Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Public district
Downsville, LA
Students enrolled: 333
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Downsville High School 5

Posted July 21, 2011
- a community member
I attended DHS. I don't understand why the people of Union Parish want to whine about the physical condition of the school buildings when the majority of the residents refuse to pay more in taxes so the community can have nice things. The school board does not have a magic wand it can wave and make everything all shiny and new. Organize a clean up day and make it look better. This is a good school.

Downsville High School 1

Posted November 30, 2009
- a student
bad teahing .....and if ur ken 2 anybody who works here u get special treatment .....its not right


Downsville High School 5

Posted September 19, 2008
- a student
this school is great and has a wonderful staff

Downsville High School 1

Posted April 29, 2008
- a parent
This school is a school in trouble. It does not provide a viable education. How many students actually go on to and succed in college? Just this year they began offering TOPS required courses. (For those who don't know TOPS is a scholarship program provided by the state which will pay the full tuition of a student who takes the required courses and keeps the required grade point average throughout high school - if the child chooses to attend a private college TOPS will pay the state college tuition amount to the private college - for 4 full years!) There is a terrible lack of education - lack of discipline- lack of respectability at this school. The school board has it's own agenda - and sadly this is the highest rated school in Union Parish. Think twice about this Lake Darbonne paradise if you have children.

Downsville High School 5

Posted February 24, 2008
- a student
im a very proud student of downsville!i enjoy the small school enviorment,teachers,and the principal is great!!!i do admit though that the dress code is a little extreme but i can deal with it if it means i can keep going to downsville!!!the only things we realy need are extracurricular activities!!! we need to be a bigger,more well known school! over all,i rate this school *****!!!


Downsville High School 4

Posted October 01, 2007
- a student
Downsville high school is a great school! Yes, they are lacking staff, but they make it up in the way they teach. All the teachers I had tryed their hardest to help the students understand anything that was being taught! None of the teachers I met there were rude or disrespectful, but were very nice and caring. All in all, Downsville High School is a great school and any student or parent i knew would tell you the very same!

Downsville High School
no rating

Posted September 26, 2007
- a teacher
This school is a great place to attend and to work. I have been working there for 15 years and i drive from ouachita parish to teach there. I love it because it is small and you get to know the students and their parents better. It is a very close knit school. All the teachers seem to be loving and patient with the students

Downsville High School 2

Posted September 04, 2007
- a parent
I would have to agree on the lack of educated staff. Most are just rude and could care less about anything but a paycheck. There is only one person in the entire school that I hold any respect for and that is Mrs. Traylor. This woman deserves any and all respect and I feel that without her the school would fall apart.


Downsville High School 2

Posted March 24, 2007
- a parent
Downsville needs help. There doesn't seem to be any stress on importance on academics, or a plan for the future for graduating seniors. There is very little actual control of student, parent, or teacher behavior. There is a lack of experienced and qualified staff to deal with todays normal issues. More parents would like to be involved, but before that can happen - the school needs a straight forward plan that can be and is followed. Teachers, administrators, students, and parents must all adhere to set standards - administered fairly and in an unbiased way for the school to improve. The size of the school has outgrown the 'hometown' methods employed there.

Downsville High School 3

Posted August 24, 2005
- a student
I am a former student of Downsville High School and graduated salutatorian of my class. While DHS offers the core curriculum for TOPS, I think that they should have more academic classes to choose from - such as advanced math and english classes and maybe even 'fun' classes. I'm having trouble in college because I wasn't challenged enough to study. I believe that they should offer more extracurricular activities, such as drama, music, and art clubs (kids get bored just working all day long). Although DHS could use more parental involvement, I still believe it is a great school because I felt safe when I was there. The teachers made you feel like one of their own and worked with you one-on-one. The building on the other hand should be knocked down and rebuilt.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Downsville High School
P. O. Box 8, Downsville, LA  71234
(318) 982-5318
Last modified Downsville High School is a Public school that serves grades K-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Downsville High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top