Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Theresa Middle School

Private | 4-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Gonzales

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $158,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 8, 2014

What a terrible place. The principal does not care about most of the students, only the ones whose parents are up her behind. A lot of the students definitely do not exemplify what the Catholic faith is about. They talk about drugs, sex, bullying on Twitter, Tumblr, etc. and the administration or their parents have no clue and don't care. There is a serious culture problem going on there and a change in leadership needs to be addressed immediately. I pray for the good kids at St. Theresa and hope they can survive the bullying, not just from other students, but also from the administration. I wish I could give less than one star.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2014

I am at East Ascension High School at the moment, and all I have to say about this school is that (unless it is involving Religious school, then, slightly less so...) it was, AND IS, the worst of the worst, the baddest of the bad, and the teachers were, and most likely are, just like the demons from fantasia... They can rip your soul out with a spoon... If you were to ask me about it, I would simply say, "I switched schools for a reason." I mean, this is supposed to be a religious school, but, instead, it seems to be run by evil DEMONS.... The staff are, and were, mean, the students were rude, and the teacher will not do anything about it. And I suffered this in pre-k... PRE-K!!! So if I had an equivalent name for this school, it would be "evil" or "the opposite of heaven".


Posted October 4, 2013

The administration at St. Theresa does not care about the student's well-being. Their #1 goal is to CYA. They are incompetent, ignorant of their own policies, and only look to protect themselves. There is no way this administration should be involved in education. Just a miserable place for my child to attend and am glad we are no longer involved there. Good riddance!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2013

after being a student at STA......... i was a student at sta and it was almost like a prison. the administration sucks, the school looks even worse than public schools, and their mission statement was wrong because it said "the mission at st john primary and st theresa school is to serve one another thru catholic values to strive for spiritual growth and academic excellence." those words meant nothing to the administration. the teachers would talk to each other instead of watching the kids at recess. people curse all the time and play with their phones in class and the teachers don't mind. i felt like i was the only good student there and that's why i had to leave.


Posted September 1, 2012

I absolutely loved the Catholic atmosphere of St. Theresa School. While attending St. Theresa, my class and I were as close as family! I felt so well-prepared when I began attending a prestigious high school! As a student, I always felt 100% comfortable when approaching my teachers and asking for help. The Home and School Association allows parents to play an active role in their child's school life. Thank you, St. Theresa. I will forever be a STA Warrior at heart.


Posted January 19, 2011

After graduating from St. Theresa, I can say that it has changed me for the better. I loved going to school, seeing friends and teachers, and interacting in class. The teachers always put their pupils first, and were never unwilling to make reasonable arrangements to make their students comfortable in any way possible. The students are raised, also, with grace and politeness that most Catholic Schools train their kids with. Although there are some minor improvements that could be made, St. Theresa of Avila is an amazing school that am and will always be proud to call my Alma mater.


Posted February 27, 2009

Very caring; great kids, great families; great staff. My son loves this school and is learning so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

My only complaint - no Gifted/Talented programs for students that excel in certain areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2006

St. Theresa of Avila has been a blessing to our family. My son is in the 4th grade and loves going to school. Each day he has something to look forward to whether it's as simple as PE or as special as a magic show. The confidence and self pride that he has developed in his 5 years at STA makes this mom smile. Most of the teachers are fair and kind and none that I have interacted with are unwilling to listen to a parent concern. The administrative staff are top notch and have our kids best interest at heart at all times. Our family has developed some close and lasting friendships through the extracuricular activites and parental involvement encouraged by the school ie: bingo night, cub scouts, burger king / brewbachers night and many more.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 47%
Black 1% 45%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Christine Musso
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Fax number
  • (225) 647-7814

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Baton Rouge
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

212 East New River Street
Gonzales, LA 70737
Phone: (225) 647-2803

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT