Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Oak Forest Academy

Private | PK-12 | 626 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Amite City

Situated in a rural neighborhood. The median home value is $94,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $680.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 3, 2010

Me and my family has been apart of ofa going on 5 years now and we love it the teachers the staff i can tell you for sure because we did public school 1 year and never again the care these teachers have is amazing they stay in touch like family with the kids grades and if they see there is a area that they need help in so you can help before they get far behind and if i can say names ms. Starr a 3rd grade teacher i owe a big thank you to she has been helping my daughter after school with math and now she is so confident in her self and to who ever said they did not think ofa is a good school remember its not always the school its at home also go ofa
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Great for above average students. Not so great for students that need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I transfered my children from a public school to this school. I can not tell everyone enough times how pleased I am with this school. The teachers, staff, students are exceptional.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2008

My kids have attended this school for 3 years now. I will soon be removing them from this school do to the lack of education and disapline.In my eyes and in the eyes of other parents this is not the best school for children to atend if you wish for them to have a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2008

I love this school! I went to ofa k-12 and now my children go there. It is a great place to be. We have a great staff from top to bottom, and parents that want the best education for their children. The best part is we can pray before we start the day. Thank god for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

I have been on both sides of the Oak Foest Academy fence as a teacher for nearly 20 years and now a parent of a sophomore. My child has attended OFA since Pre-K and I have been pleased every year with the quality of education she has received. I count it a privelege that we have OFA in our community. As a teacher I received great parental support and Mr. Bella was an awesome principal. He supported his teachers. I miss teaching at OFA greatly; it was a wonderful place to work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

I am an alumni from Oak Forest Academy. I loved the school 11 years ago. I am even more pleased with it now. My children can go to school in a safe environment and be taught by great teachers. Most importantly, my children can say a prayer and the pledge of allegiance each morning. The name of Jesus is spoken frequently and welcomed.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Black 1% 45%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jason H. Brabham
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (985) 748-4320

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

600 Walnut Street
Amite City, LA 70422
Phone: (985) 748-4321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Mater Dolorosa School
Independence, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT