Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Ascension High School

Public | 8-12 | 1050 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

I think EA or Big Blue is one of the best school in Ascension parish. I have two kid that go there a senior and a freshmen they both love their teacher and the staff. EA is a school full of pride,I think that's great. Love EA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2013

EA is a school with great camaraderie, great programs for kids to get involved in, great teachers and staff and if I had a choice to send my child to any of the other two local HS's ~ I wouldn't ........ EA is dedicated to Excellence and it has shown time and time again
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

An awesome school with great traditions. Our parish is always trying to make education better. Would be great for upgrades.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

I think the school is going through a dramatic change with the re-district and everything. It needs time to situatate itself. Teachers and staff are trying to make helpful programs for our personal problems and education. We are always called the 'inner-city' school, but every school has a reputation and we just get targeted when something bad happens. I think the great teachers and friends makes it a good experience and I learn something new everyday.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 13, 2009

As a former EA Student class of '05, as well as having two younger brothers that attend the school now, and a Mother, Aunt, Uncle and Many Cousins that attended the School, I know that this is by far one of the best schools. The Teachers are extremely dedicated to what they do. The School Sprit is extremely upbeat. We many not have one of the top football teams but we are behind them 100%. School has recently received a face lift which it really needed I mean the school is 43 years old after all, one of the oldest schools in the district. We always get a bad name but I think that out of the schools in the APSB we are by far the best. I mean how many time have you heard about something bad happening at EA. I love this school! Go Big Blue!


Posted August 18, 2008

I am very happy with my son at East Ascension High School. The faculty is second to none.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2008

This school was wonderful before the APSB decided to begin changing the district lines. Nice people but 'school in decline'
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 23, 2008

I found the Ascension school district disjointed and corrupt. EA has become a 'dumping ground' as district lines are drawn to weed out 'undesirables' from other schools in the area. It is disgraceful and if not illegal, certainly unethical. The people of EA are nice and simply victims of this corruption. EA has an abundance of school pride and sports are a priority . Statistically EA is on the decline academically. New leadership is needed to deal with a corrupt district and inspire the teachers, students, and parents of EA to love learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2007

this school is the best my son ever when to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

I love this school. Im gonna miss it so much. We had alot of fun there and also learned alot, not only book smarts but everyday knowledge and things that we would use now and in the future. The teachers are great and are really helpful.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 4, 2006

The teachers at EA are completely dedicated and provide a wonderful opportunity for academic success for every student at East Ascension. Extracurricular activities are extremely successful and the school offers a variety of athletic, musical, and artistic opportunities.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 64% in 2010.

376 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2010.

376 students were tested at this school in 2010.

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
51%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
46%
English II

The state average for English II was 93% in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
56%
English III

The state average for English III was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 83% in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the End-Of-Course (EOC) tests to test grade high school students in English 2, English 3, biology 1, algebra 1 and geometry. The EOC is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The EOC is a high school graduation requirement. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

Source: LA Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 47%
Black 36% 45%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

612 East Worthy Street
Gonzales, LA 70737
Website: Click here
Phone: (225) 391-6100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Faith Academy
Gonzales, LA


Faith Academy
Gonzales, LA


St. Amant High School
St. Amant, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT