Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wedgewood Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 690 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 2, 2013

Wedgewood has been a model of inconsistency on a decline. The school received a "D" rating for its performance last year. However, made promises that they would do better...which has yet to happen. They send my children home with an "X" on the conduct sheet due to eating with their mouth open, or letting the teacher know about people picking on them stating disruption of classroom. I had 1 teacher tell me my child was cursing in class(which I have never heard my child say anything remotely of that context, nor do I use that verbage around my children) my child immediately denied(saying no ma'am, I did not...Daddy I didn't do that) to which the teacher responded that she didn't hear my child say anything, but some kids were telling her so. The same kids that I witnessed flicking off my child & mouthing "f-you" while trying to get on the bus. I reported that incident, but was told that "they're just kids." There was no suspension or administrative action toward that child, but my child receives "X" marks everyday for things like attempting to report when others are bullying him. He has been labled the bully. They gave him an "X" for playing too ruff when playing football!!! Not fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2013

Wedgewood Elementary is a great school. My child loves going to school everyday. He is learning more than ever before. His teacher noticed that he had trouble pronouncing certain letter sounds and had a test session, with a speech specialist. Now he is going through speech sessions with the specialist, several times a week. WOW, what an improvement he has made in just over a month of this therapy. I'm so glad the teacher noticed this issue and contacted us about it, then went the extra step and set up the sessions with our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2012

Wedgewood Elementary is a wonderful school. The children are always learning and being active in something the school has going on. The school also encourages parents to be actively involved with his/her children's learning. The neighborhood is great too. Any parent or any other person who says differently must have been one of those non-active parents. If you have a problem with the school, then take your child somewhere else then do an assessment of yourself. It may not be the school, principal, or the teachers....HINT HINT
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

The children have no social time. They are told to keep quiet during hall and lunch time. My son came home several times and had fallen or gotten hurt at school and they do not send a report or even acknowlage that the kids are hurt. The conduct sheet is a daily annoyance as they pick every tiny thing the child may or may not do during the day and send home a report about it. I have not had a great experience at this school yet.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2009

I find this to be a great school, academic wise and parent involvement wise. The PTO was excellent last year but a lot of the parents have moved on now. I find that my son(a 4th grader) is more into school since he started attending Wedgewood 2 years ago. There is a lack of extracirricular activities though. Overall, I think the school is doing a good job with the kids... Extended day is also very helpful and affordable
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

Wedgwood strives for excellence in each of its students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2007

This year at Wedgewood made me decide to move away from the area just so she won't have to sttend next year. Her teacher kept in contact with me about my daughter's situations via my daughter and occasional 'X's' on a conduct sheet. I have found in my daughter's years at Wedgewood that this is what a few of the teachers consider keeping the parents 'aware' of what's going on. They make the children carrier pigeons. Also, the pricipai leaves much to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

Wedgewood Elementary offers students an education that demonstrates quality combined with care!The academic program addresses the needs of ALL the children. The teachers and staff take an active interest in assuring that every student meets his/her potential. The parents and the PTO program is excellent! My child is always excited about attending school. He comes home every day excited about sharing what he has learned not only in his regular classes but in his music, art, libray and physical education class. He enjoys working on the computers that are available at Wedgewood. Being a retired teacher myself, I rate Wedgewood far above the rest. The teachers, pricipal, staff and parents work together to insure that ever child at Wedgewood is special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2005

Wedgewood Elementary is a great school that promotes and encourges parent involvement with a strong PTO. In addition to the state curriculum, the school offers French and Music. However, other extracurricular activites are lacking being that the focus is on academics at this school. I teach exceptional students hear and have taught in three states. I have never seen teachers work as hard as they work at this school along side parents on a daily basis.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 82% 45%
White 15% 49%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 3%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 89%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sheridan H. Harris
Fax number
  • (225) 756-8418

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2330 Aspenwood Drive
Baton Rouge, LA 70816
Phone: (225) 753-7301

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Jean Vianney School
Baton Rouge, LA


St. Jean Vianney School
Baton Rouge, LA




The Runnels School
Baton Rouge, LA


Episcopal High School
Baton Rouge, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT