Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
26 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 41 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Westdale Middle School 1

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
My child is in this school and is being bullied along with her friends by a teacher named rosemary reese i would not like my children going to this school but its their only option also this school gets kids in trouble without giving them a time to show their proof and witnesses only teachers have a say i dont just speak for myself i speak for any other parent out there with the same problem in this school

Westdale Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
They cuss at students and if a student reacts in a way that the teachers dont like they get written up and some teachers hit students and if students hit them back they shouldnt get suspended this is called self defense


Westdale Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
My child brings homework every day to practice the subjects and information they learned in school

Westdale Middle School
Develops grit: Agree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Students are told if they dont get good grades such as a d or f they get their parents called about their grades they also have a probation program for manet programs

Westdale Middle School
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Students get breaks from class but this school is unfair to students some teachers just becouse they dont like the students they call write up or suspend them for a minor problem or mistake


Westdale Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted April 18, 2016
- a parent
Students dont get to defend theirselfs only teachers can have a say students should have a chance to show their proof this school bothers me more than a stomache ache

Westdale Middle School 3

Posted October 16, 2015
- a community member
First of all let me say that there are a bunch of programs at this school. They have gifted, great scholors, talented (drama, band, choir, and art), Spanish and French immersion and heritage(for Hispanics trying to learn English). There's a program for basically all different types of kids. But if your kid doesn't fit into any of these programs then your in trouble. The traditional kids at this school are outrageous. They fight constantly(I'm talking about on average 3 fights a week). They misbehave and are constantly being disruptive. I'm talking about banging on doors, running down the hallway, beating on tables, knocking windows out of people's cars. They are atrocious. Plus this school may have lots of programs but they don't have a lot of courses to offer. Your only able to skip one level of math and everyone but the gifts kids get only one elective a day. They teachers are somewhat effective at their job (again depends on the program your in) and the school leadership is kinda effective sometimes. All in all I would recommend this school for if you in immersion or heritage because I think this is the only school in the parish that offers this. But if you're in any of the other programs, there are better schools out there.

Westdale Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2015
- a community member
a school that help put kids in their grade i have a dtudent that went their last year


Westdale Middle School 5

Posted August 26, 2014
- a community member
This is the best school ever. This year at Westdale the principal promised to have many new changes. So far, they've added a student coucil, which seems like a wonderful idea. He also promised a pep rally and other stuff like that. I have to say, the school staff become more and more strict about behavior each year...that is good. But the good students never take the blame, even if they don't get the minor things as well, like Big Break. But once in a while there are parties and dances for the good kids, so all's well. Overall this school is amazing, whether it is the IMMERSION program, GIFTED program, TALENTED program, and of course the athletics. Coaches do their best to train you and you always feel good about yourself in the end. There are so many opportunities at this school....it's ok if you start from the beginning :D

Westdale Middle School 5

Posted April 28, 2014
- a community member
I love this school so much. This is my first year at Westdale and it sure was a successful one thanks to all my awesome teachers that helped me. The Gifted program there is amazing. The teachers are willing to help you, there are lots of fun assignments that traditional students don't receive, and you are exposed to a different learning environment. The Immersion program is also good because the teachers there challenge you A LOT. Our wonderful Immersion program can't be complete without Ms. Peterson, who makes sure all our classes are doing well. Westdale is also a school where athletic futures bloom. Our volleyball team has been undefeated for 4 years in a row! The track teams are the bomb and the basketball team has a lot of talented players. The talented program also has good art and music curriculums. Drama there is also fancied by some students. Westdale always has high expectations for its students. Whether it's Ms. Brock or Mr. Couvillon running it, it will always be focused on academics. The only bad side towards Westdale is the rowdy students. Fights occur now and then and sometimes some people will go online posting threats to the students of Westdale.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Westdale Middle School
5650 Claycut Road, Baton Rouge, LA  70806
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 41 reviews. (225) 924-1308
Last modified Westdale Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top