Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Jean Vianney School

Private | K-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Baton Rouge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $142,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $790.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 15, 2014

St. Jean Vianney is a wonderful school. Everyone from the Principal and Administrators to the Teachers are kind, caring and give their all in teaching the children and create a very pleasant and creative environment in which to learn. There are many enrichment opportunities for the students and many extra-curricular clubs and activities. My husband and I are very pleased to have chosen St. Jean Vianney as the school for our son. It's truly a welcoming and thriving place for the students and families. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2014

This school is very unwelcoming. If you can handle that and like to pay a lot of money for a school with no gym, no cafeteria, teachers that don't have to be certified, and 3-4 hours of homework each night then this might be the school for you. I also agree with the parent below on the bullying problem. Honestly, they only learn from example. The adults are just as bad if not worse.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2013

This school has a bulling problem. The administration sweeps the issues under the rug because most of the kids doing the bullying have parents who are large financial contributors. Yet the school is excessive strict on other issues. Girls will get a conduct referral for having a pony tail holder on their wrist. During lunch the kids are barely able to talk to the person next to them and if it gets too loud then the teachers are on a bull horn yelling at the students to be quiet. The classroom sizes are too large 30 students per teacher. Homework is excessive. My child is some times up until midnight studying or trying to complete projects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2012

I love this school!! I have a son that is in 2nd grade and next year will have my other son in kindergarten. Teachers are wonderful and truely care about your children. The whole staff is very friendly and go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcomed and comfortable. I only have amazing things to say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

My granddaughter is in kindergarten now and my grandson will be there in August. I love the school, teachers are wonderful! My granddaughter loves the school and grandson can't wait to go there and learn to read. Great school with lots of parent and grandparent participation.


Posted August 13, 2007

My children go to school here. It is awesome. They are well prepared from one year to the next. The teachers are great, the parents are involved and the students are awesome. A very family atmosphere. Only complaint is that there is not a change between elementary and middle school The middle school kids are treated too strictly and aren't given any independence. They also need to budget there money better and invest in a gym.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

St. Jean Vianney's faculty are genuinely concerned about each child and his or her development. The curriculum provides a solid foundation for future academic success. Most importantly, the school encourages the children to be well rounded and to enjoy learning. I wholeheartedly recommend this school to other parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2006

This has been an excellent school for my son. He has learned so much while attending this school. The administration is excellent. The academics are challenging. All the students are required to read a certain number of books each semester on their own time, separate from their reading class. There is also a reading resource plan for students who need extra help. The teachers are caring, and the school is like a family. The safety of the students is always foremost. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 44%
Asian 3% N/A
Black 2% 51%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Two or more races 1% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • CEC
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Baton Rouge
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16266 S Harrells Ferry Rd
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 751-1831

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Jean Vianney School
Baton Rouge, LA



Runnels School
Baton Rouge, LA



The Runnels School
Baton Rouge, LA


Episcopal High School
Baton Rouge, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT