Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Larry A. Ryle High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 1 student

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2012

I have had 2 students graduate from this school, with 2 more graduating soon. They have gone on to excel in excellent colleges out of state. Ryle did an excellent job preparing them for college and life. Ryle's academics were right in line with my kids peers who attended schools in other states, often private schools. Is it perfect? No, but it is a good public school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2011

Ryle High School let down both of my children. After two extremely frustrating years, we moved out of state. The mode of dealing with children struggling in school is detenton and humiliating meetings with vice principles who do not show the skill sets to complete the job they are being paid for. Counselors were a no show. After leaving, both my children received excellent counseling, access to great programs and proper medical analysis to help them be successful in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2011

Yes ryle is a mediocre school yes AP classes are great if they let your child in. A child should be able to pursue an education without persucution just because one needs bigger print or in wheelchair does not make them stupid. This school only care about mony they are munching off state money. Culture its okay not munch half the kids probably have no idea what is going on other than whats in their little area.Although teachers are wonderful the principal is horrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

As a current student and senior at Ryle, I can honestly and accurately say that it is an amazing school. Ryle encourages students to do and be the best they can. For people who say athletes or anyone for that matter coast through don't have the full story. No one coasts through unless they have made the choice to take easy classes. Ryle offers so many AP and Honors courses, so it is up to the individual and their parents to make their schedule challenging. The staff is very helpful and encouraging, but they won't take you by the hand and force you into the right classes. Another note worthy aspect of Ryle is the abundance of extra-curricular activities. From sports to honors clubs to arts programs, Ryle offers and excels. But once again, participation is completely up to the individual. Since I decided as a Freshman that I wanted all that Ryle could offer me, I have benefitted greatly and truly appreciate the education I have received, the amazing experiences I have had, and the endless opportunities I now have ahead of me.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 13, 2011

I graduated from Ryle it's okay cares more about sports than actual knowledge. I transfered my sophmore year from boone big mistake. I was harrassed by the counsler who would not leave me alone. I was not allowed in honor classes because I am visually disabled not mental. I rather go back to drug infested city school than there. They have no respect for anyone even the law one day I hope the ACLU or somthing shuts them down.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2011

The speech and debate team is great program. Excellent teachers but watch out if your kid has disabilities. Child has physical disabilities not mental ones they will not allow to let them go into honor class even though they qualify all standards. Took me two years to take them out of special program and into regular classes. They may be visually impaired but has very high test scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2011

I have graduates of Larry A Ryle High School who are now having much success in college. Ryle prepared them with a rigorous AP or honors course load and offered them many leadership opportunities through organizations like FBLA and Student Council. It was ultimately their choice to take the courses load they did. If your student is motivated as mine were it is a high school that will prepare them for a successful college degree. They must be active in their decision to be a strong student and a particiaptor in the many extra curricular choices.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

My son is a student at Larry A. Ryle High School. He is getting an amazing education. Is the school perfect? Of course not, but it is as strong as any school I have witnessed. The teachers care and the principals are involved and pay attention to all of the students. The honors and AP programs are growing and there is feeling that all students can and should be successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2010

This is the best highschool! They really do care about the students and really do everything to help them. The sports are outstanding as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

Great academics, faculty/staff, facilities and extracurriculars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2009

A truly mediocre school. We moved here from out of state and were told what a wonderful school Ryle was and how demanding it was academically. My daughter is in honors courses, but I was not seeing any homework. She told me she was doing it in class. When I asked further, I learned that the teacher was giving them time to do their homework in class. The 'homework' was later reviewed in class, but it was never seen by the teacher. Frankly, the level of education is quite poor, though it may not be apparent to someone whose children have been educated locally. Reasonably safe, lots of athletic opportunities, but if you want something demanding academically, this is not the place to come.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

Ryle is a great school and is very educated. I am a freshman and i play football and wrestle and its great coaching staff, but they are very strict on grades which is a good thing. So we are academically strong as well athletically. But there are many people who are very snobby or think they are better than you
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 18, 2008

Ryle is a great school. I went there freshman year, and transferred to Boone sophomore year. At ryle, the atmosphere is wonderful. Students and teachers are very friendly and welcoming. Boone is no comparison. I totally disagree with the comment that said 'I say good morning and they just give me a weird look...and they never smile.' When I attended Ryle the entire staff seemed like very happy people, always smiling and put forth effort to have 'small talk' even if you just pass them in the hallway. Ryle is very strong in their academic and athletic programs. You might hear/see drugs at this school but a very scarce amount and, seriously, its a public high school, I don't know of any public high schools that have 0 students using drugs. And the bathrooms never smelled of smoke. This school definately deserves to be #1 in the nation!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 28, 2008

really poor principal leaderships do not recommend if can afford private schooling. teachers most just show up give assignment, and the principals dont care what the teachers have to say.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

I actually go there and yes it is a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 5, 2007

I am a 2006 graduate and I absolutely loved this school. Students have a fair say in their schedule. They can make it as difficult or as easy as they like. The teachers there are wonderful and do their best to help you with whatever you need. They have a strong English program as well as a strong Math program. Their extracurricular activities are wonderful in both sports, honors programs, and clubs. They have everything from NHS to guitar club. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and was very ready for college once I got here!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2007

I am currently a sophomore at Ryle and although it isn't terrible, it's sometimes hard for me to believe that we're the best school in northern Kentucky. The overall education a student receives is fairly good and I've heard many students say that they were well prepared for college, however it has its problems. Even though there are many good teachers, some simply need to be removed. Students have an easy time coasting by without much effort. Because of the size, the administrative staff is distant. Most importantly, students are not challenged. Overall, I think it's a very good school for the average or below-average student, but if your child is gifted, stay as far away as possible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 11, 2007

Grad in 2002. Ryle is strong in academics, yes, there's no doubt there. The English program was especially strong and I was more than prepared for college. However, from what I remember, athelete's had an easy time coasting by.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 7, 2006

I attended Ryle during the first 3 years it was open. From the first day the school opened I felt nothing more then the best! All that have the privlage to attended this school should be very thankfu!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 4, 2006

Good school comparatively in this region. Due to size of school, kids seem more like numbers and individuals.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

418 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
76%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students66%
Female73%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students60%
Female64%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic31%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students85%
Female88%
Male82%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading

The state average for Reading was 70% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

The state average for Writing was 45% in 2011.

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

299 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
56%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

423 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

406 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
76%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students39%
Female44%
Male35%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities3%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students60%
Female59%
Male61%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students68%
Female65%
Male71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 81%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
Black 2% 11%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 16%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10379 US 42
Union, KY 41091
Phone: (859) 384-5300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Heritage Academy
Florence, KY


Alternative Center
Florence, KY




Lloyd High School
Erlanger, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT