Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Allen County-Scottsville High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 31, 2010

Not very willing to work with parents..I have to give it a 1 out of 10 rating
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2009

As an Alumni, and Parent of a Student I see a lot of positive change in our High School. Mr. Carter has created a new feeling of Partiot Pride, and continues to make strides to improve our School. There is still work to do, both for the Faculty and as Parents. One can not do it without the other. Old School mentality has to make room for new ideas and opportunities without loosing focus of providing the educational experience our children need.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2008

I'm a senior at ACSHS and love how it seems everyone is friends with everyone. I love my teachers and can go to them for anything
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2008

I have had two children to graduate from ACSH and I have a child that I am guardian over that is in the 11th Grade. I graduated from ACSHS in 1971 and I think that this school rates excellent in academics, great guidance counselors, and alot to offer in extracurrucular activities. I am very proud to have graduated from this school. In my family there were 10 children and I was the first to graduate me being the 5th child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I went to ACHS. I liked this school. To me it showed lots of school spirit and the teachers worked hard to show that they cared for each student. The four short years I went I experienced several clubs, sports, and learning envolvment classes open up for those who qualified. To me I received my general education as expected. I didn't once expect it to be as hard as college, which is a personal preference for some who want to go, but to me I think that it prepared me the best it could have. If it was as hard as college, what would have been the point of going to WKU or wherever you choose. I know I didnt personally thank the teachers, but, thank you for all the hard work that you did to teach, not only me, but my classmates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I went to this school. The focus was generally on sports and how well the teams were doing and less on education. Most of the teachers that I had were coaches of some kind or another. I took the same science class over again with the same book because as a transfer student the school refused to acknowledge a class by a different name MIGHT be the same class. I had good teachers some of which seemed to be just as frustrated with the school policy as the parents and students. I hope that the standards have changed as far as what's important. They have many other students who aren't athletes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 2, 2007

I went to ACSHS. You can do the bare minimum and get by. When I started college I immediatedly felt overwelmed and underprepared. I made good grades and played sports, so I had a good experience, but acedemic standards, I know now are way too low. I'm the oldest child and I hope things change so my siblings have a better chance at college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 15, 2007

I attended high school here and it didn't really prepare me for college. The teachers let the students off easy. When I got to college, it was very different, and it was much more work than at Allen County. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad school, but I think that they focus too much on sports and not the actual education.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 4, 2006

This school does not have programs to help children who are struggling in math unless your are considered low income. I am the only one in our family thats able to work, my husband is disable. But the school says my child is not able to get the extra help she needs. To me if a parent comes to the school and says my child is struggling in math, the school should help each child to better educate themselves, even with free tutoring afterschool for ANY child no matter who thay are. The math teachers say they only have so much time to go over everything, so if your child doesn't understand it, it is like so be it it's their fought. This school doesn't realize that all children doesn't learn at the same level. Just wish this school could help my child learn the basics in high school math. Thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

178 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
28%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students45%
Female56%
Male36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students19%
Female24%
Male14%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White19%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students62%
Female68%
Male56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
35%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
26%

2010

 
 
12%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

206 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
28%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

220 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
19%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
43%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students34%
Female35%
Male33%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students36%
Female35%
Male38%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students52%
Female61%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students43%
Female39%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Average

Test score rating
Student growth rating
College readiness rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Average

Reading growth at this school

Average


College readiness rating 20143What's this?

College readiness rating combines this high school's graduation rates with data about college entrance exams, both of which are indicators of how well schools are preparing students for success in college and beyond.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

3 This rating is based on average composite ACT scores and four-year adjusted graduation rates from 2012-13.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 81%
Black 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1545 Bowling Green Rd
Scottsville, KY 42164
Phone: (270) 622-4119

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Old Union School
Bowling Green, KY


Greenwood High School
Bowling Green, KY


Anchored Christian School
Bowling Green, KY


Beacon Academy
Bowling Green, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT