Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mckinley Senior High School

Public | 8-12 | 1379 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 20, 2013

I am currently a junior at McKinley high school and so far I have had an excellent high school experience in the GT program. The teachers are not only experienced and effective, but friendly and approachable. The class sizes are great and you become close with your classmates not only in your grade and program, but with everyone. I was surprised at how approachable everyone was when I was a freshmen. I soon was able to call McKinley my family and experience what school spirit and unity meant. The principal, Armond Brown, is a great man who not only cares about the school, but genuinely takes his time to help students and parents. McKinley has great school spirit and football games are always a blast. My only complaint lies within the office. They can be quite unorganized and make things difficult at times, which is why I rate McKinley a 4 out of 5. Despite this, I wouldn't trade my experience at McK high for any other high school. Go panthers!


Posted March 25, 2011

McKinley Senior High is truly two schools in one, offering both the Gifted and Talented Program and the traditional neighborhood school public education. The true quality of this school lies within the quality of the Gifted and Talented program. If the G/T program was a school unto itself, the scores achieved by its students would rank it above even Baton Rouge High School. I am an active alumni of McK and can tell you that I look upon my choosing McKinley over Catholic High and BRHS as the best decision in my academic life. All of my teachers possessed at least master's degrees, with many having earned a Ph.D as well. Despite what you may think, there is very little racial tension and a remarkably small presence of "hard" drugs (with both being attributed to BRHS, and the latter being proliferated in the major private high schools in the area.) The facilities allocated for the traditional and performing arts are modern and among the best in the city. What the overall school lacks in locale or curb appeal it makes up for in culture and community. Now that G/T is at Woodlawn, there are more choices. I would argue that if your child is certified Gifted, McKinley is the best choice.


Posted July 20, 2009

Mckinley high is a fun place and you can learn a lot at our great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

My utmost Gratitude goes to Mr Brown (Principal) and the faculty here for the care and education they gave to my quirky, artsy daughter. McKinley High is an absolute fit for children who are not snobby, artistic and academically minded. The staff takes every step to keep safety and nurture in the environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

I'm a junior at McKinley right now, and I love it. Sure it's got its problems, but so does any school. There's never a dull moment at McKinley, which sounds like a euphemism, but it's just a really fun place to be. The teachers are great, and the small class sizes in the gifted classes really means a lot (I'm looking at you, Baton Rouge High...). Mr. Brown really knows how to handle his business. Mr. Hood is possibly the best Psychology teacher in history. Mr. Grant does a better job teaching various sciences than he thinks he does. Go Panthers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 20, 2007

Frankly, It Is Horrible Here. I am in my sophomore year at Mckinley this 06-07 school year and I have to say not only do I not feel safe, due to the lacking of teachers in east baton rouge parish there are substandard instructors teaching my gifted classes. We are overfilled, above all things there are far too many people at the school. The administration does not take action against real problems, only against trivial matters such as tardies and failing to wear an id. It might have been a good school in its better days, but MCkinley Senior High school seems to have run its course. Not To be horribly negative,but if you want your child in a good enviornment and want them to actually learn,do not send them here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 14, 2005

I left with a great education. I was enrolled in the gifted program. I was active in the string orchestra and the concert choir. McKinley High School is wonderful, but there is room for improvement. How can you advocate academic excellence without supporting ALL programs at the school? Yes athletics are important, but what about the arts program? McKinley should have the BEST visual and performing arts department in the parish. Why? Because 'McK' is the ONLY high school with a gifted curriculum, and is one of two with the talented arts program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 30, 2004

McKinley Senior High is a fantastic school! I went there for all four years and not only got a great education, but had lots of fun and made many lasting memories. The administration is amazing--Mr. Armond Brown was like a father to me and the other 800 kids there. The other administrators showed us tough love, but they only wanted the best for us. I was in both Gifted and Talented, and both programs really strived to prepare students for post-high school life. There is such a sense of pride there, I still call myself a Panther, and probably will for the rest of my life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 8, 2004

I am not pleased with the job that the principal and assistant principal are doing for the school. They both have a bad attitude with the students, with as well as the parents at functions such as Open House and campus activities. I am very disappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2004

I have had one child graduate from McKinley and another who currently attends. I have had only positive experiences. The faculty and staff are very understanding and eager to help their students. The Panther pride is deep and longstanding. Most of my family are McKinley High Graduates. I appreciate the efforts of Mr. Brown, the current principal, Mr. Huggins (Asst. Prin), Coach Morris,Coach Mayweather , Mrs. Langlois and all the staff who have helped throughout the year(s). If you are not sure about a school for your child, you could not choose a better school than McKinely Senior High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2004

I personally believe that Mckinley is the best school in EBRP(East Baton Rouge Parish). It has both Regular, and Gifted and Talented programs. While at Mckinley I was enrolled in both programs, and I needed both experiences to become the man that I am today. The teacher a great.The Principal, Mr. Armond Brown, is a wonderful man, he his tough loving and he understands his students. There is an extracurricular activity for everyone, I played Baseball, and I also was a member of the Marching, Concert, Jazz, and Second Line/Brass Band Ensambles. I can't explain this school in 150 words, but I did what I could. To sum it up, this is a school like no other. I love this school. I go back to see my teachers and other falculty members as often as possible, it feels like home.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2003

This school is one where the teacher involvement is very good. There are caring, patient teachers here who take the time to make sure all students understand the content of the lessons. Great no-nonsense principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
10%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
11%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
10%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
13%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

319 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

319 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
20%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
37%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
58%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
36%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 83% 45%
White 11% 47%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 1%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Armond D. Brown
Fax number
  • (225) 387-5435

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 East McKinley Street
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: (225) 344-7696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Lsu Laboratory School
Baton Rouge, LA




Thrive Baton Rouge
Baton Rouge, LA


Redeeming Life Academy
Baton Rouge, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT