Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Duplessis Primary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 28, 2013

This year has been great!! My daughter struggled at first but with the extra help from the teachers and staff at Duplessis she's getting on track.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2013

The teachers work really well with the students. I believe they have that "leave no student behind" mind frame. Also, the students seem to be really disciplined.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

My son is 8 years old. and he goes to this school. this is a awesome school. they really seem to care about the kids. the teachers are greta. i give it 5 stars..thanks
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

Duplessis is a wonderful school, the staff is unbelievable!! The most caring and nurturing I have ever seen in a school. Teachers who care about the kids, and are not only teachers, but counselors, nurses, therapists, you name it and that is their role. People think that a teachers job is the easiest, but I can promise you it is not. I have been substituting there for 3 years now, and I see how hard a teachers job really is. Teachers should be more praised, and definently have a better salary!!!!!Go Duplessis!!! Hope you all win!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2010

I have 2 children in this school, one is in special education. They really work with him and do their best to help him. The teachers and faculty really seam to care about the children's education. In my experience, they really try to work out any problems and make it feel like a team effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2009

Great teachers and administration
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

I am a parent of a kindergartener and I love it. He is reading on a 1st grade level in kindergarten. His teacher keeps me informed of what is going on in her class as well as my son's performance and behavior. Duplessis is a really great school. I have a nephew that started recently and he is performing better than he was at his old school. Now he enjoys going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I am a parent of two students at Duplessis. I find that the administration is unorganized and unprepared to handle new challenges. The administration becomes defensive when parents ask for simple clarification on school policies and practices. It is also difficult to get the vice principals to return phone calls. I find that my children course work is behind what they were doing a year ago at another school. The homework is repetitive, mundane and does not inspire the children to learn. I attended a parent teacher conference and asked basic educational questions about the curriculum and each time the teacher shrugged her shoulders and said, I don t know to every question. I am also finding instances where the school staff is not aware of what the parish policy is. I find the school frustrating. My children are excelling at Duplessis only because of the education they have received elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

January 2007 My son has been attending Duplessis since Kdg. This school and its teachers are wonderful. They truely care about the students and thier welfare. This has got to be Gonzales' #1 school. Thank you Duplessis !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2006

My child is in 4th grade at Duplessis Primary School. The teachers are wonderful and they actually teach the children. My child has homework but it is strictly a review of what she was taught at school. This shows me that the teachers are actually teaching at school. This is not the case at all schools. Some children are in class all day and come home and have 5-6 hours of homework and we wonder why the children are obese and have health issues. The parent involement for the major activities is great. We have raised lots of money for the school and it shows that all are very proud of their school. We have great leadership also. I know my daughter will sail through the LEAP test and do well in Middle School. This year she is learning study tecniques that she will continue to master throughout her school years.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
74%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 47%
Black 28% 45%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 55%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jevella Williamson
Fax number
  • (225) 677-5984

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

38101 Louisiana 621
Gonzales, LA 70737
Phone: (225) 391-6650

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. John Primary
Prairieville, LA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT