Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
30 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 39 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Stockwell Place Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Not only do the test scores prove this, but also the smiles on the students faces. How the students feel about coming to school and learning are much more important than test scores. There are always going to be a few who struggle and want to be anywhere else but at school, but the majority of the kiddos love the school. THIS is the true reflection of how the teachers are.

Stockwell Place Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
In some grades, the amount of homework is just right. In come grades, the amount could be lessened. My children have had some much needed homework that could have had the amount of problems reduced.


Stockwell Place Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Yes! The teachers recognize that some students struggle with academics and are great at encouraging them to do their very best. Assignments are rigorous.

Stockwell Place Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Respect is expected not only from students to teachers, but also the reverse. Teachers do a great job of cultivating a community of mutual respect.

Stockwell Place Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
Each year, classrooms adopt a child from the Daraja choir whom they are able to meet in the Spring. These adopted students communicate with the Stockwell students throughout the year helping to develop caring relationships across the globe. The school also has occasional jeans days to support local charities. Each month, a key word is stressed throughout the school. The word is defined, spoken in the correct context, incorporated into classroom activities/studies, and more. These words are character words, meaning they are chosen to improve character.


Stockwell Place Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
TROT is the school's motto. "Treat others respectfully, Reach for excellence, Obey safety guidelines, and Take Responsibility" are said each morning by students during the announcements. They even end with a "You are Awesome!" Teachers refer to these when praising and redirecting students.

Stockwell Place Elementary School 5

Posted July 21, 2016
- a parent
I have had 2 children attend Stockwell Place Elementary. One is now in high school and the other is entering 5th grade this Fall. I would highly recommend this school! I have had the pleasure of serving on the PTO for many years, and I still serve. I cannot say enough about the wonderful family members who volunteer at Stockwell! They are the backbone of the many wonderful events offered to students, staff, and families each year. After serving as a substitute teacher for 2 years in almost every class at the school, I can say with confidence that the teachers are well organized and prepared to offer students an outstanding, cutting-edge education. In order for this to continue, funds are needed. Yes, the school asks for money at times. Money keeps classrooms supplied with necessary items, including current technology and assistive technology for those who require it. Money purchases copy paper, field day ribbons, flowers for staff who lose loved ones, class shirts for students who cannot afford them, play ground equipment, Chrome books, smart boards, current textbooks, buses for community learning events, start-up funds for much anticipated snack days and santa store, breakfast for students during state testing, lodging and admission for teachers who attend continuing education conventions, office supplies, ink for teacher/student copies, donations to the community, and the list goes on. This school is run by caring and compassionate leaders who have the students' best interest in mind when making every decision. At times, they need to tweak policies in order to keep the students safe. This includes changing up car line/after school pick up procedures after school has already begun, or calling off after school activities due to bad weather, and even doing away with rolling backpacks so students will stop tripping/getting run over. Many times misunderstandings (that lead to parental frustrations) could be cleared up with a quick phone call to the school office. This school is one of the best in the parish! Don't let a negative review keep you and your sweet child(ren) from becoming part of the Stockwell family.

Stockwell Place Elementary School 5

Posted April 12, 2015
- a parent
We love Stockwell! My daughter looks forward to going to school there everyday. All of her teachers have been wonderful and the principal is very sweet. No complaints :)


Stockwell Place Elementary School 3

Posted February 19, 2015
- a parent
Great school with courteous staff. I think the school could do for a bit of diversity in employing it's teaching staff. I'm very surprised the school board hasn't looked into this, but look where we are. Is it just me or do all the teachers seem as if they are going for the part of Ms. Squirrel from the movie Bad Teacher? On a serious note the school has taught my two children lots of things and I'm very thankful for that.

Stockwell Place Elementary School 2

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
If you like chaos and lack of organization, then Stockwell Place is the school for you. It is non-stop changing of car-pool procedures, uniform rules, and pretty much any "standard" procedure that is documented in the handbook. Apparently when they ask you to review the handbook, they only mean it for a two week period because that is about how long it took before "new" procedures were implemented. And do they seriously think that announcing things on the intercom for the kids to hear is going to get relayed correctly to the parents if at all. After school clubs are routinely cancelled with no notification sent to parents in advance. I find out when they are calling me to come get my kids. The teachers are pretty average, we have not had a single one I would think of as outstanding and I have never once seen the principal when I've visited the school. I think she spends all of her time making up new rules just to confuse the hell out of everyone. This place just sucks.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Stockwell Place Elementary School
5801 Shed Road, Bossier City, LA  71111
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 39 reviews. (318) 549-5820
Last modified Stockwell Place Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top