Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
802 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
44 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 56 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Dunham School 5

Posted August 14, 2015
- a parent
Genuine caring teachers and truly christian atmosphere. My two children learn very differently and both are challenged at the optimum level and are thriving. They have the ability to meet individual needs better than any school I have experienced.

The Dunham School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
Teachers feel so much pressure to teach at the college prep level, they forget how to teach at the high school level.


The Dunham School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
No, the faculty encourages kids to be leaders, then micromanages their every move. All original ideas are usually rejected by faculty who always assume the kids are going to misbehave.

The Dunham School
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
It's not the school that makes these kids nice people. It's their parents, despite the fact that the school tries to take full credit for them.

The Dunham School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 24, 2015
- a parent
The nice kids are the best thing about this school. $20,000 plus is a lot to pay for nice kids.


The Dunham School 1

Posted May 02, 2015
- a parent
So sad to have seen the school consistently decline over the years. New buildings do not make the school.

The Dunham School 5

Posted November 30, 2014
- a parent
Dunham is a school like NO other! Wonderful experience to have been a student and now a parent of a child who has been there 3 years ... truly the best school in Baton Rouge!

The Dunham School 5

Posted November 17, 2014
- a parent
My family has been at Dunham for 8 years, and I am so thankful for what Dunham has done for my children and has meant to my family! My children are encouraged to reach their full potential academically as well as to flourish in the arts and athletics. No school is perfect; and every school has problems. With Dunham's small class comes higher tuition. But, having teachers/coaches who know my children and invest in their lives the way The Dunham School does is worth it. Blessed to be a part of this school!


The Dunham School 5

Posted November 16, 2014
- a parent
I have two children that currently attend Dunham. I have had children in the catholic school system and public and I can truly say that Dunham is the most Christian, loving, and nurturing school in Baton Rouge. Not only has Dunham challenged my children educationally they do a wonderful job of teaching Christian morals and values. At other schools we have been told "we can't help your child". Dunham will never tell you they can not help your child learn to the best of their ability. My two children learn differently, and Dunham has offered our children an individualized education that will help them in weak areas and challenge them in areas where they excel. The faculty truly cares about our children and our family. My children have been loved and nurtured at Dunham, they love going to school everyday. Dunham has become not just a school it has become our family. We love the small classes and the individualized attention that our children receive. My husband and I are extremely happy with Dunham and can not imagine sending our children any where else.

The Dunham School 5

Posted November 16, 2014
- a community member
As a graduate, I can say that this school is what you make of it. I really loved my experience here, and I was definitely academically prepared for college. I had the opportunity to take multiple AP courses and earn successful scores because of my teachers. I had great relationships with the faculty; they truly cared about me and wanted me to succeed. So, if any parents are reading this, please know that this school is not "easy" (as other parents are saying) unless you make it easy. Dunham offers students the opportunity to take harder classes, but only a handful of students are willing to take the challenge. Personally, I believe that sending me to this school was the best decision my parents have made for me. Dunham prepared me both spiritually and academically for the steps beyond high school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Dunham School
11111 Roy Emerson Drive, Baton Rouge, LA  70810
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 56 reviews. (225) 767-7097
Last modified The Dunham School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top