Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bernard Terrace Elementary School 4

Posted August 16, 2013
- a community member
Bernard Terrace has finally been renovated! The teachers, the principal, the Gifted program, are all good, and now the setting is worthy of them. The main 2-story building, built in 1927, has had a major makeover, inside and out, including new windows and window frames, beautiful new quiet flooring, bright new ceilings with pleasant lighting, new entryway doors and glass walls around the office. It is light and airy and clean

Bernard Terrace Elementary School 3

Posted July 22, 2013
- a parent
My child is entering her fourth year at Bernard Terrace this fall, in the gifted program. We have been happy with the quality of education. One problem for us is the lack of communication and organization which I think could be addressed by the teachers. Also (and I realize that they are under-resourced) but the website it always out of date, which is really frustrating. The teachers and staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful, and supportive of the students. I have never witnessed any teacher yell at the children or speak them roughly, though I did witness that at my daughter's previous school.


Bernard Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted August 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Bernard Terrace Elementary School 4

Posted February 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bernard Terrace Elementary School 1

Posted July 20, 2007
- a parent
Education low, test scores low, teacher low, and low grade school.


Bernard Terrace Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2006
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Bernard Terrace Elementary School 1

Posted March 14, 2006
- a parent
The school is a site for gifted as well as regular education students. I have been so pleased with the quality of gifted and its teachers, but are leaving due to the overall environment. The general population is very 'rough' and inner city, for the most part. The principal makes it clear that she does not support the gifted students or their parents. I do not feel that my child is safe on campus, and don't want my child exposed to the kinds of behaviors that routinely occur there. Regular ed teachers yell/ speak to all kids as though they are rough, 'street kids'. Gifted parents should really consider other options. If the gifted program were elsewhere, we would definately not be leaving the program!

Bernard Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted April 22, 2005
- a parent
We are impressed with the quality of education and teaching staff. The principal knows everyone by name, giving kids a sense of belonging. It is a great learning environment!


Bernard Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted January 20, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bernard Terrace Elementary School 5

Posted December 02, 2004
- a parent
The principal and faculty are some of the most dedicated professionals I have ever encountered. They routinely go beyond the call of duty to help the children. We are very impressed with the high quality of instruction and sense of community the teachers and administration have created.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bernard Terrace Elementary School
241 Edison Street, Baton Rouge, LA  70806
(225) 343-5769
Last modified Bernard Terrace Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bernard Terrace Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews.