Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scott High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 7 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 19, 2014

The caring administrators and teachers at Scott are some of the most dedicated I've seen anywhere. They are humble enough to realize the need for continued improvement as they work toward fulfilling the goals of the CSIP begun, I believe, in 2012. Most of the students tell me that the school is much better now than it was just a few years ago, that with the Principal's "Open Door" policy, they can speak to one of the administrators whenever they need to & know they will be heard and their concerns will be taken into consideration and worked on. As of the spring of 2014, improvements continue in test scores, discipline issues, and overall school culture. Scott High School affords students the opportunity to take Dual Credit Courses at area colleges, a variety of language classes at the school, to participate in a variety of sports, drama programs, clubs, activities, and community service opportunities. I have been on staff at Scott High School since 2012 and am proud to be an Eagle! I look forward to seeing the goals that the current administration has been working on continue to show the improvements in the quality of education and culture at Scott High School as we move forward.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 15, 2012

I believe that Scott High School is what the student and parents make of it. I have two children who either are enrolled or graduated from Scott. Both have done exceptionally well. I have found that the new principal is trying make things better, but that the teachers have consistently reached out to many with any concerns they have. When that happens, they have been more than receptive to working with me and my children to help them realize their full potential. In addition, the school offers a wide variety of academic and extracurricular activities. I am not sure how it compares with other schools in the region, but I know it's far more than I experienced as a high school student. I believe Scott is a great school for students who are trying to do their best. I believe it will continue to get better under the new leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2011

Scott High School has the most amazing and caring athletic coaches around the state of ky


Posted March 28, 2010

I am a parent of a Senior at Scott High School, I recently learned my son needs 1/2 (half) a credit to walk at graduation, this was after the counselor placed my son as a 'student aide', thus 0 credits...Now he will not have the diploma he worked so hard for all those years!!! You be the judge, if I knew this was happening, I would have taken action, but it is too late now and nobody there cares. I am a parent whom has been involved with every teacher in every grade throughout my sons education, and this slipped by me!! I am very unhappy with the education he has (not) received. Additionally, they do not care about GPA of struggling students, he will be attending college in the fall and basically I will be paying for him to be re-educated for what he should have learned in high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2010

My kids go to Scott High and if I would of known what they were all about I would never of sent them there. They dont care if the children succeed, they just care about the money they receive for each student that graduates, whether they deserve to or not. I will not let my granddaughter attend that school when she is old enough, it is a joke.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2010

I've been teaching at Scott High for four years now. Since our current principal, Tom Madison, began working in the building, things have improved tremendously! Discipline has improved and things are getting better. As with every school, there is still room for improvement, but much of the current challenge comes from the outside of the building--the higher-ups who aren't focused on one mission: educating children. Too often, they are worried about other goals that distract students, teachers, and administrators from the importance of education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 30, 2009

Both of my children attended Scott High school and they both excelled. I was very content with Scott and never once worried about them while attending. It is a safe and comfortable environment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

Other than that, Scott is a safe school with excellent acedemic opportunities. Students earn college credits while still in high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2006

Sad but true... The good news is there are teachers at Scott who are trying to make a difference, they are trying to get the kids envolved and get school spirit up. What's wrong with Scott is the K.C. School Board. Scott does pretty good with what they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2006

I think there is great deal of room for improvement! We have a small core of good dedicated teachers, but thier number dwindle and the truly motivated teachers move on. The majority of faculty examples I have observed are teachers who have 'done it this way for ten years' and 'don't see the point in changing now'. They want to keep tenure and are more interested in their own future than those of their students. There is a subtle lack of school spirit or discernible pride in Scott High School from it's students. This is demonstrated daily by the dress, affect, attendance and GPA of the majority of children in attendance. The root cause, in my opinion, lies in leadership. There are no consequences for poor behavior on the part of either children or faculty. The prevailing attitude seems to be 'Keep your Head Down. Stay Under the Radar.'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

284 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

255 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
22%

2012

 
 
20%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

207 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students33%
Female36%
Male31%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students22%
Female28%
Male17%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students54%
Female63%
Male47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial50%
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
48%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
26%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

205 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
7%

2012

 
 
11%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

240 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
38%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

209 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students20%
Female15%
Male25%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White22%
Economically disadvantaged13%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students7%
Femalen/a
Male5%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White8%
Economically disadvantaged8%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students53%
Female62%
Male45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students57%
Female54%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracial60%
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 81%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Black 2% 11%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5400 Old Taylor Mill Rd
Taylor Mill, KY 41015
Phone: (859) 356-3146

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Northern Ky Tech - Highland Hts
Highland Heights, KY


North Campbell Tech
Highland Heights, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT