Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Curtis Elementary School

Public | 4-5 | 440 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 3, 2013

The Instructional Aspect of the School is very well-regarded, and there are a host of extracurricular activities that students can participate in. However, Principal Pool and some of the instructors have proven to be Unfair, Dishonest, and Unprofessional. The Principal has spoken negatively of a Parent in the Presence of both the Student and the Parent. As well, some of the Instructors have been discriminatory in their interactions with particular students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

EXCELLENT Principal!!! Great, dedicated teachers, too! Lots of clubs to make kids get involved and feel important. Would DEFINITELY recommend!


Posted May 23, 2012

Curtis Is a great school! We are a millitary family, and had concerns about the schools, however Curtis has proven to be a good school, with great teachers and leadership!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2010

Curtis Elementary is a great school. Both of my children went to school there and so did my husband. I am so greatful to be a part of such an awesome school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

We moved to South Bossier last summer. Prior to this our child had attended a well known private Christian school in Shreveport since Kindergarten. Everyone thought that she'd be so far ahead in public schools since she was a straight A student for 4 years...but that was not the case at Curtis. They offer a much more in-depth curriculum, a change we were and still are very excited about. Additionally, our daughter was well prepared by her 4th grade teachers for the LEAP exam. Lastly, we were pleasantly surprised that Curtis does a far better job than the private school did regarding leadership, values and opportunities for ALL their students, athletes or otherwise. Needless to say, we are quite pleased with the principal, teachers, staff & parental involvement at Curtis. Academics are of utmost importance at Curtis. It's a great school & we highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2008

My daughter has always attended Texas schools and I was very concerned about Louisiana schools. Curtis has been a challenge for my daughter and this is for the good every night we have to study for two hours for all of her subjects. The down side to Lousiana schools is the grading scale compared to that of college or Texas grade schools it is set way to high. The school is very small and I don't feel they have enough resources such as the library but overall am pleased with her teacher and the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

My child is attending Curtis for her 5th grade year! Her teachers are terrific and knowledgeable. They work with the parent to educate the child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2007

My son started fourth grade at Curtis this year and I was very nervous when school started. However, his experience has been wonderful and he loves it. His teacher is very positive and knowledgeable. The administration is caring and involved. We love Curtis!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

The communication level at this school leaves much to be desired,I would have to call 3 or more times and send emails in order to get any help.The principal and some of the teachers are very good about making broken promises.If you want to feel that you and your child are important do not send them to this school.I felt like I was the bad guy and all I was trying to do was get my child the help she so desperately needed.My child even failed the LEAP test and the school was aware before the test that she was having some issues and they did nothing in order to help her get ready.I feel that there's no accountability here at all.We are selling our home and moving back to Texas, the school system there are a lot better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2007

My second child is currently attending Curtis Elementary School. The new prinicpal is doing a great job! My child has teachers who are involved and caring. I think we have the best school in Bossier. This is the third school we have attended here in Louisiana, coming from California Private schools. I am thrilled with the education and built a home in this area for the schools. I think it would be great to have some additional activities. I have found the staff receptive to questions and concerns. Great School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2007

Well I am a parent who tried like CRAZY to be involved in my son's education while going to Curtis for two years (2004-2006). The teachers and faculty, made it very hard. I don't want to knock them too hard, here, my son has been to worse schools and they did teach well, but I was very disappointed and constantly frustrated. The teachers were so busy trying to get those high scores, and doing whatever else they did, they didn't have time to work with me or my child. I was continually promised that he'd see the school counselor...he never did. Calls were seldom returned until AFTER my second or third call. My son was a good kid, just distracting because of his aspergers syndrome. They also did nothing about the bullying he endured almost daily.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2005

My child attended before the new principal. I think it will be much better now. But the leadership and the teachers preparing the 4th graders for LEAP had alot to be desired. The school was ran like a prison camp. Kids had to eat in silence almost every day. I always wondered if the teachers ate in silence in the teachers lounge!! I truely believe Curtis in on the way up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

This is a very good school. The teachers are very hard working professionals and it shows that they are making a big difference...test scores are very high and teachers are constantly working after school to help with after school programs and grants to acquire technology for the students. Parents do not recognize the contributions the teachers make to add value to the school. There is another problem with the parents. They are under-involved. They want their childeren to have good grades, but they are so busy in their own lives that they do not have the time to help their children at home. What they do is call and complain all the time. This is their motto,' Give them an A and let them play.'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 18, 2004

This school has great test scores but the teachers and principal lies don't trust them they are very rude and tell children they are stupid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2004

Curtis is a great school that my son is attending. The 1 thing I do not agree with is the cheerleader active. My other was a cheerleader for curtis. I was dissapointed that they olny activy sports wise is the cheerleader activy. There should be a football or basketball team. Even if they olny play other teams at the school. It teaches the kids to get along with teammates. And cheerleaders get to cheer at games. It also perpars them for Elm Grove's sports teams.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
78%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 64% 47%
Black 18% 45%
Two or more races 9% 1%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5600 Barksdale Boulevard
Bossier City, LA 71112
Phone: (318) 549-6450

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Joseph School
Shreveport, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT