Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Cherry Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 321 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2009

Cherry Ridge Elementary School in Bastrop really needs a total administration change. All the teachers do not have the best interest of the kids at heart. We have two kids enrole here and we are pulling them out at the end of the school year. Teachers could care less if they teach or not and most of the school students could care less of there education. I would not send any kids to this school I am trying to fine a way to send my kids to a private school because most of the school in the Morehouse Parish School system are not up to the right education level for our kids. They need help now its past time. Someone please help this school they really need it. Thanks!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

i hear very little about the teacch program,i enrolled my autistic child in this class last year ,the class and the instructors are amazing.The change in him has been dramatic.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

Cherry Ridge is a great school where students learn and feel safe. I feel welcome when I go to the school and my kids love it. The principal loves the kids and makes sure they learn and feel safe. She gives lots of hugs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2008

This school is great. The principal is great and the teachers are great, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

I know that Cherry Ridge Elementary is a great school. We love our students and work hard on a daily basis to give them the education that they deserve. There is more to a school than just test scores, although, they are important. We attend school each day because we care about our students. We work through the different programs that we have to offer our students to help them become successful. Please come by and see first hand the pride we have for our school.


Posted January 31, 2008

I love Cherry Ridge Elementary. It has great students, great parents, great teachers, a great staff, and a great principal.


Posted August 23, 2007

My son has went to this school since Kindergarten and my daughter just started there this year. We love the school and the atmosphere. The principal and staff are always helpful and friendly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2007

I believe it's an alright school.You have some teachers who do care about your kids education as well as the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

my son attends cherry ridge. Every since we move him from Arkansas he have been having a hard time. I think the school is to far behind in Math and Reading. The teacher will never tell you truth about how your child is doing. I think they need to improve on everything. The principal does'nt care about the students i had to go there every week because of others bullyin on my son and her words were 'Well boys will be boys'. My son will not attend cherry ridge this year and i will remeid you not to let your child go there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2004

I observed the autism program at Cherryridge and it was great. My school in Arkansas wants several of our teachers and parents to go observe the communication and behavior techniques they use.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 29, 2004

If this school wants to keep up with the standards being taught at other elementary schools then teachers need to be a little more dedicated to the students actually learning the curiculum, instead of giving up on them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This school needs a lot of help. They need a principal that is going to be at the school. They also need more parents involvement. The school is only going to be as good as the person that runs it! The teachers need to do their job like they should, so we don't have to teach the kids at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
31%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
44%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
23%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
34%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 51% 45%
White 45% 47%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 87%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Kathy Turnage
Fax number
  • (318) 283-8666

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6281 Cherry Ridge Road
Bastrop, LA 71220
Phone: (318) 281-2002

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT