Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Istrouma Senior High School

Public | 8-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 6, 2013

Since the school has been taken over by RSD and Mr. Webb has become the principal, the school seems to have been turned around greatly. Mr. Webb fosters an academically-focused environment among his staff and students and discipline is very well-maintained. Great school. Highly recommend it as a choice for those looking for a good public school in Baton Rouge.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 17, 2011

Its amazing how people from awhile ago remember great things about this schools. What was is no longer the case, and this schools is not meeting the needs of the students. Administration is poor. Teachers are tenured and expect little from students. Wishful thinking will not help this school. This schools scores reflect this inadequacies. I feel this school needs to be closed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2011

I graduated in the class of 1972. Looking back on high school I recognized the positive impact of many of my teachers. Being called a "greaser" was the least of the issues and in fact set us apart from other schools. I had a Baker football coach who used to tell us how much he hated Istrouma. Then I moved there and followed the footsteps of my dad and his sisters...IHS...thank you for the memories.


Posted August 2, 2009

Istrouma High is not a good school if you have a child looking to excel. The administration is not cognizant of the need of the individual student they tend to label their students. They have poor attitude about the job and it is not conducive to the learning. They tend to create hostel environment between students. From personal observation the administration lacks professionalism and the wiliness to help some student with achieving their goal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2005

I think that Istrouma High School is a wonderful school. Even though it goes through its ups and downs, we as Indians will always come out on top. The reason is because of the wonderful teachers we have and because of our principal and our dean of students. Our dean of students give other studnents the knowledge they need to get ahead in life. IHS has alot of extracurricular activities that the students could get involved in. Istrouma would be greater than what is already is if we had more parent involvement. Our parental imvolvement is in the middle. The more parental involvement the better the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2005

Istrouma is a great school. We have great teachers, and a wonderful principal. We have tons of technology at our school and many educational activities to get into. Our school is always seen for our low scores, discipline problems, and being academic unacceptable. No one ever sees all the good things that go on inside Istrouma High. There are many good students who excel in all that they do. Istrouma is the best kept secret in East Baton Rouge Parish.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2004

I too am a Graduate of IHS. Istrouma is and always will be what you make of it. Goof off you fail. Pay attention you pass that simple. The staff of IHS will perpare you for college, but they will also be the first ones to tell you, they can't graduate college for you. Mrs Freeman one of IHS most outspoken teachers raised, taught, mothered a lot of us during her employment at IHS and for that I say, Thank you IHS.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2004

Alright, being a former student of IHS, I believe it is truly a very exceptional school. The teacher there work very hard to make sure that every student has at least a fighting chance to make the grades they need to graduate. But, of course, there are those students who choose not to do anything in class, and every school has those types of students! Now the black/white issues are very degrading. Now the remark about whites not attending there,is a complete lie, or maybe you like the idea of having a single, narrow, tracked mind on the way of life. Anyone can make it there, regardless of race!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 30, 2004

I love the teachers and staffs at Istrouma High school it is a very good school. The principal is great good work done and giving out great reports all over.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2003

I have been very pleased with the dedication of the teachers at Istrouma High School. They have an excellent magnet program.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

159 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
34%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

157 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
18%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
13%

2011

 
 
17%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
11%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
16%

2011

 
 
5%

2010

 
 
1%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 98% 45%
Hispanic 1% 4%
White 1% 47%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 85%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Linda Lewis
Fax number
  • (225) 359-9807

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3730 Winbourne
Baton Rouge, LA 70805
Phone: (225) 355-7701

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Prescott Middle School
Baton Rouge, LA



Prescott Middle School
Baton Rouge, LA


Vision City
Baton Rouge, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT