Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Northlake Christian School

Private | PK-12 | 854 students

We are best known for commitment to Christian Education.

 
 

Living in Covington

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $194,100. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 12 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 22, 2014

I would not recommend sending your child to this school, I am still in shock with the way the staff handles themselves. I have never seen school staff feel the need to gossip about children and treat kids so unfair. If a family donates financially or with gifts to the school their child is allowed to have many offenses with minimal punishment. But if you are just a regular family paying your tuition and do not play into the political games be prepared for unjust punishment. I have stories for days of the terrible things I have witnessed this school put children through. The men in charge at this school are purposely attempting to destroy the self esteem of young kids. I hope you all read this and maybe find it in your heart to STOP treating people this way and learn to treat people with respect. Yes you are managing children, but children should be treated with respect. I hope this saves future parents and children from having to deal with the heartache and disarray you have tried to cause our family, yes you read correctly you tried but did not succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

Northlake Christian School is a great school. We recently moved from overseas and the school officials ensured that the admission process was painless; they were able to work with me from another continent! They also worked with us on transcribing records from British to American system. Upon our arrival, the leadership was so welcoming and supportive; went out of their way to ensure our kids settle in quickly. My kids love the school from the very first moment and every day, their overall assessment is - awesome! Finding a great school where there are core values and kids respect one another, I was told (before relocating to the US) can be very tasking but NCS made our experience a wonderful one for the kids and us the parents. Parents involvement is also very excellent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

NCS is a wonderful school. Any school run by humans will have its downfalls, but the heart of NCS is good. The teachers love their students and love the Lord. They want what's best for them in the end. The staff and faculty are very unified and set a common goal for the good of the students. They work long days to do whatever needs to be done to help nurture the mind and spirit of their students. The "teacher" that posted before obviously didn't work on staff the year they posted that comment or they would have known better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 4, 2012

We've been associated with NCS since 2007. Our two children are now in college and performing quite well. We are very excited about the opportunities afforded them in college and attribute a large part of those opportunities to their experiences at NCS. We have found that the interaction that they, our children, and we were blessed to have with leadership and other parents at the school was more than we had hoped. Friends of ours just went there for a tour with the head of school, who introduced them to the principal, and then walked them through the building and classrooms. The school is experiencing record growth and the physical appearance (building, grounds) improves each year. Our friends comment echoed our experience. You can truly feel a calming presence of God when you drive on the campus that is only reaffirmed as you walk and observe the cleanliness and orderliness of the buildings and classrooms. Your children might get a better education from homeschooling, but they would miss out on the experience of Northlake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2012

Notice the dates on the reviews. Do you really believe that, in the middle of summer, this many people spontaneously decided to review the school? No, yet another example of the manipulative practices at this school. The integrity of many good teachers is questioned when the board employs headmaster that lacks integrity and looks for short cuts.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 25, 2012

A truly excellent school. Our children have been there since preschool and have now been there over four years. They have always had wonderful, caring, and skilled teachers who know how to get the most out of them academically. In addition to the excellent academic record, NCS has an outstanding athletics department that we look forward to seeing our kids involved in when they get old enough. St. Tammany Parish has great schools (public and parochial) to choose from, but I highly recommend this Christ-centered school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 25, 2012

Sending my kids to Northlake Christian School is one of the best parenting choices we've ever made. Both of our boys started there in preschool. The oldest graduated in 2007, the youngest in 2010. They had ACT scores in the 30's. The oldest graduated from LSU in Mass Communications with a very strong GPA. The younger one is a sophomore there in Finance and doing well. My daughter has been there since Kindergarten, is going into 10th grade and doing very well also. So their academic success speaks for itself. However, their Christian character is what pleases me the most because that is the most important foundation to have in this life for success. And we know that's what pleases God the most. The school is like a big family. We all love and pray for each other and help each other when in need. They helped me when my oldest son broke his leg in preschool and they helped me when my daughter's lung collapsed last year. They are the best school family in the world. We love our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

If you're looking for a Christian school to nurture and guide your child, you've found it. Solid academic instruction coupled with sincere moral training is what you'll find at Northlake. Is it a perfect school with perfect kids, of course not. But, the majority of students and adults are there for all the right reasons.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Our son started going to Northlake in preschool. Our plan was just to finish out preschool and go to public school. However, our son loved it so much and would come home telling us what he learned. I love it when out of the blue he mentions something about Jesus or starts singing a song he learned at school. So, we decided to keep him there. Our daughter is also in the daycare at Northlake. The teachers and faculty are awesome. They all know my kids by there name even if they aren't in there class. Plus, they all seem sincerely caring and kind. Best of all, they are all Christians. I feel very secure in knowing my kids are at Northlake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Northlake Christian School has been such a blessing from God to our family. We moved to the Northshore after Hurricane Katrina and was looking for a place to nuture and teach our two bright children. We initially put them in the public "gifted" program but moved them to NCS because there was little nuture, less discipline and a lot of things that young kids shouldn't have to deal with. Northlake has been a safe, Christ-centered environment that loves on my kids AND gives them correction when appropriate. We gained partners at school to reinforce what we taught them at home and church. The academics have been excellent and continue to improve. Our kids have taken multiple Honors classes and done well. Both also participate in athletics and love it. We would recommend NCS to anyone who wants their children to be well rounded in mind, body and spirit!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Great school! The teachers truly love our kids and want them to develop in their relationships with others and with Christ. Smartest move we ever made, I would recommend it highly to anyone!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

We have been a family at NCS for 18 years now. I am so thankful that we found NCS. The teaching staff are encouraging and caring. The administration are fabulous. The coaching staff are awesome. It truly is a family atmosphere. And most importantly it is Christ centered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Our two children have just completed their first year at Northlake Christian and we could not be more satisfied, not one complaint! The faculty and staff have set a positive influence on our children's lives from day one.The teachers and staff moniter the children's progress on an individual basis and communicate with parents regularly. The older students that have been at Northlake Christian for several years are a reflection of the wonderful job being done at our school, they look after the younger kids as if it is their own siblings. This school is a wonderful place for our children to learn and grow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

Northlake provides great opportunities for kids to grow academically, athletically and spiritually. They really offer the complete package with high academic standards in a Christian setting. A great school with a great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2012

Great School. The teachers genuinely care about the the students. The school does its very best to make sure its students will succeed. Great school all around!


Posted November 27, 2011

My family has been affiliated with Northlake Christian for the last year - in preschool, elementary and secondary. We have had an incredible experience. Every teacher has loved our children, challenged them academically, and the teachers focus on Jesus first. I cannot recommend Northlake highly enough and I do!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2011

The school is based completely off of politics not Christianity. Although the Bible curriculum is very informative, some of the teachers have different views than the students. This makes them seem judgmental with different religions and the personal lives of the students and families. Also the disciplinary actions go beyond what is stated in the rule book. For example: In the rulebook it states that the boys must have a certain hair length, but what is unsaid is the fact that after the hair is the right length, only certain hair styles are aloud. Although the teachers and administrators are aloud to spike their hair, the students aren't aloud to?


Posted January 1, 2011

Northlake is constantly changing...and in my opinion has turned for the worse. Ever since the former head master left, the school has consistently made bad decisions. This school is built on politics more than on giving kids the spiritual guidance they need. Also, I think the employment at NCS is biased, especially in the sports program. The spiritual aspect of the school is falling. When Northlake falls, it will begin spiritually. I believe the downwards tumble of this school has started. The school will continue to fall unless the administration, staff, and faculty changes. You should question more about Northlake instead of falling into the stereotypical "Northlake is the best". Question yourselves, research, and really do some digging. There is an ample amount Northlake Covers up. More than any public school.


Posted November 12, 2010

It's unfortunate some families have a bad opinion of NCS. Our son attended NCS from 6-12 and we were very pleased with the school. As a dad I was fortunate to be able to assist one day a week and can personally vouch for the wonderful staff of high quality teachers who though underpaid considered their job a calling. And they do have a great athletic program that includes football (undefeated district champions), volleyball (state champions), baseball (back to back class 1A & 2A state champions), track, cross-country, softball, basketball, wrestling, weightlifting, swimming and some I've missed. But don't just take the word of people here. Visit NCS and see what it's about. It's a growing school with great facilities. And with NCS your child is somebody, not a body adrift in a large school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

This school is amazing!!!!!!!!!! It is the best school academically and has great sports programs like football, soccer, basketball, volleyball, and baseball!!! They have amazing teachers that love their students and are willing to do anything for them!!! Everyone should go here!!! I promise it will be the time of your life!!!!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 47%
Black 4% 45%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school St. Tammany Public Schools
Lake Castle
Kehoe France
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Louisiana State University
University of Southern Miss
Southeastern Louisiana University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 3:10 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Head of School - Dr. Joey Shorter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
Fax number
  • (985) 892-2632

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Core knowledge
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • powerlifting
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
150
Students typically come from these schools
St. Tammany Public Schools
Lake Castle
Kehoe France

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$5000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Louisiana State University
University of Southern Miss
Southeastern Louisiana University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

70104 Wolverine Dr
Covington, LA 70433
Website: Click here
Phone: (985) 635-0400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





St. Peter School
Covington, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT