Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wedgewood Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Miss Bartney in the front office is always so kind. She goes out of her way to help the students and parents. This is more than just a job to her.

Wedgewood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
I believe they are and that they try. THE ADMINISTRATION is what is NOT effective and that makes it hard for teachers to be effective. They lose a teacher almost every month.


Wedgewood Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
Most of the time they do not give homework and when they do it has nothing to do with what they are learning.

Wedgewood Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
My child has seen principals disrespect and talk down to their teacher on several occasions. They also gossip a lot about teachers in the hallway. I have witnessed this myself! How do they expect students to respect teachers or each other if they cannot do it?!

Wedgewood Elementary School 1

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
The school is extremely unorganized. The rules and the curriculum plan changes from week to week. It seems that the principal always changing things. The teachers can never stick to what they said in the newsletter. The leadership knows next to nothing about effective planning.


Wedgewood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Will from what I get from my son teacher.. She's very effective and caring.. I hope my son teachers stay effective

Wedgewood Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten there this year. He has a awesome teacher she's very caring and he's also in a gift program there no complaints. But the principle and her assistant are awful. They don't get notifications out on time have a problem with a parent who wants to communicate with the teacher the are very petty and have bigger problems they don't address... I really don't think my son will return next year...

Wedgewood Elementary School 2

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter recently a pre-k in Wedgewood. Overall is average But what is really terrified me is the "restroom" for students. Every single time that I bring my daughter to use the restroom is always dirty, the flush just never work. Can't imagine students at that age what can they do except for just sat on it over and over. Hopefully the school will do something about that.


Wedgewood Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Wedgewood has been a model of inconsistency on a decline. The school received a "D" rating for its performance last year. However, made promises that they would do better...which has yet to happen. They send my children home with an "X" on the conduct sheet due to eating with their mouth open, or letting the teacher know about people picking on them stating disruption of classroom. I had 1 teacher tell me my child was cursing in class(which I have never heard my child say anything remotely of that context, nor do I use that verbage around my children) my child immediately denied(saying no ma'am, I did not...Daddy I didn't do that) to which the teacher responded that she didn't hear my child say anything, but some kids were telling her so. The same kids that I witnessed flicking off my child & mouthing "f-you" while trying to get on the bus. I reported that incident, but was told that "they're just kids." There was no suspension or administrative action toward that child, but my child receives "X" marks everyday for things like attempting to report when others are bullying him. He has been labled the bully. They gave him an "X" for playing too ruff when playing football!!! Not fair.

Wedgewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Wedgewood Elementary is a great school. My child loves going to school everyday. He is learning more than ever before. His teacher noticed that he had trouble pronouncing certain letter sounds and had a test session, with a speech specialist. Now he is going through speech sessions with the specialist, several times a week. WOW, what an improvement he has made in just over a month of this therapy. I'm so glad the teacher noticed this issue and contacted us about it, then went the extra step and set up the sessions with our son.

Nearby schools

Wedgewood Elementary School
2330 Aspenwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA  70816
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (225) 753-7301
Last modified Wedgewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top