Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12 & Ungraded|Private
165 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 43 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Hope Academy has helped my daughter in incredible ways. She has dyslexia, and despite her brightness and enthusiasm, she has always struggled in school. At Hope Academy, she has found a place where she fits, and her confidence has soared. In just five months, she has made great leaps both academically and socially. I am so grateful for this school and for all of the people who work there.

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 04, 2015
- a community member
The teachers are bad, the principal isn't a good one, and the workers there are Unprofessional and all three of these groups are TERRIBLE at what they are supposed to do.


Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted June 20, 2015
- a community member
Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy is a wonderful, supportive school for students who learn in a different way. How refreshing it is to finally find a school where students' differences are understood and celebrated! The caring staff creates and implements a program to fit the child, rather than forcing a child to fit a program. Individualized instruction allows students to reach their potential and the extra curricular activities encourage social skills and friendships. Thanks, Hope Academy!

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 2

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
My son with Asperger's has attended Hope Academy these past three years, but I plan on withdrawing him this May. The school has started going downhill in late 2013 when they took in many voucher kids, and many of the kids on the voucher program get fewer punishments than the others. Teacher turnover is very high, although there are some good ones still there, but several have left during this year alone. The principle plays favorites with certain people, letting some get away with anything and others getting severely punished. Hope Academy is one of the most unprofessional places I have encountered--I went and picked up my son one day and heard the secretary yell at a teacher who was asking a question and faint gossip from the back. Unless Hope Academy changes its focus back to its purpose, I don't see it lasting to much longer. They don't practice what they preach.

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 2

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
My child attended this school for two years and we were very unimpressed and have moved our child to a different school. For children that have learning disabilities but are socially able to be in traditional settings this school does not provide adequate stimulation. Our child was so happy to leave this school so he could have friends he could talk to and play with. There is also a good amount of turn over with the staff and not all the teachers are trained to educate special needs or learning disabled kids, but there are some great teachers there as well. There is very little communication between the administration and parents and we often felt like they were more interested in our wallet than our child. Finally, at the end of last year when we called the office to schedule a meeting with the principle to discuss some concerns we had we were told she was "to busy" to speak to parents. I would caution parents about this school, it's not what they try to sell and with tuition over $8000 there are better options available.


Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted July 28, 2014
- a teacher
Our school is like no other! Students thrive socially as well as academically. Our parents are supportive and very thankful for Hope Academy and the caring qualified staff. Being a teacher at Hope Academy is very rewarding, especially when witnessing students consistently meeting with success. Stop by for a visit. You will experience a very unique, loving environment.

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted July 22, 2014
- a teacher
Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy is a place where students are individuals. What a wonderful, nurturing environment. Whether the student's challenge is academic or social, Hope Academy provides Unique Solutions for Unique Learners!

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted June 26, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school in all areas. My child has blossomed into a young man. He has attended since it first opened. It is well worth every penny spent. Thank you Hope Academy!


Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2013
- a parent
This is our 15 year old son's 1st year and Hope Academy. We noticed a difference in him after 2 weeks of being there. He has been there now for nearly a year and he is doing incredible! He never used to want to go to school or do homework but now he gets up on his own and does his homework immediately when he gets home. He was rarely social but now he is a social butterfly. He assist in the school store and Kid's Kafe' which are two incredible projects that help our kids prepare for the real world. They had two dances this school year and never would we have thought he would dance let alone go! When we came for our tour before we started, we were so impressed with how happy and friendly the children were there. They would get up and shake our hands! If you have a special needs child you should really give this school a chance. Our son has done a complete 360! This school has changed our lives. Thank you Hope Academy Teachers and Staff for everything you do! I would give you more than 5 stars if I could!

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy 5

Posted February 06, 2013
- a teacher
How fortunate we are, here at Hope Academy, to have the flexibility and cooperation of the administration to truly address each child's needs. Every day I have the privilege of witnessing the genuine affection of the faculty and staff toward the students as they celebrate the "little" daily achievements and triumphs, as well as the compassion shown on those days or moments when the only action needed is a moment for redirection.

Nearby schools

Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy
15333 Jefferson Highway, Baton Rouge, LA  70817
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. (225) 293-0141
Last modified Greater Baton Rouge Hope Academy is a Private school
Top