Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Stonestreet Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 495 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 12, 2014

The staff and facility are all tops nothing less than outstanding. As a guardian who has a private education and experience with contemporary private schools I would put Stonestreet against most any private campus anywhere in town. Kids are never a number here and when the slightest issue pops up from time to time the teacher is immediately in contact with the parents or guardian. This goes for the lunchroom staff as well. Always happy to help if you forget and the account is short they don't withhold anything and send a note home letting you know the status. Even the crossing guards are tops. IAs a guardian I second guessed myself vs going back to a private institution but all these pretty, caring and intelligent gals and the guys have made me forget any concerns and I know my dependent is getting a well rounded education each and every day. The school should be what all should aspire to be.


Posted December 14, 2012

My son is currently in kindergarten at Stonestreet and he loves it!!! The staff is very friendly and supported, and the classwork is very fun and interesting for the students. I am very satisfied with the quality of Stonestreet and would highly recommend it to others!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2011

My Daughter started at Sonestreet in 1st grade. I was scared to start at a public school. I and my other children went to Catholic schools.But with another child coming we could not afford anymore. Our daughter also has Type 1 Diabetes and I was also scared of how her care would be as well. I have been so blessed with all the staff and the caring children that help with my daughters disease. They treat her as if she was their daughter. And the children all treat her with kind hearts. I couldn't have picked a better school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

My daughter is in K this year and she had never been in any type of school program before this, and I think that I might have been expecting more. She has learned ALOT this year and I am very proud of her and grateful to her teachers, but I wish there was more parental involvement. There were NO class productions, school plays or sports teams that my child could have participated in. I thought about changing her schoold this year, but she has learned so much this past year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 22, 2008

My son has attended Stonestreet for two years now and has learned so much. The teachers and staff are very kind and caring towards the students and parents. They really try to maintain a family atmosphere by planning various after school activities that encourage parent and child participation. It has been amazing to watch my son excel in reading in his first two years of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2007

The faculty and staff are wonderful here at Stonestreet. Each child is taught based not only on the core content but also on their educational needs. The test scores do not reflect the high count of ESL students that this school has. They offer many programs through the school and in after school programs such as: MAD science, Young Rembrandts, cheerleading, Orchestra, etc. The level of Parent involvement is high and growing, the new Principal welcomes parent volunteers that asist with many things around the school. She addresses concerns promptly and promotes a great teacher/parent communication. I have three children there and would recommend it to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

Stonestreet changed my mind about public school. My son spent grades pre-k through three at a private christian school. We were very happy there, however, during second grade we moved across louisville to be closer to my husband's office. After a year of driving my son across town two or three times per day, i knew we had to do something. My husband and i never thought we would have our son in a public school, yet after hearing a friend talk about stonestreet, we thought we'd at least attend a tour...Now, two years later, my son is leaving stonestreet. We've had a wonderful two years and i can honestly say that we will miss everyone there. The teachers and staff really care for your child and go out of their way to help in anyway possible. They truly are fantastic educators and wonderful individuals. They will always have our gratitude.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 48% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
46%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 54% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
37%
Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 49% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 69% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
65%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 44% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 47% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 59% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
25%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
Female39%
Male31%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners20%

Reading

All Students38%
Female39%
Male37%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners20%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students45%
Female54%
Male32%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners10%

Math

All Students52%
Female54%
Male49%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners30%

Reading

All Students51%
Female57%
Male43%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learners30%

Science

All Students71%
Female74%
Male68%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learners30%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female22%
Male44%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White35%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Reading

All Students39%
Female28%
Male49%
African American19%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Social Studies

All Students48%
Female37%
Male60%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a

Writing

All Students26%
Female30%
Male22%
African American13%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a
Migrantn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 71% in 2011.

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
19%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 60% in 2011.

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
29%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 69% 82%
Black 21% 11%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Asian 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10007 Stonestreet Rd
Valley Station, KY 40272
Phone: (502) 485-8333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Layne Elementary School
Valley Station, KY




St. Clement School
Louisville, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT