Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Baton Rouge International School

Private | PK-11 | 202 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Baton Rouge

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $890.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 8 ratings
2012:
Based on 8 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

55 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 4, 2010

This school has great education in only languages. The higher grade levels do not get the right education in their english classes. My opinion if you want a english teacher get a british or an american teacher that can speak, pronounce, and spell perfectly in english. And don't get teachers with a temper they need to know how to handle something calmly if something or someone upsets them. The Science, History, Math, and Language Arts is very poor at this school. They have a great physical education, art, languages, and music program but besides that nothing else is good. The cafeteria food is not appetizing nor is it healthy. They do not teach the english subjects on the same grade level as other schools. If your child is from the ages of a couple of months-5 years old this would be the perfect school to send your child to.


Posted February 26, 2010

I agree with the posting dated February 20, 2010 and would strongly suggest parents look in another direction when selecting a school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2010

There is a high turnover of teachers. The school is not organized and cannot explain the curriculum.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2009

My daughter just started going to BRIS in August. Within the first week she was speaking spanish and could count to 20. She was doing french numbers up to 10 the following week. We had to go out and buy the rosetta stone french version to keep up with her. This school has completely surpassed our expectations. Sure you have a lot of fundraising to do. But I think parent envolvement with your childs school gives your child an advantage over other kids. You know going into this school that the parents that are here care about their childs education and the school that provides it. I would gladly give my time and money to help my child succeed in life. I think you should feel grateful that your child can get this education in this melting pot of a world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I'll admit that I was a bit unsure about the school at first. As an educator, the European curriculum seemed strange to me. My four-year old just started her second year there and I am absolutely amazed at the amount of French, Spanish and even Chinese she understands and speaks. Yes, there are some organization issues, but that is to be expected of any school growing at the rate this school is. But it is more than just a school, it is a community. All of the other parents that I have met have been wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 25, 2008

I have two children enrolled at this school, one in Pre-K and a toddler in the Early Immersion Language Program. The school not only focuses on its multingual program, but has a well rounded curriculum that includes technology, music and art. The children learn math, language arts, science and other disciplines in Spanish, French and English, providing them with several ways to approach a problem. The teachers boast about the students being two grade levels above their peers at other schools, not to mention their fluency in French and Spanish and working knowledge of Chinese. The parents are required to participate heavily in fundraising as this school receives no public nor parochial funding. This education is a great value when you consider that your child will graduate knowing four languages.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This school unfortunately does not live up to its much inflated reputation. It is very poorly managed and is plagued with organisational problems. The potential for the creation of a successful school is being lost. Many other schools within the BR area can offer a higher quality of education that is tuition-free.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2008

My two-year old daughter has quite proficiently acclamated, to my amazement. The Head of School tells me that she understands most of the spanish spoken to her already. This is truly remarkable since she just started attending the school and has never been introduced to a 2nd language before . I love the environment! Catrina, DDS
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2008

my daughter has been attending for 8 years now. for me, there is no other school that can even compare to the education and one on one attention she is receiving. what other school can have your child speaking 3 to 4 languages, learning at higher grade levels and making podcasts all by the age of 10?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

we love this school there is lots of fun activities to keep your kids on thier toes!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2008

The school's endless fundraising is overwhelming. It will probably be a great school in a few years but now I feel that it is just unorganized and I don't want to risk my childs education waiting for them to get it together.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2008

This is a very good school. The children are well taken care of and given an outstanding education. The only drawback is that the fundraising never ends.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

I am thrilled with this school. Children must be 4 or younger to enroll because by age 5 they are trilangual. After only a month my four year old routinely uses spanish and french words at home. The parents and staff are incredibly dedicated and truly provide an encouraging and nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

THis is an incredible school. We have two children there and they are excelling in every way. Our oldest speaks 3 languages and is rading 3 levels above her age. The teachers are much more than teachers, they are very caring and involved. If you want a school that puts education first, then this is the place to send your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

This school has the potential to be a great school, it is still in the early years. Sometimes the package looks well until you open it up and see that it just a pair of designer socks. It is a very involved school and they depend on donations-fundraising from the parents continually. I think that my children suffered a great deal at the school. I wish that I would have asked more questions and sought out the many parents that pulled their children out of this school. If I had known more about the school my children would of never in a million years attended the Baton Rouge International School.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 66% 47%
Black 20% 45%
Hispanic 9% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Nathalie Guyon
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (225) 293-4307

Programs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5015 Auto Plex Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
Website: Click here
Phone: (225) 293-4338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Parkview Baptist School
Baton Rouge, LA



The Brighton School
Baton Rouge, LA


Brighton School
Baton Rouge, LA



St. George School
Baton Rouge, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT