Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Delhi Charter School

Charter | K-12 | 415 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Delhi

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $72,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $497.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2010

EXCELLENT,FIVE STARS ARE NOT ENOUGH.CARING,EDUCATED,QUALIFIED...THE STAFF AT THIS SCHOOL GOES ABOVE AND BEYOND,THE HEADMASTER IS EXCELLENT AND PUTS IN THE TIME AND HARD WORK.THIS SCHOOL IS A RARE JEWEL IN NORTH LOUISIANA.I HAVE FOUR CHILDREN AT DCS AND PRIDE DOESNT EVEN COME CLOSE TO THE WAY I FEEL...ITS A GODSEND TO BE ABLE TO SEE MY KIDS OFF TO SCHOOL AND KNOW THAT THEY WILL BE IN A CARING QUALIFIED ENVIRONMENT..MY CHILDREN WILL GET A EXCELLENT EDUCATION AND GOOD FOUNDATION TO BUILD ON FOR COLLEGE,THANK YOU DCS!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Delhi Charter is a great school. Great teachers great atmosphere. I feel that my child is safe when she goes to school. I have never seen a school with this much parental involvement. I feel that the discipline plan in the school has helped learning a great deal. The kids can actually sit in a classroom and learn without being constantly interrupted by students misbehaving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

I have 4 children that attend delhi charter school and we could not be happier. Mr. G and his staff are great with the kids. My children love going to school. My kids love school. Imagine that. The teachers are beyond what you could imagine. My 2 10th graders love mrs. Booth and look forward to everyday in her class. Go gators. Dcs is the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2007

Delhi Charter is a great school. I have 3 children attending Delhi Charter,I love the fact that they welcome the parents to be involved with your children's school work and activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2005

My two children have been attending the DCS from day one. It has been an answered prayer. Not only do I feel at peace when my children leave me in the morning but, they LOVE to go to school. They are definately receiving a great education. The teachers and staff go far beyond what they have to because of the caring and love they have for our kids. THANKS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2005

I feel that this school is the best thing that has happened to my children. I have two sons that go to Delhi Charter and I could not be happier than what I am with the teachres and enviorment of Delhi Charter. I also want to say thank you to all the teachers and staff. And Go Gators. Proud mother of Blake And Derrick Davidson.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2004

I am a very proud mother of 2 children this year who attend DCS. My third will be attending next year and I have no doubts about thier education. The children are provided with every tool neccassery to accomplish their best. The atmosphere is friendly,but professional. I would recommend DCS to any parent looking for a family oriented enviroment for their child to learn in. DCS Mom- Jennifer Dear
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2004

Delhi Charter is an excellent school. The entire staff is great. My children have attended school here since it first open its doors. The policy they have on parental involvement I believe is part of what makes this school great. Mrs. Russell is always available to talk to the parents if a problem occurs. The teachers all care about the students and are willing to work with the students that may have a problem in certain areas. Overall this is an excellent school. Terry Rockett/DCS GATOR MOM#79
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
70%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
73%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

50 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
78%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
75%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
86%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
24%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
55%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
19%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
7%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 47%
Black 21% 45%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A67%
Male 53%N/A51%
Female 47%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Philip S. Gaharan Sr.
Fax number
  • (318) 878-0434

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Vocational education

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6940 Louisiana 17
Delhi, LA 71232
Phone: (318) 878-0433

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Riverfield Academy
Rayville, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT