Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Villa Madonna Academy Elementary And Jr High School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Villa Hills

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $140,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2013

I have gone to Villa since kindergaten, and I have loved it. I have made many friends and was challenged academically. The teachers make time for fun but we always learn from it, like when we made cell models from candy or put objects in a graulated cylinder. Villa is a great school where our teachers keep us safe, we are challenged with plenty of homework, and everyone is treated with respect.


Posted April 18, 2013

We are from outside the area and Villa has been a real blessing to our child. Our child has been challenged academically, and has matured spiritually under the guidance of caring teachers and a wonderful principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2013

I am an Elementary school parent and I would suggest if you are looking for a strong academic program, this is not the school for you.I have been really disappointed with this school. Some of the teachers are there just to waste time and do useless work to kill time. Starting October they spend most of the time on Halloween parties and Holiday things and there is very less time spent on academics. Smarter kids are not challenged to their full potential and kids who weak in a subject get very little help from the teachers.There is a lot of time spent on everything other than academia.Kids love the school because they spend most of the time doing fun work and not actual work that would help them academically. Most of their projects are geared towards being more fun for the kid than actually teaching a concept or a subject. One thing is assured though.. kids would love to go to this school. But if there is a challenging academic program you are looking for your kid this is not the school for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2012

My children both attend VMA Elementary (since Kindergarten) and they are thriving. They LOVE school! What parent doesn't want to hear that?! I did not attend Villa, nor did my husband - neither of us are from this area. Villa has been a wonderful experience and I wouldn't want my children to be anyplace else. Villa is a safe, creative, imaginative, and loving environment to excel in learning. Villa really is a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2012

I totally disagree with the "alumni" comment and the comment that it was a "conformist" school. There are children and parents that aren't going to be happy anywhere. My daughter went to Villa from 2nd to 12th grade and there is no school that compares to this school. She is now attending one of the top Catholic Universities in the US (Notre Dame). Villa embraces all students, encourages them to excel beyond expectations. If there is a student who is intelligent and/or creative, this is the place to be. The faculty is superb in the grade school as well as the high school and have the best interest in each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2011

I totally disagree with the comment about Villa catering to "alumni" parents. In fact it kind of enraged me. Neither my husband or I attended Villa. We have sent 4 of our 5 children (3 girls and 1 boy, the other child attended St. X) to Villa for high school. All of our children thrived there...and they are all totally different. They were well prepared for college and made lasting friendships. Their friends are not only with their classmates but also with other grade levels. Our last child graduated from Villa in 2007. Because of the education, guidance and prodding received @ Villa she received a full 4 year tuituon paid scholarship for college. I would highly recommend Villa to anyone looking for a college prep Catholic school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

My son just graduated from the 8th grade, attended Villa grades 1 to 8 and will attend Villa for high school. Academically, socially and athletically, this is the perfect fit for my son. He has enjoyed and will continue to enjoy excelling in every activity that he chooses. He has enjoyed so many opporyunities here at Villa and will be 100% ready for college! Love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2011

My daughter is in 3rd grade now, but went to Villa Madonna in Kindergarten. She is finally recovering from the damage that was done to her self esteem. Her problem at this school was that she is intelligent and creative - two things that are frowned upon in a highly conformist school. I believe (other parents of "problem" students agree) that this school caters to the children of alumni parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

Villa was the best high school experience! I made great friends and even better memories, but nothing could have prepared me more for college than Villa did!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2009

It is a Blue Ribbon School and offers children many opportunities in learning and self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2008

Villa is truely a family. This is my first year at Villa as a sophomore but I am so glad I tried the Villa way. Everyone fits in and is included. I truely love my school and as a kid who has ADD and has been through the local public school system and tried homeschooling, thats saying alot. The teachers sincerely care that their students do well and are more than helpful if you are struggling in their class. Come join our family!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 81%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Black 1% 11%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Covington
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2500 Amsterdam Road
Villa Hills, KY 41017
Website: Click here
Phone: (859) 331-6333

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Joseph School
Crescent Springs, KY



Beechwood Elementary School
Fort Mitchell, KY




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT