Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Phoenix Magnet Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 681 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Tuesday, October 21, 2014

This is my family's second year at Phoenix. The whole staff has been great. My oldest son has ADHD and the teachers have been very patient and understanding. We love this school and give it a 10. You could not ask for a school staff to be more willing to give your children the best education and learning environment that they could ever get.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2014

Phoenix was a horrible school for my daughter. I heard so much great things about it before we went there. The teachers was not supportive at all of my child needs and didn't care if she learned are not. I hate to say it but race do play a part in it. I would never tell anyone to go to this school. Ever!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

I'm a parent to a kindergarten student this year. I've heard great things about this school. I'm excited to watch my daughter Kimberly this year grow and learn. Kimberly is very excited as well to be starting kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2012

I have been a parent of Phoenix Magnet for 8 years now. I love the opportunities my children have at this school. The academic program challenges my children. They have a great program to encourage good behavior and responsiblity. The also have an excellent instructor in the PE department who is very involved with the children and does not have them watching movies during this time. The PTO encourages parents to be involved and the PTO does the fundraising for the school so that the teachers and other staff can do their job of educating our children. I am super grateful for the opportunity my children have had at Phoenix Magnet!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

Phoenix Magnet is a challenging school with regards to academics and discipline, however, it is the only "public" school in the parish to offer "private" school amenities without the high cost for a quality education for your child. It offers an art and music program, strings, archery, baseball, and computer. Not to mention, it has an awesome PTO with exceptional parent involvement and caring teachers/staff. In comparison to the other public schools in the area, it is definitely the best. However, discipline is key if your child is to succeed at this school. Overall, my children and I have had a positive experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

I just had a very bad experience with phoenix. Apparently it's completely acceptable for a teacher to talk to a parent however they want. I would not recommend this school to anyone. That's about the nicest way I can say it. I've already had 3 teachers complain to me about the way the school handles the children and one of them even left because twy couldn't stand to watch it anymore.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2012

My kids are making good grades, but a handful of the teachers are very harsh and condescending to the students (and sometimes even the parents!). Not all of the the teachers are like this, but a few are. The ones I have encountered that are like this (4 in all) do not communicate well, and get very offeneded and take it personally if you question anything. As a parent, I am allowed, and will exercise my right, to question something that relates to my child's education or well-being. I'm all for discipline, but I don't see the value in public humiliation. Good luck bringing it to someone's attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

This is the best school ever my child actually loves getting up every morning going to school they make it fun and alot of hands on. The staff is the best i love the fact they have to be good in order to stay there thats a plus and good grades is always the key
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

Phoenix Magnet is an excellent elementary school. I have 2 children going there and a 3rd to go in 2 years. I am very pleased with the quality of teachers, the curriculum, and the quality of educational outings offered to the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

I am on the faculty of Phoenix Magnet and let me begin by saying that Phoenix is unique on many different levels. Parents agree to sign a contract committing to their child's ability to maintain a 2.5 gradepoint average and to follow strict discipline guidelines at all times. These two requirements are what attract most people to the program. It is understandable that in some instances when a child is unable to maintain either one of the above mentioned requirements, parents very quickly become defensive and critical of the program. The program is NOT for ALL children. It is very academically focused and fast paced. Student behavior IS a serious component of the program. Test scores and student achievements tell the true tale of this outstanding program. As a faculty member, the program is what all teachers dream about being a part of. We LOVE Phoenix!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 25, 2004

Phoenix is rated 6th in the top ten schools in the state of Louisiana. Great parental involvment. Students that are there are challenged and motivated to excel. Fewer discipline problems so the focus is on learning. Phoenix is without a doubt, the best school in Rapides Parish.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

It is the best school in the parish. My child has excelled in areas such as math and science. The faculty is knowledgeable and discipline is the key.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2004

I am not a parent, I am a former student. I loved going to Phoenix Elementary. It provides a lot of well-rounded activities for kids, and lets kids explore what their talents might be. Thumbs up Phoenix.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 22, 2003

This is the best elementary school in the parish. The teachers are certified and truly care about the children. Thumbs up for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

great school!!! smart and good kids go there!!! it is tough!!
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
99%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
100%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
99%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
100%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 47%
Black 34% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4500 Lincoln Road
Alexandria, LA 71302
Phone: (318) 445-6296

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT