Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Downsville High School

Public | K-12 | 333 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 21, 2011

I attended DHS. I don't understand why the people of Union Parish want to whine about the physical condition of the school buildings when the majority of the residents refuse to pay more in taxes so the community can have nice things. The school board does not have a magic wand it can wave and make everything all shiny and new. Organize a clean up day and make it look better. This is a good school.


Posted November 30, 2009

bad teahing .....and if ur ken 2 anybody who works here u get special treatment .....its not right
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 19, 2008

this school is great and has a wonderful staff
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2008

This school is a school in trouble. It does not provide a viable education. How many students actually go on to and succed in college? Just this year they began offering TOPS required courses. (For those who don't know TOPS is a scholarship program provided by the state which will pay the full tuition of a student who takes the required courses and keeps the required grade point average throughout high school - if the child chooses to attend a private college TOPS will pay the state college tuition amount to the private college - for 4 full years!) There is a terrible lack of education - lack of discipline- lack of respectability at this school. The school board has it's own agenda - and sadly this is the highest rated school in Union Parish. Think twice about this Lake Darbonne paradise if you have children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

im a very proud student of downsville!i enjoy the small school enviorment,teachers,and the principal is great!!!i do admit though that the dress code is a little extreme but i can deal with it if it means i can keep going to downsville!!!the only things we realy need are extracurricular activities!!! we need to be a bigger,more well known school! over all,i rate this school *****!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2007

Downsville high school is a great school! Yes, they are lacking staff, but they make it up in the way they teach. All the teachers I had tryed their hardest to help the students understand anything that was being taught! None of the teachers I met there were rude or disrespectful, but were very nice and caring. All in all, Downsville High School is a great school and any student or parent i knew would tell you the very same!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

This school is a great place to attend and to work. I have been working there for 15 years and i drive from ouachita parish to teach there. I love it because it is small and you get to know the students and their parents better. It is a very close knit school. All the teachers seem to be loving and patient with the students
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2007

I would have to agree on the lack of educated staff. Most are just rude and could care less about anything but a paycheck. There is only one person in the entire school that I hold any respect for and that is Mrs. Traylor. This woman deserves any and all respect and I feel that without her the school would fall apart.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2007

Downsville needs help. There doesn't seem to be any stress on importance on academics, or a plan for the future for graduating seniors. There is very little actual control of student, parent, or teacher behavior. There is a lack of experienced and qualified staff to deal with todays normal issues. More parents would like to be involved, but before that can happen - the school needs a straight forward plan that can be and is followed. Teachers, administrators, students, and parents must all adhere to set standards - administered fairly and in an unbiased way for the school to improve. The size of the school has outgrown the 'hometown' methods employed there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2005

I am a former student of Downsville High School and graduated salutatorian of my class. While DHS offers the core curriculum for TOPS, I think that they should have more academic classes to choose from - such as advanced math and english classes and maybe even 'fun' classes. I'm having trouble in college because I wasn't challenged enough to study. I believe that they should offer more extracurricular activities, such as drama, music, and art clubs (kids get bored just working all day long). Although DHS could use more parental involvement, I still believe it is a great school because I felt safe when I was there. The teachers made you feel like one of their own and worked with you one-on-one. The building on the other hand should be knocked down and rebuilt.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 19, 2005

I think Downsville is a great place for kids to grow up. It is a family atmosphere at the school. Unfortunately, there isn't much parental involvement. We need that for the school to be successful. The teachers don't seem to care as much about the school. The school is dirty and falling apart. Needs new janitorial staff that will take pride in a clean school. We need new leadership to bring the parents, teachers, kids and community back together and to instill some pride in Downsville High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2005

I think downsville is a great school , it might need to be cleaned up a little better and the pricipal may be making too many changes at once but over all , my child loves it! it gives children a great experience and wonderful years to remember as they look back at there high school years with its close community that is so family like!keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2004

I think the school is academically challenged in some areas of grammar school and I don't mean the students. My student has made good grades until the 4th and their grades changed drastically, which is an indication to me that the teacher is in error or not qualified. A 4th grade teacher is important in teaching the children things that will ready them for the Leap test. My student failed the math leap and will be going to summer school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2004

I think it wouldn't hurt to have more extracurricular activities. But the most important thing is that I think my children are getting a great education and my children are safe at school. Downsville is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2003

i think downsville should have more after school activities and not be so strict.they should also clean up the school and fix alot of things around the buildings.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

29 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

29 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
67%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
35%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
37%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
15%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
61%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
27%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
16%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 47%
Hispanic 4% 4%
Black 3% 45%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 52%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Curtis Williams
Fax number
  • (318) 982-5737

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P. O. Box 8
Downsville, LA 71234
Phone: (318) 982-5318

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Choudrant High School
Choudrant, LA




Union Christian Academy
Farmerville, LA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT