Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Redemptorist High School

Private | 7-12 | 566 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baton Rouge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $44,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 14, 2014

The school should not be called Redemptirist anymore, as it is just a shell of what it once was since Mr John Sanders, the principal left with the rest of the entire teaching, maintenance, and coaching staff with the exception of a few individuals. So sad the rich history of Redemptorist High School is no more!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

There is always room for improvement in any school you attend. However, Redemptorist High School is what every school should be about. The administration, faculty, and staff at this school are committed to the development of the whole student, body, mind, and spirit. RHS is a shining star in the city of Baton Rouge. I have never taught at any other school so willing to address the individual needs of its students! This is a loving and welcoming family of which I am privileged to be a part.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 23, 2014

As a current student of RHS, I have to warn you that this school is not like it used to be. I am in my second year here, and judging by what these reviews say and what my relatives who graduated from RHS have told me, the school is nothing like it was even just a few years ago. A new principal, loss of prior faculty, and a curriculum that is headed downhill have lead to a serious decrease in enrollment. My class only has around 70-80 students. While the smaller classes are something that I was looking for in my search for a high school, the lower number of students in each class did not result in the one-on-one attention that I was expecting. A few of my classes are great; They challenge me and have wonderful teachers. Most of my classes are not. The structure of the classes is ridiculously nonexistent. The discipline, both in class and in the hallways, is just as bad. The athletics program is in the process of being rebuilt by a new athletics director, but it's just not as it once was. In summary, Redemptorist is stuck in a downward spiral, and frankly, the administration is not doing much of anything to fix it. I am not planning to return to RHS to complete my high school career.


Posted January 18, 2012

I speak from experience when I say that Redemptorist High School (RHS) is one of the best schools in Baton Rouge, if not Louisiana. The teachers teach more than the curriculum, they teach responsibility, that hard work pays, and most of all they teach respect. Our class was certainly diverse; however, when we graduated, we were so close that we all graduated as one (figuratively of course-we all received diplomas). RHS prepares all of its students extremely well for life after high school, whether that includes college or not. I was shocked by the comment about RHS students being mean. I challenge any parents to stop by the campus one day and walk around and watch the students in action. RHS is a great school and my kids will be attending as soon as they are old enough. Thank God for RHS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

Redemptorist High School did a fantastic job of preparing me for college.I am about to graduate college with a business degree and will attend Law school soon. I could not imagine going anywhere else. The teachers were very nice and caring but they did hold students to a certain standard. As for the location, the neighborhood around RHS has been doing a lot to clean up. As a student there I can never remember a time where something happened. RHS brought students from many different backgrounds and brought us together to form one class. My children will most definitely be attending RHS. RHS offers much more than a great education; they offer a life experience that its students will never forget.


Posted May 21, 2010

I am a graduate as well as my son and over 30 relatives. Great teachers, family enviroment. Location is just as safe as other private schools.........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2010

I had four children graduate from RHS and they all loved it! As parents, we were very pleased as well with every aspect of the school. Your children graduate as well rounded young adults ready to face the world. Redemptorist is a family experience for students and parents!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2010

Our daughter graduated from RHS in 2009. it was a positive experience for her, personal attention in math (where she had problems), and excouragement in the other classes where she excelled. She is now thriving in college. We're surprised by the comment that 'many of the students are mean.' Definitely not our experience, and we've never heard anyone else say that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

My daughter graduated from RHS and now my son attends.It is a very caring school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I took my daughter out of this school because I didn't feel like it was a safe place for her to be. The area of town and many of the students are mean. My child is doing well in another school and I can say leaving RHS was the best thing I ever did for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

We love RHS! RHS has been wonderful for our daughter and wouldn't trade the experience for anything! We recommend RHS every chance we get and plan on sending our son too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2008

I graduated from here and used to teach here. I loved both aspects, highly recommend!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 25, 2004

Also a graduate of RHS, I would not hesitate to send my child there. The teachers and staff are among the most caring and educated I have ever seen. Being a teacher myself, I have the utmost respect for these instructors. They truly exhibit the ideals to which every school should strive. RHS is a wonderful school for every kind of student.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 23, 2004

A very structured school. The school works on outside behavior as well as behavior on campus. Very academically oriented. Well rounded school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2003

Redemptorist High School did a terrific job of preparing me for college. Since I graduated, I have gone on to attain a bachelors degree as well as a masters degree and am very happy in my career. Were it not for the caring teachers and staff who acted many times as 'loco parentis' and who indulged my desire to learn, I am not sure if I would have followed through on my academic and career dreams. I will never forget the balanced and sound education RHS provided to me so long ago!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 19, 2003

Wonderful learning enviroment, teachers and staff really care for the students and keep parents informed of any potential problems. Strong moral ethic and discipline.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 54% 45%
White 41% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (225) 357-4555

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Baton Rouge
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
  • bowling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • bowling

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4000 Saint Gerard Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70805
Website: Click here
Phone: (225) 357-0936

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Amikids Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, LA



Prescott Middle School
Baton Rouge, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT