Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Louisiana Virtual Charter Academy

Charter | K-12 | 1884 students

Best known for individualized learning plans and award winning curriculum.

 
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My youngest son who is a third grader has been bullied since first grade in a public elementary school, I decided with the school's help to pull him out because he struggled going to school on a daily base. We joined the K12 - LAVCA online program on Jan.7, 2014, this has made a big difference in the way my son has been learning. His homeroom teacher has been so helpful, getting things in place with his IEP and the way he learns best. I am so pleased with the design of the program, giving me a daily, and weekly plans to help me as his teacher / coach. I feel so blessed with everything they have giving us and the time they take out to help, and the support is overwheleming at times.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2014

I came to NO from the UK 3 years ago, and my daughter is currently in 6th grade. I had my daughter enrolled in the public school system, and was horrified to find that not only did she not learn anything, but they managed to 'unteach' her everything she'd already learned in the UK. I actually sent her back to England for school as I felt her education was too important and the local public school system too lacking. Then I found LAVCA. This school is an absolute diamond, the classes are informative, there is very little for me to do except supervise (which is a must for me as I work long hours in a busy ICU), and maybe redefine concepts she struggles with. Everything you need is provided, the teachers are a mouse click or a phone call away, the online class connects/video classes are fun and interactive, my daughter actually enjoys and looks forward to class. When I previously homeschooled my older daughter without this kind of program for support, I found every spare minute I had was spent researching information and worksheets and such, this program has done all that work for me. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to homeschool, and even those who aren't.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2013

Ready for a renewed joy in educating, I enrolled my youngest two children in LAVCA s 2013-2014 school term. As a home schooling mom of eight children, ages 6 to 18, I had been teaching from home for the past 15 years. "Fun and exciting," would not have been the vocabulary my kids would have used when speaking of their schooling. The provision and authentic devotion of the administration and teachers has been incredibly inspiring. The teachers earnestly care to know the individual needs of each of my children and have worked attentively with me on their learning plans. I now have five blissful, well-educated children who are eager to come to virtual class to spend time with their teachers and classmates. My experience with LAVCA has been wonderfully positive and I would gladly recommend the school to anyone!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

This school is amazing! They make this super easy for the students and parents. The program is student directed and flexible. In a traditional classroom setting, there is pacing that the teacher must follow which leaves struggling students missing valuable concepts. LAVCA allows the student to achieve Mastery before they move on to the next concept. It also allows students to quickly move through the concepts they already know. It is the IDEAL personalized educational experience. You do NOT have to spend all day on curriculum and lessons. You do not have to do ALL the coursework in the workbooks, they are SUGGESTED only. My child spends additional time on the lessons he needs help with and we move through the others. The students take a brief quiz on each lesson, if they achieve 80% and you feel they are ready, then you move on. If they do not achieve 80%, THEN you want to utilize the materials LAVCA provides you with to reteach and/or reinforce. You only do ONE lesson per day in each subject unless you want to move ahead. The teachers are EXTREMELY supportive and will help you if you have questions or feel anxious. A very nurturing environment. It is AWESOME!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2013

LAVCA is a great option! We took our three elementary aged daughters out of a great private school over a year ago because we could not longer afford the 12K per child per year. It was a tough decision at the time but we have not looked back. LAVCA partners with the nationally accredited homeschool program k12.com and all materials come right to our door. The history program is amazing and the language arts and math are equivalent to the previous private school they attended. This is an amazing option for our city.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2013

I have a first grader and a fifth grader in LAVCA, and we absolutely love it. My oldest daughter started with LAVCA in the 2nd grade. For her 3rd grade year we enrolled her in a magnet school, and when she was given a placement test she was placed in the 4th grade instead of the 3rd! The curriculum is challenging yet flexible, the students are able work at their own pace. It can be quite time consuming but you will get out of it what you are willing to put in to it. The materials you need are shipped right to your door as well as computer equipment if needed. The state certified teachers are wonderful and always there to help the student and learning coach. Every week, students are able to attend interactive online classes with their teachers and other students in their grade. LAVCA also offers electives such as foreign language (my daughters both take French), as well as various clubs that students can join to share common interests with their peers in online meetings. Every month students have the opportunity to attend outings in various locations around the state, which give the students, learning coaches and teachers an opportunity to get to know one another.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

I have a background in early childhood education and I chose to take my son out of the failing New Orleans Public school system and school him at home. He has been enrolled in LAVCA now for almost 3 months and I am very impressed with the whole system. They sent all of the materials that I would need for the whole year right to my doorstep (even the paints and modeling clay for art)! They give you all of the support that you can possibly need including a designated teacher, lesson plans, online and offline materials and lesson guides that are created so that even someone who has never taught a child in their life can be successful at helping them learn the material. The curriculum is top notch and my 1st grade son is learning concepts that my 2nd grade daughter is just beginning to learn and she goes to a top rated school in our city. My son has developed his reading skills beyond my expectations in just a short period of time. As with any home schooling endeavor, it takes time and commitment from the parent. However, I have successfully used the program while running my own business and caring for my own two children. The best part its...the cost of the program is free!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

This school leaves you with absolutely no free time. It has managed to suck all the joy out of my life. With this school, you are either eating, sleeping, or doing assignments. I would not recommend this school to anybody. I would say, "Get as far away from here as you possibly can. Do not let them bring your life into misery like they did mine." I literally spend nearly every waking hour on school work. It is the worst thing in my life right now.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
n/a
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
23%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 47%
Black 16% 45%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 48%N/A67%
Male 51%N/A51%
Female 49%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Brick and Mortar Public School
Homeschool
Private School
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Perry Daniel
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (225) 336-1414

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Individually guided instruction
  • K12 curriculum
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Mark12, Math+, ALP
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College presentations or information sessions
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • None
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • History club
  • Impact the World
  • Math club
  • Science club
  • Success Builders
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Serve as a Learning Coach
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Brick and Mortar Public School
Homeschool
Private School

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1555 Madison Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Website: Click here
Phone: (877) 900-5602

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Vision City
Baton Rouge, LA


Park Elementary School
Baton Rouge, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT