Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

William Pitcher Junior High School

Public | 7-8 | 330 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 28, 2013

William Pitcher Jr. High is the best school in the whole wide world. I loved it! I attended this school 7th and 8th grade. I wish I could go back. I miss it more and more everyday. I miss everything about it. Mainly the teachers; you could go to them for anything. They were a friend, teacher, and someone you looked up too. I miss the closeness of things. Everyone knew everyone and head each other's back. It helped getting activie in the school. I did volleyball, track, cheer, and softball. I was in NJHS and student counsil. People might have negitive stuff to say, but Pitcher is what you make it. You meet and get close to some really good people that stay with you through high school. Pitcher prepares you for high school as well. Pitcher Proud isn't just a slogan, it is who we are and what we belive in. It's not just a marroon shirt ans kakie shorts its a uniform that I proudly wore the best two years of my life. I will never forget cheering for the football players and basketball players, seeing all the fans cheer, seeing the moms in the crowd, listening to the proud band. Pitcher is in my heart forever.


Posted May 17, 2010

William Pitcher lacks many things. I have called numerous times and spoke to the principal about the lack of educational standards. I was told this matter would be handled immediately. Needless to say, the matter was not only NOT handled, it was swept under the rug. Teachers change grades to have the school rating higher than what it really is. Also, due dates are never taken seriously. The teachers seem to reward students for social interaction more than academic excellence. This school is a disgrace. I cannot wait until my children go to high school; although they will be very ill-prepared for 9-12 grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2009

Willy P is a good skool I liked going there. It was a fun skool & the teachers are really cool. The teachers there understand that you don't have to yell at the students for them to listen. You are suppose to be able to go to your teacher for anything. At PJH the teachers are there for you they are your teacher, parent, & friend. It's not a perfect skool we had our hard times but what skool doen't. I'm just really glad that I had the chance to go there and I really miss it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 23, 2009

This school is the most horrible school ever. The my kids teachers are horrible,They dont help her,and she doesnt learn anything. I called about the there teacher and they didnt do anything about it. I am very dissipointed with this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Pitcher Junior High is an awesome place to go to school at. I go to PJH and I am proud of my school. The parent envolment is very good. We have parents help with fundraisers, and other activities. PJH is also a safe learning environment for students and teachers. The extracurricular acticities include volleyball, basketball, cheerleading (which I am involved in) football, dance team, and many more. We have a foreign language class (spanish, physical ed., art, piano, chorus, and band. The students at PJH are smart, nice, and friendly. The teachers stay after school and take their wn time to make sure that the students are ready for tests, an dto help with homework. Pitcher is an excellent school and environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 11, 2005

This is an incredible school! The teachers truly care about the students. There are many extracurricular activities and in-school activities to be a part of. The whole faculty from administration to custodians is helpful.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 49%
Black 33% 45%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

415 South Jefferson Avenue
Covington, LA 70433
Phone: (985) 892-3021

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Peter School
Covington, LA


St. Pauls School
Covington, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT