Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bossier High School

Public | 8-12 | 643 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2014

I'm currently a junior here and is 1 of the best I've ever been enlisted in and that's saying something because I have a military family so I experience alot of high schools. Sure bossier high USE to be a bad schools but since 2008 it's taken a dramatic improvement. It's not hard to fit in and the teachers treat us like no other schools I've been to. Im very proud of Bossier High


Posted January 28, 2014

As a former student of Bossier High School, I am proud to articulate how lucky I am to have survived such a harsh environment. I graduated in 2003, and I still cannot seem to let go of the atrocities I experienced in high school. I would attend my first class where the assigned teacher would give an assignment, such as reading a chapter and leave the room for the remainder of the class period. Bullying and prejudice came mainly from the teachers and staff. With a few exceptions, the staff was impolite, obnoxious, and wholly uneducated. At a school performance, I was booed off stage while things were thrown at me. To my surprise, there were no repercussions. These are only a few examples of the many instances that I can remember. As far as education, I have learned how horribly lacking this school is since attending college where they supposedly care less about students. Because of the horrors of attending BHS, I have been studying secondary education. I plan to give back to students similar to myself that were discriminated against, bullied, and thrown aside by administration and faculty. If I lived in this school district, I would move heaven and earth to get my son out of it.


Posted December 14, 2008

Bossier High school is an awesome school, the teachers are well caring and the principal is great.. if i had a child i would want them to go there.. so u should consider it as well..


Posted December 10, 2008

This school is very friendly. The new principal 'Big Daddy' is an awesome man. He always has the time to help solve our problems. He damands alot from his teachers and listens to us. He has made this an awesome place to learn.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 18, 2008

As a parent of a BHS student I must say that I am doing my level best at this time to get her transfered to a different school. This school is not a good school, and they treat some students differently then others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2008

Im a former graduate class of 08.... the school has really improved over the years... the pricipal is not only your mentor but he also a friend.. you can go to him and ask him anything and we would most likely have the answer one way or another....
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2008

I just graduated from bossier and it is by far the best high school ever i would not have had such an amazing high school experience at any other school go Bearkats!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2008

I love this school i am attending this school and i am a junior there. so far my years there have been exciting. they have good discipline and great teachers. no matter what people say about the school i will always love this school. it has great people great teachers. and great principals.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2007

Parent involvement is non existant! There are almost no extra programs except JROTC that are supported by the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

it is not that safe thay need more teachers on duty in the bathrooms and field house
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 2, 2006

I just want to say that bossier high school was the best experience for me. My parents moved me around a lot so I went to several different schools during my high school years and I have always seemed to come right back to bossier high! And from my experience with the other schools bossier was the one that my peers judged me less and I felt like a fit in! The teachers were always there for me when I needed someone to talk to either about my home life or school life!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2006

This school is very disiplined and very education oriented. It has a great JROTC program, Band, and sports program.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 6, 2006

As a parent of a freshman at bhs, i have noticed that although the building are not as updated as some schools in the area, it absolutely does not damper the superior spirit this school exhibits. I have always been able to contact any teacher at practically anytime. If a message is left it is promptly returned. My son has extrodinary coaches and has learned to have the upmost respect for his teammates and others. Even though the other schools in the area have newer, more modern facilities, they will never compare with the class of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

I am currently a senior at Bossier high school and I must say I have never seen a school like this one. In my four years here I have never seen any racial or social problems nor any drug problems. Bossier has a low count of violence and its small enrollment makes you feel noticed and important. The teachers provide the infomation and they really teach it well. Bossier high is one of the best schools in the state in my opinion and any child would be privileged to attend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2005

Bossier High School, though having one of the smallest enrollments in Bossier parish, is sorely lacking. The school is in need of desperate upgrade to the buildings and facilities. As to management. Try and get in touch with the principal or a teacher- 99% of the time you'll get voice mail or a student that is ill trained in competently answering a phone. But don't expect a response, that is unless you call the school board in Benton and light a fire under them. Homework- mostly non existent. Uniforms- policy in place, but hardly enforced. Discipline- numerous fights and altercations among students. The list could go on and on. A mediocre school at best. But at least it's better than Shreveport high schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

I'm not trying to give a negative outlook on schools I have attended, I am only voicing what i feel could use improvement. at BHS, there is a lot of misbehavior that is well overlooked or not noticed. punishment is not very severe and doesn't make students feel threatened. the extracurricular activities are good as far as what is available and such. there are racial or popularity issues to me at this school, as the school teams and organizations are majority one race or one 'social group'. I think this could intimiate peers from wanting to participate. One teacher I had made me feel insecure, because I wasn't as good and already felt intimidated by other students. also, the block schedule is a little hectic. this is because everyday for each semester only attending the same 4 classes until the next semester for an hour and a half can be stressful/boring.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 11, 2004

My grandchild goes to Bossier High and it has made a wonderful impact on her and our lives. Shes on the danceteam and soccer team and its amazing how the teachers support the students the way they do. I have all faith in Bossier High and it's teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

I graduated from BHS in 1975. My brother in 1973. My nieces in 1995 and 2000. I have two children there now, future graduates from the classes of 2005 and 2008. I wouldn't have my children in any other school in Bossier Parish than at Bossier High School. It's small, the kids come from middle class families, we don't have the problem with fights and drugs they have at the other school...but BHS has a reputation for being ghetto anyway. It's not. It's great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

160 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

160 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
51%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
28%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
25%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
24%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
15%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 57% 45%
White 25% 47%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 68%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

777 Bearkat Drive
Bossier City, LA 71111
Phone: (318) 549-6680

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Rusheon Middle School
Bossier City, LA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT