Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Denham Springs Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 12, 2014

My child attended for 4 years at this school. This year was a NIGHTMARE. The principal was rude and quite unprofessional on quite a few occasions, the teacher seemed totally uninterested in how my child was progressing. They were totally unaccomodating with my child being absent, even with dr excuses for every time she was out. To push the matter further, they let her fall so far behind that my only option was to pull her and send her to a different school. I am so upset that the school has gotten this bad. They really need to remove the principal and clean house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

My son has dyslexia and he gets all the help he is needing from the teacher in his class. The teacher seemed to notice right away that he had an issue and helped us along the way with getting him tested. He seems to be doing well now and really enjoys school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2013

The 2012-2013 school year was my children's first year in the public school system and I am very pleased with the teachers and administration. My 1st grader started the school year very nervous, shy, and would get his feelings hurt very easily. Now, he is outgoing and ready to take on the world. My children are well behaved and have not had to do any punish work, but my son did have one recess taken away and it was deserved punishment. The school rewards good behavior in many ways such as good bahavior parties every nine weeks, the staff gives out tickets as rewards for good behavior that the children can save for special treats like getting to have free dress, crazy hair, popsicles, chips & drink, or wear sunglasses and/or hats. These programs are encouraging to the children and they try harder to behave. The children aren't allowed to speak in the hallways because there are classes going on that shouldn't be disrupted when children are changing classes, going to lunch, recess etc. The teachers and staff seem to genuinely care for the students and encourage parents to be involved. My children and I have been extremley happy with their new school and are excited for the new year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2013

My daughter started DSE in the middle of a semester when we moved from being military to civlian. She has done amazingly well in the transition and Mr. Dimeri and the office staff and teachers have been very supportive and helpful. Not once have they lost their patience with my child who also has speech delay. School also encourages parents to get involved and are very encouraging to the students. Mr. Dimeri said he was very proud of all his students when he was doing award ceremonies this week! Great school and amazing staff!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2013

Seeing the negative reviews about DSE made me sad! I have a 4th grader who has been there since she started school and a kindergartener who started there this year. I am also at the school several days a week, and I feel like I see a lot of "behind the scenes" things. The posts about the punishwork and lost recess don't mention all of the things they do to encourage GOOD behavior. Everyone on staff hands out "Denham Dollars" when they see a student doing something good, and then the students can redeem their "Denham Dollars" for extra fun stuff like popsicles or treats, not wearing their uniform for a day, or getting to wear a crazy hair-do, sunglasses, or a hat to school. They also have school-wide good behavior parties every 9-weeks for kids who haven't been in trouble, and special good character parties monthly for the students who best show that month's special character trait. We have never had a bad experience with any of the teachers or staff at DSE. The front office staff are always nice and welcoming, the principal and vice-principal seem to genuinely care about the students, and the teachers always seem to love what they do and love each of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2013

WARNING: The principle of this school only cares about how the school appears to the public and his school grade. Recently I had a personal issue where I had to move to another school district. This happened after 6 months of my child attending this school. She came down with a terrible cold and was out of school for 4 days and returned with Dr.s excuses. He then called me and demanded a transfer. I was heartbroken over this and so was my child, she has been attending this school since the first grade and is now a fifth grader. All he had to do was be understanding and let her finish out the school year. He would never see my child again. I talked to the school board and without naming names was told specifically that the reason why he was doing this to my child was to save face. I don't know how many times I have walked into the school office and witnessed irate parents complaining about that school and their behavior towards our children. I recommend not sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2012

My oldest son attended Denham Springs Elementary for 4 years and hated every year of it. The principal and staff is overly concerned with the appearance of things and not the needs of the individual children. Many of my friends who had children also attend this school all complained of the same things: too much punishbwork, too many recesses being taken from the children for punishments and the school was too military - they can't even talk in the lunchroom! After many obstacles, my husband and I felt it was best to take our child out of this school and pursue homeschooling. This was the best thing for our son and family. Several of my friends did the same, but I also know a couple families that actually moved out of the district!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2011

My daughter transferred to DSE a few years ago from Lewis Vincent Elem when we moved, and I can't even put into words how much of a difference it has made! She had a lot of trouble with her grades before and now she is an honor roll student. The teachers are wonderful and the office staff as well as the principle are so pleasant and kind. We couldn't be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2008

I have an autistic son that is in the Pre-K program here and I couldn't be more pleased. The teachers are wonderful as are the administrators. The truth is, I have never seen my son so happy until he started attending this school. He went to daycare in the past and would cry everytime we pulled into the parking lot and now that he is attending this school he gets on the bus with a huge smile on his face and waves goodbye to me. When he gets home all he talks about is going back! I thank God for this school and it has been a blessing in my son's life and anything that is a blessing for him is a blessing for me. Thanks Denham Springs Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2006

My children went to this school for 3 years. They were miserable, they hated it and cried every day wanting to stay home. It was horrible, the staff in the office weren't very nice. I moved them to Walker Elementary and they are very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
88%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
91%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
82%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
82%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 47%
Black 14% 45%
Hispanic 7% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Ronald Kropog
Fax number
  • (225) 664-8672

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

306 North Range Avenue
Denham Springs, LA 70726
Website: Click here
Phone: (225) 665-5855

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Community Christian Academy
Denham Springs, LA


Northside Elementary School
Denham Springs, LA


Southside Elementary School
Denham Springs, LA


Freshwater Elementary School
Denham Springs, LA


Eastside Elementary School
Denham Springs, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT