Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mckinley Middle Magnet School

Public | 6-8 | 731 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 4, 2014

This is an excellent school. My child has learned a lot. Please go to McKinley Middle Magnet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2011

I am pleased to have been a member of the faculty at McKinley Middle School for 27 years. The administration is great and the staff is a kind and caring staff who put the students first and foremost in preserving the integrity of our wonderful school!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 22, 2010

I consider this school to be a hidden gem. The principal leadership is outstanding. He makes my child feel like part of a family at school with an open door policy. My child has attended this school in 6th &7th grades. It has a college prep curriculum along with close involvement with the arts, which I feel is so important. My child has also won 2 scholarships for college while at Mckinley middle. This school offers many positive incentives for good grades and leadership. There are also many opportunities to enter contests to win money, such as essy contests, poetry contests, art contests, photography contests to name a few.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2010

this school is the best school in the parish. i am so happy i go to this amazing school. the teachers are so cool they actually make sure you understand the curriculum before moving on to thw next lesson. I love Mckinley MIddle Academic Magnet School for the Visual and Oerforming Arts
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 3, 2009

Mckinley Middle is the best school ever. I luv it there. I am a 7th grader and the teachers are so fun and caring and get their jobs done very well. When it comes down to work we Mckinley Middle Students dont play. We are boldly going where no the middle school has gone before. I type this proudly and is happy to say I am a MCK Middle Magnet 7th Grade Student......!!! Luv You Mr.Brister.....
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 11, 2009

I am so impressed with McKinley Middle Magnet. My daughter just started there this year, coming from a small, private school. It was a little overwhelming at first, but the principal, Mr. Brister, gets top honors for his compassion and the way he makes each student feel as if they are special. The teachers I have spoken with so far are excited about the subjects they teach, and the opportunity for classes like web design, Latin and Drama in 7th grade makes me happy with our decision. I would definitely recommend parents apply for this school. Also, I was amazed that our bus driver came to the house a few days before school started to meet our daughter and make sure she had the information about the route and time- truly impressive dedication!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2009

It is a wonderful school and the staff is one the best in this state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

I went to MMM all 3 years, from 05-08. To me it s a great school academically. They pushed us to achieve higher than any one else. We were at the old capital but that didn t stop any one from teaching or learning. To me once we moved to the new school they kinda stopped worring about grades and started trippin on looks. Jewelry, jackets, ect. It s like we were some show dogs. I think that since Mrs. Graham isn t the principal anymore the school will get better. I can t speak though because I don t go there any more. But I can say this, my younger sister in 8th grade says her years were better than mine, and I can say they prepare you well for high school. But children wise we act no differently from any other schools there is still mess and fights that s normal. You can t expect use not to act our age because we are smart.


Posted January 26, 2009

Mckinley as a school is good but they need to start kicking out some of those bad messy kids that does not have any home training and are to messy to stop bullying other students dont get me wrong some teachers are good and some are bad but they have alot of rotten eggs but im now attending Mckinley High and this is how I feel about the student body, and some teachers that work there it is just horrible. I think some teachers just come there to get payed
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

I am currebtly an eigth grade at Mckinley. Our school is improving with our new principal, Mr. Brister. I honestly believe though our school has quite a bad reputation, it is a wonderful school. We are anti- bullying, and have alot of activities as well as clubs. I, am a member of my school student council and a Geometry student, I am also an honors student. I have high expectations for my school and so far, it had achieve them. I would not go to any other school beside Mckinley. Thank You.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2007

I have gone to Mckinley for about 2 years and i really like it. now i am a 7th grader and we have more things then last year when i was in 6th grade.Even though we dont have alot of sports like the other schools we are still top in academics.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 14, 2007

Last year MMM was a school where the staff and students willingly worked and learned together. Administration is lacking this year and maybe this is due to being in a new school building along with the additional students, teachers, staff and needing time to adapt. But, students this year are not getting along with each other and the environment for learning is not inviting for those trying. Teachers are getting frustrated at the students, and at some times, refusing to teach and some threatening to quit. The administration needs to take a hand at correcting the specific behavior problem students and not leave this up to the teachers during instruction time. These 'magnet' students have had very little to no dances, celebrations of good grades and good behavior (as last year), etc. They have had lunch times rearranged, recess taken away, and the morning homeroom time taken away; punishment only.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2006

I have gone to McKinley since it became a dedicated magnet school and I am now an eighth grader in the new building. I like that Mckinley has academics and visual and performing arts. We're supposed to be the best school but I think we she be the best in everything. We don't have a football team, soccer, or softball. Our school should compete more in every subject:academics, arts, and extra curricular activities. The administration doesn't take advantage of the parent support we have. If any team needs uniforms or anything else the parents would be more than happy to come together and organize ways to get the money. The administration focuses to much on things like socks,jewlery, and hair accessories. There is no money in the budget for the performing arts to buy costumes and props but they expect the us to look professional. Overall it is a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2006

McKinley was wonderful te three years that I attended. It allows students to express them selves not only academically but creatively. They provide you with the skills to live a successful life. They prepare you for high school. I just think that the prinicpal is not a good choice for the visual & performance school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 20, 2006

Mckinley Middle Magnet is a great school. This is my first year at mckinley and i love it! The teachers at mckinley are great. so as the principal. THe staff is also great. By, Zyquincia Bell
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 6, 2006

My children has went to this awesome school. I'm glad its moving. It will have space for more kids to attend. This gives 100% of education and talent. They have so many outstanding students and outgoing teachers and staff. I hope to see my children one day be the principal of this awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

this school is fun for the kids and has a very high education i love it and all my children are going there! i hope i gave u my opinion
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2003

Teachers show no interest. Mckinley needs certified and serious math teachers. Students need homework. There is very little homework and note taking. I realize that the students are difficult but children that wants an education are suffering. I think that the teachers need to do outline so parents can be aware of what there children are studying. I also found the teachers are not using the textbook. These are our children. Last school term my daughter did not have math teacher for three to four months. All they did was go to the math lab. They needed a teacher. The only reason she is going back to Mckinley because I could not get her transfer. I hope the principal at Mckinley Middle read this and think of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 90% 45%
White 9% 49%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Joyce M. Green-Graham
Fax number
  • (225) 387-1424

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1550 Eddie Robinson Sr Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: (225) 388-0089

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Thrive Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT