Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Hosanna Christian Academy

Private | PK-8 | 485 students

We are here for the children.
 
 

 

Living in Baton Rouge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $197,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $700.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 17 ratings
2012:
Based on 15 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

56 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 28, 2014

Please take the time to research the schools you send your students to. Have you seen this schools horribly poor test scores? They're sinful! Parents, be informed. The administrator needs to be replaced. He is a product of this school - do the math. Your child will not be properly prepared for success in life by attending a school like this! Find another school. Save your money - and your child's life!


Posted August 7, 2014

Funny how the negative reviews of this school disappear. This school is nothing short of horrific on all levels. Do not send your child here! Academics=0 Teacher Qualifications=0, Financial Accountability=0, Student Safety=0, Books-Computer Lab-Resources=0, Cafeteria Food=0. Out of control staff, administration & students not learning=10.


Posted April 28, 2014

I simply can't imagine any school more committed to advancing students academically--especially at-risk students--than Hosanna Christian Academy. HCA is SO committed to improving students' scores, they initiated an intervention program 2 years ago (HIGHLY unusual for a private school...especially at their moderate tuition rate). This past school year, they created a Saturday school for those students who were close to crossing a threshold in their grades to help get them "over the top" and at NO additional cost! Education is as much about character as it is academics and HCA places a huge emphasis on spiritual development that shows in the teachers and students alike. Quite a bit of money has been spent to improve the campus such as totally remodeling one entire building to triple the size of the old library and create a more spacious front office for parents picking up kids or waiting for appointments. Few schools can compare!!


Posted April 28, 2014

Hosanna Christian has gone through two years of transition and is coming out ahead! So many of our teachers are dedicated to giving their best to help all of our students BE their best! Every day, I see evidence that Hosanna is helping students go from failure to success. I am proud to be a teacher at HCA.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted November 20, 2013

I have been particularly impressed with how the school's leadership addresses potentially difficult situations. I can honestly say that politics do not play a part at HCA. I have recently, very recently, seen the Adminstration make some unpopular decisions, but clearly the right things to do.... Spiritually, the Campus Pastor is GREAT for the kids. I feel good about my child's teachers, some more than others, but they are all competent. Some are very good. I like the easy access to teachers and administrators; personnel cell numbers, etc. I don't always agree with every decision, but I always feel heard, and I believe the leaders always do what they feel is best for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2013

I was excited when I initially enrolled my kids at HCA last year; however, each day I grow more and more disappointed, so I will be pulling them out next year. If I could now I would; however, I'm a private pay parent that's locked in a contract. HCA does not meet the expectations one would expect when paying to send their kids to private school. HCA's admin has accepted so many voucher students, the school is now very overcrowded. The student-teacher ratio in most classes is too high for a "private" school. It makes me question where the focus is... Is it teaching these kids or is it money? With the large influx of voucher kids/state voucher money, way more than last year I might add, plus the increase in tuition costs for private pay parents, plus the numerous fund raisers the school has, one would think that you would see some improvement in the condition of the school! Think again! The facilities and classrooms need repairs/updates, the parking lot is full of pot holes, the kids do not have lockers - HCA is extremely disappointing. So this is it for us. If the condition of my "private" school is equal to or worse than my nearest public school, I'd rather save than waste.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

We could not ask for a better school! We have attended HCA for over ten years. I have two children whom attend Hosanna. During previous years we have witnessed changes in the school. HCA has had Administrators that loved God which is a great characteristic at a christian school. That is one of the reasons were still attending. "To much is given much is required". Administrators are given a plan from God. Leadership is needed to step out on faith to fulfill God's plan. Leaning not on our own understanding but totally trusting him. Thank God we have an administrator that has both qualities; loves the Lord with all his heart and leadership ability to fulfill God's plan for our school HCA. I am honored to have two kids attending a school where its ok to worship and that holds parents,teachers and students alike accountable to God's word on and off its campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2013

I could NOT have asked for a better school. I am 100% pleased with Hosanna Christian Academy. I currently have 2 kids enrolled at Hosanna Christian Academy and plan on them graduating from Hosanna. I am a PROUD parent and I approve this message..........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2013

This school is AWESOME!!!!! I'm a volunteer at this school and I love it. It has the right name in it Hosanna CHRISTIAN Academy and that is what it is a Christian based School. The teachers and staff are very friendly and their motto is WE ARE HERE FOR OUR CHILDREN, that is so true. You always will know what your child is doing in school at all times. That means that they are there for OUR kids. Thank you God it's a truly blessing.


Posted September 24, 2013

This is an awesome school! It had been and always will be. Keep up the great job HCA!! We need a lot more parent involvement in every school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2013

I find it strange I put a truthful but bad review and it has been erased. My daughter attended Hosanna for two years the first year was great the second year when the changes was made and the voucher students came was terrible do not send your child their the school has gone to the ground
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2013

This school has gone down hill over the years. They have now accepted hundreds of voucher students and laid off many great teachers so they can hire cheaper unexperienced teachers. Do not send your children here.


Posted May 18, 2013

I took my daughter from Hosanna two years ago, but with the new leadership who came, I brought her back. I appreciate the true leadership present at the school. They don't make decisions just to be popular, but rather seek to make decisions that are in the best interest of students. I am thankful for Hosanna Christian Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

This place has been steadily going down for the last 5-7 years. They most certainly do not provide a quality education. You might as well send your kids to EBR public schools. If the state provided vouchers are overturned, they will not be able to sustain. Buyer beware...


Posted May 14, 2013

Sad actually... Thankfully, i no longer attend this school, but from my years of being here, i can honestly say the school has taken a turn for the worst, and hasn't recouped since. The school began to fall around 2006 and continued on it's decline up till i left in 2012. from a wave of bad leadership, to subpar education, all i can say is that it's really disappointing. The person in charge of the school is never actually there, but instead works "behind the scenes". He has a "Supervisor" over the actual elementary and high school. When i went to take the ACT with other kids at a separate public high school, i began to realize they were learning way more than i was, which in all honesty left me feeling like i was missing out. As far as programs for the kids, this school really doesn't have anything besides track, basketball, beta, and drama. Spiritual leadership lacks greatly as well, and i believe they cater to the masses rather than the truth. One last thing i would like to point out is the reviews. I find it a tad odd that each time a bad review is posted, a good one is put right on top of it. Hosanna Christian Academy is no for me.


Posted April 23, 2013

I LOVE HOSANNA CHRISTIAN ACADEMY! It is a place where m y child and many other children are having an opportunity to receive a quality education and receive the gospel of Jesus Christ! Hosanna is a place that invest in its students...one thing that stands out the most at HCA a motto that the school lives by "WE ARE HERE FOR THE CHILDREN!" They put the students 1st in every decision that is made! #HCA 4 LIFE!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I currently have two kids that are attending Hosanna Christian Academy. one in the 10th and 1 in the first grade. I am 100% satisfied with Hosanna Christian Christian Academy. I could not imagine my children being anywhere else. They are recieving a GREAT education. I could not ask for better teachers/staff. God is truly blessing this school. No parent could ask for better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I wrote a report on here.... and my report must have magically disappeared also. Go figure.... LOL! I was a teacher at HCA and my daughter attended the school. Like the negative comments that were made. I saw first hand how true they were!! PARENTS DON'T BE FOOLED! Do your homework and make sure that this place is right for your child. Compare it with other private schools and ask previous teacher/students why they left.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2013

I love this school. My kids are learing and doing much better than the regular public schools. My kids are in kindergarten and they are learning things that are taught in the 2nd grade. Thanks Hosanna Christian Academy for accepting and teaching my kids in advance good education materials and having smart, reliable teachers. I don't know why there were negative comments but I haven't experienced and hope to NOT experience. But so far, everything is good. Thanks Hosanna!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

As with most Christian schools; the staff desires to be Christ-like, yet the actual product is more often business-like. As to sports, it currently only offers two for boys (track and basketball) . As to tuition, it has risen from less than $ 5 k per year to over $ 6 K in 2 years, as it takes over 80% voucher students next year. Both the Church and school have dramatically changed; and in fairness, compaired to other private schools in Baton Rouge, it's national scores and overall experience falls short. Soon the tuition will be as much as the state will bear. Parent of student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 74% 45%
White 24% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:45 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • S. Josh LeSage
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Assembly of God
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (225) 926-8458

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Louisiana State Curriculum
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Intervention
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • BIG BUDDY PROGRAMS
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • We invest in the total child...spiritually, academically, character, athletically, and social skills. We love our children and their families. We believe God is doing a special work in this outreach to our community. We are here for the children.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


2 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
55
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
250

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$6000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
LSU
BRCC
SELU
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 25%
4 year college - 55%
Military - 5%
Vocational - 5%
Workforce - 10%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8850 Goodwood Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Website: Click here
Phone: (225) 926-4885

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Tara High School
Baton Rouge, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT