Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public
Bush, LA
Students enrolled: 571

4 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fifth Ward Junior High School 4

Posted January 18, 2012
- a parent
My kindergartner just transferred to 5th Ward from a not-so-pleasant experience in the Jefferson Parish School System. Her teacher (can i 'name drop'? Mrs.Cowell. Wish I COULD go back2 Kindergarten & have Her as my teacher!) & the A+ Staff at 5th Ward helped her transition into this school seamlessly! We were greeted with Open Arms&happy faces! I volunteered during a schoolwide Holiday event & witnessed the sense of togetherness among the staff, students& their parents! :) When children feel safe & welcome in their learning environment, acedemic success is happily obtainable- I've witnessed this firsthand. Happy, wholehearted stamp of approval & THANK YOU, from this Kinder-mommah to all FWJH personnel! Looking forward to watching my daughter continue to flourish at this school& soar like a true Falcon!

Fifth Ward Junior High School 4

Posted January 09, 2012
- a parent
I have been so pleased with Fifth Ward Junior High this year that I had to write this review. I was considering pulling my kids from this school, but I decided that I would give the new principal a chance-- and boy I am I glad I did! Mr. O has not only upheld his promise to be fair and consistent with the discipline side of the school, but he has brought back Falcon pride in the students and faculty. This school is challenging and has good teachers, but the new principal has caused teachers to step up their lessons because he is consistently observing their classes and holding them accountable. My daughter tells me that she sees him in classes and at lunch duty, and this makes me feel good because the kids see him as a visible and approachable presence. Fifth Ward will only get better with the new administration and I am very happy with the school leadership, teachers , and new and improving physical plant.


Fifth Ward Junior High School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a parent
FWJH Is one of the best schools in bush. My daughter has been there since the pre-k program they have there and she loves this school. The teachers are wonderful and you can tell they care about the students and their education. Keep up the good work!!! The remodeling of the school looks really good.

Fifth Ward Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 06, 2009
- a parent
FWJH is the best school in St. Tammany, My husband and I are so pleased with the administration and educators employed at FWJH. The staff is always helpful and very encouraging to both the parents and students. All of the teachers that I have come in contact with are fabulous. Keep up the great work.

Fifth Ward Junior High School 5

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
5 of my children and now 2 of my grandchildren have gone to this excellent school. My 21 yr old son still visits this favorite teachers!!! My daughter is finishing her PHD in Physics and Chemistery. She would not be able to do this if she wouldn't have had such a great start at this wonderful school!!


Fifth Ward Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
our daughter started here educational career at fifth ward and i haven't been more pleased with the results we've seen . we believe if you start out having a close relationship with your child's school , then you can expect a good outcome .

Fifth Ward Junior High School 1

Posted October 01, 2008
- a parent
This school is slipping badly! I have sent 4 children there and it continues to decline. You have no support, there is an 11 year loss record for athletics that the coaches find amusing. Their test scores are tanking, and my last 3 children beg me not to send them to school. They are unwilling to seek assisstance from any outside sources to improve their curriculum. All in all, I wish I could afford private school tuition for my children. The only people happy with this school are below the poverty level, and probably only reached 6th grade, and they don't expect much except a meal.The food in the cafeteria is decent.

Fifth Ward Junior High School 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Fifth Ward Junior High School 0
no rating

Posted August 15, 2008
- a parent
Fifth Ward is a most excellent school for our children. Everyone there, from custodian, cafeteria, office, and staff are most caring and helpful. My children went there from Pre-K to 8th grade and have prospered and grown wonderfully.

Fifth Ward Junior High School 5

Posted May 25, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fifth Ward Junior High School
81419 Louisiana 21, Bush, LA  70431
(985) 886-3273
Last modified Fifth Ward Junior High School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fifth Ward Junior High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top