Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Waller Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 581 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

36 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2014

We had two children who attended Waller Elementary up until the fourth grade. There are a couple of teachers who go out of their way to help the students but are hampered because of ridiculous city and state regulations. Do not be fooled by some of the "scripted comments" on here from teachers because this school did not do anything to help my children. We had the same issues with the "prison-like" environment and we would get multiple updates from our children daily about how a child said or did this to them or to a teacher and nothing happened. I don't know how many times my children came home hungry because of the lack of time they receive during their lunch period!? We stopped letting them get lunch because we kept getting over charged and since the kids weren't able to sit down and eat, we started packing the kids lunch every day and would re-use any perishable item the next day. My only other distaste for this school is their lack of focus on education. If you have never heard of the LEAP test, or Common Core, please take a few minutes to research it. There should be no reason why the students should focus almost all of their school year focusing on a test.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2013

this is a awesome school!!!!!!!!!!! the pre-k program is sooo much fun!!!! the kids really enjoy everything that they do!!! there is soo much progress from the beginning of the year to the end of it!!! they learn how to get along with others, follow the rules, letters, numbers, colors, etc!!!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2013

The teachers and staff go above and beyond to help your child! My son has dyslexia and they are just wonderful in helping him learn and do the best he can.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Waller works hard to meet the needs of all students. We try to promote a happy, positive environment.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Waller is a school with a diverse population & passionate teachers! It is a great place for children to learn & grow!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Waller is a GREAT school. I have read the comments and I can't believe how some people has put their issues into words. They have Great Teachers at the school. They are caring and over sincere about the children. Parents need to give the teachers standing applause because they make sure they're dress, fed and beside their education gets plenty of hugs before they leave from the school each day.


Posted August 22, 2013

The teachers, faculty and staff at Waller are dedicated professionals who word hard everyday to help students succeed. The school is a positive place where standards are high and children are valued.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Waller Elementary School is a great school with AMAZING teachers. They are always friendly and helpful and they do everything they can to promote a family environment for the students. Three of my children attended Waller and they were well-prepared academically and they also have many wonderful memories of the time they spent as a Wildcat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Waller Elementary is an excellent school full of hard-working teachers who go above and beyond to meet the needs of the students.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 22, 2013

Great improvements under the new administration! Faculty and teachers are really there for my kids. School is newly painted, updated, and welcoming! We love Waller! Needs more parent involvement though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2013

Waller is a school filled with compassionate teachers who work tirelessly to help their students achieve the goals set forth by Bossier Parish and the state of Louisiana. I am proud to have taught here for many years and would not want to be anywhere else. Waller Wildcats, whether teachers or students, are the best!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 1, 2013

Waller Elementary is underrated. This is my second year as a teacher here and I have been really impressed with the faculty, administration, students, parents, and community support. The administration. teachers, and support staff work hard to give the students a safe learning environment where the students can succeed. Parent and community support help make this school even better. The children are excited to be here and really make Waller outstanding! Nothing but great things happening here at Waller!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 24, 2012

I am a parent of a Waller wild cat. When I first found out we move on base and my son HAS to attend Waller my stomach hurt after reading OLD ratings and hearing storys from people online. I now have to totally disagree. THE SCHOOL IS GREAT. Yes the building might be a little older, but the teachers and stuff are great! With a great brand new principal and a PTO I have absolutly nothing bad to say. I believe that parent involvement plays also a big roll. The teachers and stuff sure do all they can do to make it a good learning experiance for our kids. I RECOMEND this school and I really don't know where the whole "it's a bad school" speach comes from! Hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2012

The teachers are awesome at this school, and really give it all they've got to teach kids to learn. It is true that they do not have an "official" recess time, but this is due to their dedication to Reading & Math. The new principal is FANTASTIC (the one who just retired was amazing as well) and the Wildcats are lucky to have such a dedicated educator. They expect a lot out of the kids behavior-wise, which is great. The pride is school wide, and the kids love it. I agree about the prior statements about the coach and the building being a little older, but the teachers deal beautifully with what they have!


Posted July 17, 2011

Miss Rosette & Mr O'nunian are just about the only saving graces this school has. The staff uses a prison protocol as a disciplinary system (which is illegal & discriminatory), and the school has no recess for 2nd-5th grades, which is unnaturally restrictive for the children (& unhealthy for them) & burdensome for the teachers (behavioral troubles in class). With few exceptions, this school is a disaster for kids and parents alike. My daughter, a loving, straight A student, was coming home bawling, and would lose it trying to tell me how her day was. Discovering that coach Plaza was teaching the kids how to act in prison by playing "jail tag" in PE, I knew we had to leave in 2011. Our experience at this school was a nightmare, infringed on my rights as a parent, my daughter's rights as a student, and put a very dark cloud over my daughter's opinion of schooling that lasts to this day!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2010

My child loves Waller! We have attended Waller for 2 years and these have been the happiest years for my daughter. The school has tons of fun activities for the children. She loves Sock Hop - dancing during P.E. as well as earning her Cat Cash and 'buying' toys from their counselor with it. The teachers are all dedicated & work extremely hard. The school keeps me updated with grades and emails on the computer and it's always easy to reach her teachers. It's a great school with great leaders. I appreciate all that they do with so many kids. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2009

School is very outdated, and dark. It in not an enviornment conducive for learning. There are some really great teachers, expecially the teacher in the gasp room, but other then her, the school needs an overhaul.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 5, 2008

We are a military family and we moved here in 2001 and all 3 of my kids attended waller. My daughter will be going into the 3rd grade this coming school year. I love Waller Elem School and that has been the best thing about Bossier City and next school year we are moving back to Florida and I'm really going the miss Waller! Go Wildcats!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2008

My oldest son attended Waller and now is at Rucheon. I see a trend in the schools here and do not like it. The leadership seems to be one minded and tend not to agree or see issues the same as my husband and I. Now I have a child starting pre-school at Waller this coming school year. I am not looking forward to dealing with the office personnel. I plan to join the PTO because things don't seem right, expecially in the fundraising area. How can there possibly be no aircondintioning in buses and some of the schools rooms? We are in the South people!!!! I will not support any fundraising unless it is to fix this priority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

There are major bullying problems that get ignored by staff and principal alike at this school. My kindergartner was getting beat up on the playground daily for weeks, and it was being ignored by the teachers. It took me yelling at the principal about what kind of school she was running before anything was done. However, one of the kids involved did get expelled (yes, a kindergartner). This should tell you what kind of school this is. My son is now in 3rd grade and there are still bullies that teachers are ignoring. If you have the money for a private school, RUN, do not walk, and enroll your child there. Especially if you have a gifted child. My son is very smart, unfortunately, this school does not challange him enough and he gets bored in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
46%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 45%
White 32% 49%
Hispanic 13% 3%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 76%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Janice Hollis
Fax number
  • (318) 549-6863

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1130 Patricia Drive
Bossier City, LA 71112
Phone: (318) 549-6850

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT