Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Jude School

Private | PK-8 | 577 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baton Rouge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $221,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 23, 2014

St Jude has been the perfect school for our sons. A small community that feels like family. My sons love their teachers and we feel like they are learning and growing in the Catholic faith.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2014

Actually, we spent two years at St. Aloysius and then chose St. Jude. Have been at St. Jude for five years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

Fortunately, if a parent is going to make a commitment to their child's education, I know they would do more than just trust the opinion of some anonymous reviewer hiding behind the safety of the infamous "anonymous parent" signature. If you want to find out what St Jude is about, just ask real people, not internet posters. Ask parents, ask the kids, talk to the administrators, just ask. We have two children attending St Jude, and we love it. It is a GREAT community of families. We have been extremely pleased with every aspect of the school, from the priest, to the teachers, to the administrators, to the family involvement. St Jude is a smaller school, which we love, because we basically know all of the parents in both of our kids' classes. For us, this is a great thing. Go to the fair and talk to families there. But don't trust this post, just ask. Real people will give you real answers. Just ask. Our answer will be, we are proud to be part of the St Jude family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2013

Sadly, Great Schools requires me to put at least one star. The education is sufficient, but there are so many other problems with the school that is is not worth your money. Administration does not properly handle any problems, and often ignored all thoughts from both me, my husband, and my children. My children dreaded attending this school because they were ignored by staff when problems arose. There is much more that could be said about this establishment, but I will keep my review brief. Choose any other Catholic School in the area before choosing St. Jude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2013

Administration is dismal at best. They have proven themselves to me to be petty, vindictive and dishonest. They share all the qualities of a couple of grade school bullies except these bullies are the principal and her toady. Many of the parents I have spoken to share this opinion. Private school costs way too much to have your children used as leverage against you if you so much as question a decision about whats best for your child (our healthcare providers questioned their decisions too). There is not enough room here to voice all of the problems I have had with this school's administration. Look into St. Aloysius or St. George until the dioceses decides to clean house in St. Jude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

My husband and I moved back to Baton Rouge a few years ago, and after visiting and reviewing several of the best Catholic elementary schools, chose St. Jude. Of all the schools, it was the most welcoming, solid academically and half the size of St. George and St. Aloysius! We have had a wonderful experience so far with both our daughters and look forward to many more years there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2012

It seems my family has had the complete opposite of the reviews below. Our children have been at St. Jude since Pre-K, and we could not be more pleased with the quality of education they are receiving. The teachers are warm and welcoming, and administration has been quick to help out with anything we have needed. We will happily continue sending our children to this excellent school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2011

Poor leadership !! A few good teachers excellent religion teacher but extremely bound by poor curriculum. Children not welcoming to new students. Very disappointed , choose another school .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

Poor leadership hamstrings the teachers from being able to innovate with the children. Teacher quality is mixed some really good, many mediocre. Go to St. Aloysius instead.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 44%
Hispanic 10% 3%
Black 2% 51%
Asian 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Karen Jakuback
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (225) 769-0671

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Baton Rouge
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9150 Highland Road
Baton Rouge, LA 70810
Phone: (225) 769-2344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT