Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hebron Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 394 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted yesterday

the staff, teachers, faculty and other members of this public school are very immature. From what I have seen they put their own concerns in front of the students concerns. The school rating, test scores, attendance etc. The children that attend here are treated like dirt on the bottom of our shoe.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted yesterday

if you get caught with gum in your mouth they try to force the students to scrap pre chewed gum from sidewalks, desk and anywhere they can find gum. This is absolutely disgusting
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

good teachers. first year
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 2, 2009

I think this is a great school. The teachers, principal and all faculty are friendly and very caring. They work hard to teach these kids and the effort shows. They also have the best band program around thanks to an extremely dedicated band director. This is my sons second year here and I am proud that he attends this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

This is our first year at Hebron. My son is in 7th grade and my daughter is in 6th. I had them transferred from BLMS so they would have a better chance at learning. We tried to get them into Eastside, but it was full. I will admit that getting them into Hebron was a better choice. Principal Barbagallo is one of the best we have worked with. Hopefully our kids will be able to finish their whole Jr High learning experience at Hebron.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

I go to Hebron and the school is clean and the school has nice things I just wish they would let students and teachers have more one-on-one time with the kids I have trouble with my grades cause Im not understanding some of the things they teach.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

My daughter goes to Hebron Middle School and is always happy and likes the teachers and says that everyone (including the teachers) are nice and this is her last yr. there and she has been there since the 6th grade and has said the same thing since her first day at Hebron Middle School!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

This school is very pleasing to our family. They give great improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

I am in my second year at Hebron which is almost over. Next year i will be going to Zoneton and i am so happy. the teachers at hebron are more concerned about theirselves than anything. They definitly need to get over this and the school needs a major improvement in all areas. Also the only thing they worry about is CATS testing and they always yell at us because the scores are low. my family and i are very dissatisfied.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2004

I just completed my third year at Hebron and I have to say that I am very displeased. I felt I was taught around the cats testing which was a complete waist of time. I liked most of the teachers but hated the fact that they were more concerned with or 'uniform violations' than how much time we spent learning in the classroom. I have been and honor roll student all of my life and work comes easy for me but I never felt as if I were able to live up to me full potiental. I simply was not challenged. I'm glad to learn that I am not the only one who feels this way.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 16, 2004

I am also dissatisfied with Hebron. I don't see why they have a dress code or discipline plan. some students are treated differently by being allowed to wear different clothing because of sports teams etc. and those kids like to rub it in other kids faces which is no different from a school without uniforms. I thought the purpose of uniforms was so all students would be treated the same to cut down on bullying but at this school they don't do that. also some kids get into trouble and use bad language and because they have a parent that is a volunteer their kid is let off the hook with no discipline so their kid can bully and do anything they want because they know Mom will bail them out and this is dead wrong. If there are rules they should be the same for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2003

I am very dissatisfied with the 'Hebron system'. Teacher are more concerned about dress code than they are about students well being. They have adapted in my opinion a no exception rule to everything. My child has been humilated and embarrassed by his teachers in front of his classmates. This school's teachers are out of control.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

I have had one child go through this Hebron middle and I now have another in this school. The focus in the school is not the children! The kids have issues that are not addressed properly: over crowded, not enough room in lockers, not enough time between classes, to much homework teachers do not concider the kids have 5 or 6 other classes ans teachers and all give homework, at times kids have over welming amounts. These are just some of my opinions.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
50%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
18%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
35%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students48%
Female56%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students27%
Female25%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female58%
Male49%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students58%
Female71%
Male43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female42%
Male37%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female61%
Male46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students54%
Female63%
Male44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students34%
Female40%
Male28%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students45%
Female55%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White44%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students53%
Female55%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students34%
Female48%
Male21%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White33%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
31%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 82%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 11%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (502) 957-6014

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3300 East Hebron Ln
Shepherdsville, KY 40165
Website: Click here
Phone: (502) 869-4200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Zoneton Middle School
Shepherdsville, KY


Micah Christian School
Louisville, KY


Eastside Middle School
Mount Washington, KY


Knight Middle School
Louisville, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT