Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
11 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wedgewood Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
Will from what I get from my son teacher.. She's very effective and caring.. I hope my son teachers stay effective

Wedgewood Elementary School 2

Posted April 13, 2016
- a parent
My son is in kindergarten there this year. He has a awesome teacher she's very caring and he's also in a gift program there no complaints. But the principle and her assistant are awful. They don't get notifications out on time have a problem with a parent who wants to communicate with the teacher the are very petty and have bigger problems they don't address... I really don't think my son will return next year...


Wedgewood Elementary School 2

Posted May 13, 2015
- a parent
My daughter recently a pre-k in Wedgewood. Overall is average But what is really terrified me is the "restroom" for students. Every single time that I bring my daughter to use the restroom is always dirty, the flush just never work. Can't imagine students at that age what can they do except for just sat on it over and over. Hopefully the school will do something about that.

Wedgewood Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2013
- a parent
Wedgewood has been a model of inconsistency on a decline. The school received a "D" rating for its performance last year. However, made promises that they would do better...which has yet to happen. They send my children home with an "X" on the conduct sheet due to eating with their mouth open, or letting the teacher know about people picking on them stating disruption of classroom. I had 1 teacher tell me my child was cursing in class(which I have never heard my child say anything remotely of that context, nor do I use that verbage around my children) my child immediately denied(saying no ma'am, I did not...Daddy I didn't do that) to which the teacher responded that she didn't hear my child say anything, but some kids were telling her so. The same kids that I witnessed flicking off my child & mouthing "f-you" while trying to get on the bus. I reported that incident, but was told that "they're just kids." There was no suspension or administrative action toward that child, but my child receives "X" marks everyday for things like attempting to report when others are bullying him. He has been labled the bully. They gave him an "X" for playing too ruff when playing football!!! Not fair.

Wedgewood Elementary School 5

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
Wedgewood Elementary is a great school. My child loves going to school everyday. He is learning more than ever before. His teacher noticed that he had trouble pronouncing certain letter sounds and had a test session, with a speech specialist. Now he is going through speech sessions with the specialist, several times a week. WOW, what an improvement he has made in just over a month of this therapy. I'm so glad the teacher noticed this issue and contacted us about it, then went the extra step and set up the sessions with our son.


Wedgewood Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
Wedgewood Elementary is a wonderful school. The children are always learning and being active in something the school has going on. The school also encourages parents to be actively involved with his/her children's learning. The neighborhood is great too. Any parent or any other person who says differently must have been one of those non-active parents. If you have a problem with the school, then take your child somewhere else then do an assessment of yourself. It may not be the school, principal, or the teachers....HINT HINT

Wedgewood Elementary School 2

Posted September 22, 2010
- a parent
The children have no social time. They are told to keep quiet during hall and lunch time. My son came home several times and had fallen or gotten hurt at school and they do not send a report or even acknowlage that the kids are hurt. The conduct sheet is a daily annoyance as they pick every tiny thing the child may or may not do during the day and send home a report about it. I have not had a great experience at this school yet.

Wedgewood Elementary School
no rating

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
I find this to be a great school, academic wise and parent involvement wise. The PTO was excellent last year but a lot of the parents have moved on now. I find that my son(a 4th grader) is more into school since he started attending Wedgewood 2 years ago. There is a lack of extracirricular activities though. Overall, I think the school is doing a good job with the kids... Extended day is also very helpful and affordable


Wedgewood Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2007
- a parent
Wedgwood strives for excellence in each of its students

Wedgewood Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
This year at Wedgewood made me decide to move away from the area just so she won't have to sttend next year. Her teacher kept in contact with me about my daughter's situations via my daughter and occasional 'X's' on a conduct sheet. I have found in my daughter's years at Wedgewood that this is what a few of the teachers consider keeping the parents 'aware' of what's going on. They make the children carrier pigeons. Also, the pricipai leaves much to be desired.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wedgewood Elementary School
2330 Aspenwood Drive, Baton Rouge, LA  70816
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (225) 753-7301
Last modified Wedgewood Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top