Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Lakeview High School

Public | PK, 7-12 | 298 students

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 12, 2013

I currently attend Lakeview Highschool where Mr.Hymes is the principle. Lakeview is a very good school. Mr.Hymes has done alot to improve it. Yes, we have our low points, every school does. The teachers are absoulutely amazing. Are they happy and giddy all the time? No. But, they do care for you like thier own children. All they ask is for you to do what you need or are suppossed to do. If you do what they ask, you get by just fine. When kids act up, they get in trouble and there's not a thing wrong with that.. I am very proud to say i am a student who attends lakeview highschool. Im proud to saytain G we have the best AFJROTC program as well as FFA.. Yes, our sports play a big role in our school, but reguardlessof winning or losing, you still have to maintain a certain GPA to be a part of that. Anyone who has anything negative to say about Lakeview is simply a Gator Hater.. #GatorNation Babby!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 16, 2008

I am currently attending Lakeview High School. While I will agree with most, Lakeview has its ups and downs. What school doesn't. The food is not good, but I still give the lunch ladies credit for their hard work. Although Mr. Sampson is new he is doing the best he can, and might I add he has done better than any other principal has at Lakeview. The teachers care to a point, but like others look forward to the end of the day. I give credit to Mrs. Graham, Mrs. Fontenot, and Mr. Verret. I completely respect JROTC. The program has gave me a sence of leadership and responsibility and I would like to thank Srgt. Minchew and Major Kellogg. So Lakeview has a little bad and a little good wouldn't you call that normal for an American High School. Especially given its location. They work hard also.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 27, 2008

ok so heres the real deal on lakeview, alot of the kids are really good, but the few that behave bad, take away from the good students, overall education isnt the best it could be, but on the bright side, the teachers and faculty are the best!! they really care about you and not just education wise, and alot of the kids dont get that care anywhere else but school. the best programs by far are FFA and ROTC. the school is really a big family, to me anyway, i love it!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 31, 2008

ok first let me tell yaw something. lakeview is a great school. ive gone there for 3 years now and i love it. all the teachers are nice, and they actually teach... the best teaher is ms. fernbaugh(of course), and the aids and subs are really cool too. i a happy to say i go to lakeview
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2007

I think that Lakeview high school is very nice
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2007

I think Lakeview is an ok school. There is alot of pros and cons about it. The teachers are not so good, but there are a few that actually care about you. Including Ms. Ponder & Mrs. Fontenot. There isnt very many activities there...other then the typical cheerleading, football, and basketball. Then there are some clubs that arent so bad as well. But overall, its not a very strict school, the enforcement wasnt very strong. I wouldnt recomend Lakeview to any student...and thats all i have to say.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 23, 2007

I think Lakeview is a very good school. I graduated from there 6 years ago. I know when I was there I was taught some good things that did prepare me for college. High school and college I might say is different. But I really enjoyed JROTC.So it is up to each individual on what they think about Lakeview. C/O 2001
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 6, 2007

All right... Let me tell you about Lakeview. First off when you get in trouble you get beat by a paddle three times. Teachers could care less about you they get paid either way besides Ms. Ponder.(I love you) nothing they taught me help in college. Even though there sports are great that's all they seemed to care about and that's only if you win. There are so many fights and racism going on there you would always dread going to school. So don't let any of the other comments miss lead you cause they are wrong!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 9, 2007

I think Lakeview is a great school i also am a student there and i think the teachers are fair to all students regardless if they play sports or not. Lakeview has many extracorricular activities for students and great teachers who run the activities. Lakeview gets a lot of bad publicity because people only hear about the negative things, they need to take the time to see the positive as well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I think that lakeview is a great school. The grades have really improved there and they offer plenty of things to do. The sports teams are really good this year and the teachers are very good. The only bad thing at Lakeview is the uniforms. Nobody should have to wear them.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 7, 2004

I think that Lakeview is a wonderful school. Someone thinks that a sports player can get away with anything, I am here to say that is not true. I am in two diffrent sports and the rules go for each and every student! Lakeview proved that during football season when we lost one of our players for disrespect. Lakeview is a fair school and I am very proud to say that I am a student here. I have seen athletes sent to the office for not having a pencil, just like normal students. I know how Lakeview truely is because I actually am a student here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 20, 2004

some teachers and office people are not all they seem to be.Some get rude with the children if they dont like you then its hard. I have seen the soprts players get away with things that a non sports player does. now if there are rules then it should be the same..say a teacher is drinking soda in class with students around and they are not allowed to . uniforms,I think should go for everyone ( teachers,students,everyone) if any.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
41%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

67 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
54%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
43%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
38%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
20%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
9%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 47%
Black 47% 45%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 70%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Clinton Sampson

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 200
Campti, LA 71411
Website: Click here
Phone: (318) 476-3360

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT