haven't met a single staff member who hasn't greeted me with a smile and positive attitude! There ae regular events at the school that help to bring the community together and makes the school feel like a family. I'm so happy with RES.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Rineyville Elementary School has a very caring staff and a great group of kids.


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers are the greatest and actually do what they were hired to do...teach!


Posted August 6, 2009

Both of my sons have attended there and I must say I am EXTREMELY Pleased with the teachers and staff... definately a GREAT school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

I have had an over great experience with this school so far. This is my daughters 3rd year there and although she wasnt happy with the first two years in the preschool program but she is very happy with the kindergarden class she has now! I am very impressed with the compassion and attention that mr coffee principal has toward his students and their families! There is also a great community involvement there and a great sense of pride in the school and children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2008

My son has attended Rineyville Elementary for 3 years, K-2. I cannot say how impressed I have been with all of his teachers, the guidance counselor and the principal. He has ADHD and they have all been extremely accomodating and supportive. Because of this he is very successful despite many challenging days. All schools should be this helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Rineyville Elementary is an amazing school. We have had two children that have attended here. Our son went from 2nd - 5th and our daughter has gone from K - 5th. All of the staff is active in the children's lives and shows great care and concern for them with their learning and personal lives. The encouragment and support that they receive is the best that I have ever seen in a school. The principal has done an outstanding job. It is located in a fairly small town but this is great because you really get that person relationship with everyone there. I grew up in Hardin County School and am fully aware of every one of them. This is by far the best elementary school in the district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

My children have attended this school for three years. The Principal knows every students name, parents, he is very involved. My children have blossomed here. They are challenged, and the teachers are very involved and approachable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2004

My wife and myself have volunteered in Louisville schools for over 12 years, and we can not get this school to use our service. We have no children left in school, but we love to volunteer. I wish they excepted outsiders help more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2004

My child attended this school for K-5. We then moved to another state where she is currently in her senior year of high school. She is an outstanding student who has continuously earned outstanding scores on both school and national tests. Her foundation at Rineyville provided her with the tools she needed to excel.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female52%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female58%
Male60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students76%
Female82%
Male68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Math

All Students54%
Female55%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female59%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities54%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students70%
Female67%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female31%
Male52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female51%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
Female49%
Male75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White66%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities42%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students31%
Female46%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 82%
Black 9% 11%
Hispanic 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

275 Rineyville School Rd
Rineyville, KY 40162
Phone: (270) 737-7371

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT