Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public
Alexandria, LA
Students enrolled: 625

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Alexandria Middle Magnet School 5

Posted February 16, 2014
- a community member
Im a female honors sixth grade student there and i say its the best middle school to me the test scores might be low in all but that don't matter its the students not the teachers and staff well most teachers lol jk but they have good coaches for sports and good choir and bands its the best school I've went to yet well one of the best!!! -NES

Alexandria Middle Magnet School 2

Posted April 29, 2012
- a parent
What a terrible school as evident by the low scores and ratings. At least it is consistent in maintaining its underachievement performance. My child was an honor student for six years until he was enrolled based on the zoning attendance. He is finally in his first year of high school and back on the honor roll. The responsibility is solely on the principal and his staff of educators who have up to this date have not found the right formula for academic success.


Alexandria Middle Magnet School 3

Posted February 29, 2012
- a community member
What happened to Kathy Touchet? Facebook says she is now the Asst. Exec. Director at the Rapides Parish Coliseum.

Alexandria Middle Magnet School 3

Posted February 05, 2012
- a parent
My son so far has not had any problems at this school. I've had a problem with one of his teachers. She does not communicate well with the children or the parents. He does not interact with the regular classes because he is in gifted and honors classes. I like that aspect of his education.This school recently enrolled a lot of 6th graders from a nearby school due to educational changes. This has caused some stress amongst the existing children due to the behavior problems. I do believe the principal is working hard to put an end to the situation and make it as safe for all the children. Overall the school is good,has many programs for the kids to be involved in, and the children can obtain up to 4 high school credits. I do wish we had one cohesive junior high school for this area, with greaat teachers and that way our children could excel and be better prepared for highschool.

Alexandria Middle Magnet School 1

Posted July 13, 2011
- a parent
This is one of the worst schools I have ever stepped into. The teachers let the students do whatever they pleased. While I was there there were at least three fights take place and the punishment for some of the students were ISS even though they said they had the zero tolerance policy there. Students were screaming and swearing at the teachers and some of the teachers didn't even attempt to teach the students any longer. The only good thing about the school were the advance classes and the teachers that taught them.


Alexandria Middle Magnet School 4

Posted February 25, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Alexandria Middle Magnet School 0
no rating

Posted April 16, 2009
- a student
Heyy, Alexandria Middle Magnet School Iis a very great school. The LEAP and iLEAP were a walk in the park with these teachers. They get you so prepared and they offer so many activities that everyone can enjoy. I was cheer captain this year, I'm in the 4-H club, the Treasury in Beta, in FCS (Fellow Christian Students), and so much more. You always find yourself here at AMMS. I reccomend is so much. It's the best.

Alexandria Middle Magnet School 1

Posted July 27, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Alexandria Middle Magnet School 1

Posted September 29, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Alexandria Middle Magnet School 4

Posted February 18, 2005
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alexandria Middle Magnet School
122 Maryland Avenue, Alexandria, LA  71301
(318) 445-5343
Last modified Alexandria Middle Magnet School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Alexandria Middle Magnet School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top