Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gray Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

24 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 5, 2014

This is the best school I have ever attended. 4/10 But what if school is not as sausage weeners as thought? i ASSURE THAT SCHOOL IS SHAMROCK FRRE.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 9, 2013

While there are many wonderful teachers at Gray Middle, your child can rest assured that there will be an equally bad number of circumstances they encounter as a student at Gray. The teacher's hands are tied as far as how much support they can offer a student. Fortunately, there is presently new administration so perhaps times will change for the good but it has been our full experience, if you want quality, Gray Middle of Union KY is NOT for your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 6, 2012

We moved from out of state and sent out two children to Gray Middle School for the 2011-12 school year. We found the school to be very behind in their technology and curriculum as well as an oppressive environment for both the students and the teachers. While there were a few good teachers, most of the teachers were terrible and appeared overburdened, not dedicated and as though they did not enjoy their job. Additionally, if you have a child in special education, I would highly suggest looking at another school. We found Gray Middles School to be inflexible and terrible to work with. When I asked his special ed teacher to review his homework assignments to see if accommodations needed to be made, she said "I can't do that...I have to teach and it really isn't my job". Throughout the course of the year, I had requested several meetings to modify his IEP, assignments and classes, they did not like this and his special education teacher began taking it out on my son in the classroom. Maybe with the new principle things will change, however we opted not to send our children back there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2012

Good school however the focus seems to be more on the state testing at the end of the school year than the education of the children. My 7th grader has at least 7hrs of homework everynight, this is not a lie. It's sad to think that at 12yrs of age she will be working this hard the rest of her life. Education should be more than throwing papers at the kids. Teachers need to focus more on teaching than the testing and the funding they get from the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2012

Gray middle school is a very good school to go to.. Why exactly? Well look at our test scores. Do you think the student is just doing that by themselves ? No! The teachers help us succeed in everything. That's why this middle school is 2nd in nky!!!


Posted September 2, 2010

I would venture to state that Gray Middle school is not as great as some might suggest. You have one poster below that cannot spell which indicates a poor level of education quality. The principal does not respond to communications and the staff is rude beyond belief. They make you go through female students who are on break before you get to speak with the office staff. The principal has walked out of his office right past parents without greeting them let alone identifying himself. Boone Co. schools forget that they work for the tax payers and not the other way around. There is no joy in knowing that my child attends school in this district. Boone Co. has a great many children that are home schooled for a reason.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2010

I agree with the review that many of the teachers perform less than adequately when informing parents of a student's failing grades. My son failed one class each marking period without so much as a word from the teacher of the class. I DID check the IIOD/grade portal to observe the progress, but there was no information there as far as grades were concerned. If there is a 504 plan in effect, please don't expect it to be followed without continuous, consistent input from you, the parent. While there ARE some wonderful teachers, some seem to disregard the students who follow a different learning style than the general population, regardless of the IQ of the student. If your student learns differently, for the most part, you may not receive the best education here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

I'm going to be an 8th grader at GMS this fall, and i have to say this is the best school out of every other middle school in the district. As a member of the GMS volleyball team, when we travel to other schools to compete, I've noticed that GMS is the cleanest, brightest, and most well run school out of the other schools. And as far as favoring the rich and athletic, thats b.s. The GMS sports teams are the only people that are allowed to wear sweatpants on their game days. Deal with it. If you want to wear sweatpants, try-out and make a team. Do something. The Volleyball team, Dance team, Basketball team, Choir, Wresteling and all of the other teams earned it. Thats one of the values you learn here at Gray. If you want something, earn it. If you want passing grades, earn it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 1, 2008

This is the best school ever expesialy Mr. Hummel the principle
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 22, 2008

I am a 7th grade student at GMS and all I can say is WOW! Everything is fantastic! Not just the academic scores, but the Wrestling Team that I am a proud female member of, and the Gray Middle School Concert Choir that I am also a proud member of! I am a proud GMS student and in my heart, I will always be a GMS GATOR!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 13, 2008

I'm an 8th grader at Gray Middle School and i have been going to this school since 6th grade and i love it here. We also have amazing test scores and great athletics. We are an all around great school
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 30, 2007

As the parent of two students who have attended Gray Middle School, I would like to say that it is an excellent school with many positive qualities. Most of the teachers and staff are extremely supportive and are willing to work with parents and students to ensure the success of the child. My one complaint is the fact that there are several teachers who take weeks to post grades on the IIOD website, making it very difficult for those parents who wish to monitor their child's progress. I take exception to the complaint by one parent on this website who said the school is only for those who are rich or athletes. My family is far from rich, and I have one child who is a superb athlete and one not involved in athletics at all. However, both children have been treated fairly and consistently. If the child works, he succeeds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2007

As an employee/parent of student(s) attending Gray, I can't say enough about the education they are receiving. They also learn discipline, respect for others as well as self, and continued preparation for the real world. Parents are the first educators and should be working together with teachers,not against. School is not a babysitting facility. The teachers, administration, and staff take great pride in their achievements with all their students and only push themselves harder with their continued success. It's time parents become accountable for their child's continued discipline problems. Stop enabling by using other excuses. The school district is great, GMS is excellent. Do yourself a favor and take time to educate yourself online about this school and its continued success. Also, be thankful to be able to have your child(ren) attend a school with employees who are sincere in their jobs as educators. That's why my child attends GMS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

As a parent of two children, one junior in high school and a past student of Gray, and a current seventh grader, I beleive Gray is one of the best middle schools in the district, if not the state. Students are adequately challenged and encouraged to perform their personal best. My oldest flourished in advanced-level classes and now as a junior in high school continues to do so. I believe the great quality of edcuation at Gray enabled her to be fully prepared for her high school career. When my youngest child's grades started to decline, the teacher called us at home to let us know what was going on, share her concerns, and offer support. Because of the great communication, my child was able to bring the grade up and perfom much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2006

Gray Middle has done nothing but mistreated my kids. Before they came to this school they had good grades and didn't get in any trouble. The teachers favorites students based on athletic ability. Also the dress code favorites the athletes. I do not recomend this school to anyone unless they are good in sports and rich. But the sports teams aren't even good. And the pricipal is a rude, mean man. But Mrs. Wiggins is great with my kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2005

This is my third year at Gray. When I was in the sixth grade,I was intimitated at first but that was just fear. Now that I'm an eighth grader, I love Gray. Parent involvment is based on how much the parents want to be involved. My parents are involved in almost everything! A program called IIOD lets parents and students look at their grades. Teachers post grades on this everyday. It may seem like the teachers dont post grades for a while but, it also takes a while to be updated. The music department is very knowledgable. They are also very skilled and talented. Teachers at Gray care about the learning process and do everything they can to increase the students knowledge. If students need help, most teachers will let them stay afterschool for help. Gray is a GREAT school and I'm sad to be leaving next year.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2005

I was a student at Gray, until I got redistricted to Ockerman Middle School. I found that mostly the teachers were very nice and helpful. I think that this school is more concerned about the students grade level and will work with you as far as puting students in honnor or advanced classes than most other schools. I was involved in band and was on dance team. These programs both taught me and I thought that these programs were very helpful. This school is very helpful and is my favoite in the county.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 3, 2005

This school is one of the top with Mr.Hummel as the principal. There is a lot of parent to teacher involvment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2005

Gray Middle School isn't the absult best school I ever been to but it's very good! The teachers are great and the over all condition of the building. It is very clean and Healthy. The band/music cirricullum is awesome! But, I don't think the level parental involvment are very good. There aren't very many extracurricular activities. There can be more though.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 1, 2005

i think gray is a really good school for young learners. the principal there is verry, verry, strict. he lets the students get by with absolutely nothing. the overall quality is good i recomend this school to any one!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 44% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 46% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 48% in 2013.

357 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 39% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 55% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 61% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
56%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 52% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 39% in 2013.

348 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students58%
Female65%
Male51%
African Americann/a
Asian62%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a

Math

All Students62%
Female66%
Male58%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic24%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners43%
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students59%
Female65%
Male53%
African Americann/a
Asian54%
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners14%
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students47%
Female67%
Male29%
African Americann/a
Asian46%
Hispanic12%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learners21%
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
Female64%
Male70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female74%
Male66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Science

All Students76%
Female76%
Male76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities7%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female56%
Male63%
African Americann/a
Asian67%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities5%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female72%
Male77%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students76%
Female71%
Male80%
African Americann/a
Asian50%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students57%
Female67%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asian58%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
79%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

What is the GreatSchools Rating?

The GreatSchools rating is a simple tool for parents to compare schools based on test scores, student academic growth, and college readiness. It compares schools across the state, where the highest rated schools in the state are designated as “Above Average” and the lowest “Below Average.” It is designed to be a starting point to help parents make baseline comparisons. We always advise parents to visit the school and consider other information on school performance and programs, as well as consider their child's and family's needs as part of the school selection process.

 
Above average

Test score rating
Student growth rating

1-3 Below Average

4-7 Average

8-10 Above Average

 

How schools in the state rate:

22%
of schools in the state are Below average
49%
of schools in the state are Average
29%
of schools in the state are Above average

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

The graphs below compare this school's results in each area to other schools in the district and state.

Test score rating 20141What's this?

Test score rating examines how students at this school performed on standardized tests compared with other schools in the state.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Student growth rating 20142What's this?

Student growth rating measures whether students at this school are making academic progress over time. Specifically, the rating looks at how much progress individual students have made on reading and math assessments during the past year or more.

Close
This school
District
State
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10

Math growth at this school

Above average

Reading growth at this school

Above average


1 This rating is based on 2012-13 K-PREP and EOC results from the Kentucky Department of Education.

2 This rating is based 2012-13 median growth percentiles from the Kentucky Department of Education.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Black 1% 11%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10400 US 42
Union, KY 41091
Phone: (859) 384-5333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St Paul School
Florence, KY


Heritage Academy
Florence, KY


Alternative Center
Florence, KY



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT