Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Walton-Verona High School

Public | 9-12 & ungraded | 462 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 5, 2014

I am a student at this school it is filled with pride and honor great for college prep and readiness go cats


Posted September 7, 2012

I have 2 children that attend school there. It is a school with pride, in everything they do, from sports to academics. You get a private school ambiance in a public school setting. Parents have the opportunity to be involved in many activities. I am very impressed with how this school focuses on preparing our kids for the future. Beginning in freshman year, the school has them select classes as you would in college. I think my kids will be more than prepared to excel. In addition, students can earn college credit during their WV. W-V prepares you academically. If you have a problem with WV, it is most likely because you didn't get involved in your child's education, The educators at Walton are facilitators, you still have to do your job as a parent as well, You are still Responsible. My only complaint about this school is there does seem to be some favortism towards teachers' children or "popular" families when it comes to sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2011

I am currently a student at Walton Verona and am also the child of an educator. Therefore, I get to see both sides of the story. My mother works very hard in her classes and it is easy to see that the other teachers do to. This also means, of course, that I didn't exactly have it easy going through her grade! But with good effort, everyone can succeed. The only kids who I have found disliking the district were the ones forced to give their best effort. If you are capable of that, this is the school for you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2009

Walton-Verona schools are very good at 'selling' themselves, but I have found the school to be mediocre at best. I'm very disappointed in the lack of communication from the school; and its' attempts to smooth over problems rather than solve them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

I have been going to school here since i was in kindergarten and i really think that this school is top notch. sometimes you will get a principal or teacher that plays favorites...(especially around sports) but other tan that, i love it!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 28, 2007

I have 2 boys in the Walton Verona Schools. Both boys are very different and I have found that the teachers handle both of their needs extremely well. One works on his own with very little supervision, while the other needs more indiviualized help. Both of my boys do well in school and I know it is because of the teachers and guidance they get at school as well as at home. I would recomend anyone moving to the Northern KY area and that want a great school to investigate this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2006

I also attended WV, k-12. I am now proud to say that all 3 of my children attend school there. It is a school with pride, in everything they do, from sports to academics, or classroom parties to field trips. There is a ton of involvement from the parents and the staff, you get a private school ambiance in a public school setting. When i attended college with my high school diploma from W-V, I was more than prepared to excel in that atmosphere, while most new freshman were trying to catch up with remedial classes, I tested out of some of the freshman requirements, W-V prepares you academically. If you have a problem with WV, it is most likely because you didn't get involved in your child's education, The educators at Walton are facilitators, you still have to do your job as a parent as well, You are still Responsible.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2006

Both my daughters go to Walton Verona High School. I was overwelmed by the negative comments I read above. I feel that they have acquired a tremendous education and have 100% support from their teachers to do above and beyond their capabilities. Yes, they do have to be motivated, be a good student and care about themselves and others but that is the politics of life. As far as sports--basketball is the sport there, my daughters do not play but resort their energy to soccer, I do see some favoritism to the basketball players which is unfortunate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2006

While there are a few great teachers at WV, overall the school promotes 'Stepford' ideals ans does not like individualism. My daughter was not allowed to recieve her diploma on stage with her classmates because her shoes were the wrong color. This school will be forever stuck in the '50s.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

My child went to Walton for 3 years. If your child is a girl good luck. They treat womens sports as second class citizens. Would never recommend Walton to anyone. The superintendant is anything but a leader for that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

Well I attended walton-verona for 4 years and i have to say the school is not all that the teachers only care about the gifted kids and the principals only care about the kids with money.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 19, 2004

Both of my children attended walton/verona... My son 7th-12th my daughter 1st-7th... It was a God-send to my children, since I was raising them as a single mother and everyone was a tremendous help and they are both doing exceptionally well, one has graduated from college and the other is attending... I want to thank walton/verona for being a great safe place to raise my children at... Debbie Hollen ( Pitt)
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Language Mechanics

The state average for Language Mechanics was 51% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 36% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Language Mechanics

All Students65%
Female71%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Writing

All Students66%
Female83%
Male54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Writing

All Students81%
Female84%
Male78%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky used the Kentucky Performance Rating for Educational Progress (K-PREP) tests to assess students in grades 3 through 8 in reading and mathematics, 4 and 7 in science, 5 and 8 in social studies, 5, 6, 8, 10, and 11 in writing, and 4, 6, and 10 in language mechanics. The K-PREP is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 46% in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 66% in 2011.

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Science

The state average for Science was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2011.

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
61%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Until 2010-2011, Kentucky used the Kentucky Core Content Tests (KCCT) to assess students in grades 3 through 8 and 10 through 12 in reading, social studies, science, writing, and math. The Elementary School results displayed on GreatSchools profiles are for grades 3 through 5 combined for each subject. Middle School results are for grades 6 though 8 combined, and High School results are for grades 10 though 12 combined. The KCCT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Kentucky. Beginning in 2011-2012, Kentucky switched to the K-PREP and EOC exams.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 36% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
64%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 36% in 2013.

117 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 56% in 2013.

110 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
64%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 51% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students46%
Female44%
Male48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities0%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students54%
Female46%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students70%
Female85%
Male59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Students79%
Female74%
Male85%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or distinguished

About the tests


Beginning in the 2011-12 school year, and continuing in 2012-2013, Kentucky administered the End-of-Course (EOC) assessments. EOCs are tests given to public high school students when they complete a course to assess their knowledge of important course concepts. They are similar to a final exam, except that they are created and scored by an outside testing company, ensuring that the tests are both rigorous and aligned with state and national college readiness standards.

Source: Kentucky Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 82%
Black 1% 11%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 26%N/A57%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

30 School Rd
Walton, KY 41094
Phone: (859) 485-7721

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Simon Kenton High School
Independence, KY



Heritage Academy
Florence, KY


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT