Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Baton Rouge, LA
Students enrolled: 510

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


10 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Magnolia Woods Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a community member
Magnolia Woods Elem. is an excellent school with a great principal and a caring and dedicated faculty. Students are nearly all minorities, about 15 % are English Language Learning and 95% qualify for the free or reduced lunch program. The students come from very a very mobile population, and change schools frequently, sometimes more than once during the year. In spite of these challenges, the school performance scores have risen slowly but steadily until the school was only 0.3 of a point from being classified as a B school in the last school year, The campus is quiet and well controlled, but students are generally happy and like their school. It has a strong volunteer support group of about 85 community volunteers who help with reading and math tutoring and assist the teachers and staff in many other ways. This public school has no gifted or talented program, but does serve autistic, special ed, and other children with learning disabilities. And yet, it had the highest performance score of EBR elementary schools without G & T programs which help to elevate a school's scores. This principal and faculty and staff are wonderful examples of what is being done.

Magnolia Woods Elementary School 3

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
The special ed teacher is wonderful. Teacher quality varies. I do think this is one of the best non-gifted, non-magnet public schools in this area.


Magnolia Woods Elementary School 5

Posted April 30, 2013
- a community member
Magnolia Woods is an excellent school of low-income students, most of whom are African American, and on free or reduced lunches. They have many hurdle to overcome to achieve academically. The school has wonderfully caring experienced teachers who work together as a team to help the students do as well as they possibly can. The Principal has been there for over 10 years and has built a great team of teachers and staff members. The school performance scores have been raised from the 50's to 90.1 for 2012 and it is now a "C" School according to the state's ratings. I rate it an A school because of the caring, dedicated faculty and staff who do everything they can to help our students succeed. It has a large contingent of community volunuteers who come weekly to help students with reading and math skills and to assist the faculty in many other ways. I am one of those volunteers in my 10th year, and I know this school very well.

Magnolia Woods Elementary School 1

Posted May 06, 2011
- a parent
Horrible school and teachers! Kindergarten teaches 2nd grade work! Kindergarten teachers do not teach with care! Would not recommend this school to no one!!!!! It should be named Nightmare Elm.

Magnolia Woods Elementary School 1

Posted April 18, 2011
- a community member
While there are several teachers who are excellent, there are a few who should not be teaching, especially children with special needs. Also, the school system in general is a bureaucratic nightmare. It took over one year to enroll my grandson in a special needs program which should take only a few months. In that time, his needs were unmet and he grew to hate going to school. The family has moved to Texas where he is thriving. Went from making Fs in Baton Rouge to being on the honor roll.


Magnolia Woods Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school! The teachers really care.

Magnolia Woods Elementary School 5

Posted October 07, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Magnolia Woods Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted January 09, 2008
- a community member
After being at the school for over 6 months ive had the chance to see significant change in student and peer to peer behavior and a continued positive attitude towards class and homework achievment. The principal and staff at Magnolia Woods do a remarkable job of helping students stay active and on task during class time and other activities.


Magnolia Woods Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2005
- a parent
I love this school. The teachers keep me updated on my child. My child brings his books home everyday. I send a note book so that my child teacher and i can keep in touch. In order for you to have a relationship with the teachers you have to get involve. I work everyday but i make sure that i get progress on my child.

Magnolia Woods Elementary School 3

Posted August 04, 2004
- a parent
This school spend too much time on discipline and not enough time on education. Kids are not allowed to take books home. Parents has no idea of what being taught that day. As a parent I took upon myself and checked a copy of my childs text books out at the library. I feel if I had not done this my child would failed in 2003-2004 school year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Magnolia Woods Elementary School
760 Maxine Drive, Baton Rouge, LA  70808
(225) 769-6845
Last modified Magnolia Woods Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Magnolia Woods Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top