Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Academy of the Sacred Heart

Private | PK-12 | 340 students

Our school is best known for the strength of its academic program.
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2013

The Academy of Sacred Heart is a wonderful school. My husband and I are very impressed with the education and the manners the girls display. Your child will be prepared for the future and society .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

With great dignity and respect, the wonderful school educates girls and transforms them into young women in the most loving and caring way. My two daughters love going to school and we are blessed as parents through our children's experience at the Academy of the Sacred Heart. Everything is done in a very meaningful, simple, dignified way. While academically excellent, their approach is such that girls are not intimidated into learning to achieve a test score, but rather because they have instilled in them a love of learning that inspires them to reach new heights. There is no better place for young girls to evolve into beautiful young women who are poised, confident and self-assured. It is truly a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

The school fosters a strong sense of self, community and wisdom in the girls. The girls are challenged to become not only exceptional students, but exceptional members of the community. I attended and now my daughter is attending the same school. The school is set in a beautiful location and has great teachers that attempt to foster a sense of curiosity regarding education rather than simply teaching rote memorization for testing purposes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Our family has attended this school for generations. The sense of community is one that can not be found at any other school. The teachers are caring and capable. The academics are rigorous and students are more than prepared for college. Now that there is a boys' division, there is nothing more that we could ask for from this school. It is no doubt the best school in the Acadiana area,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

This School has the best academic progrems I have seen. Teachers are always willing to help students no matter what. There is almost every sport for girls there. There is music, art, and optional piano,and guitar lessons. This is the first private and all girl school my daughter has been to. I have no intension of taking her out. There are so many more good things i could say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2005

My daughter attended this school for 12 years. A more loving and caring environment for your daughter, you will not find. Although very academically challenging, the teachers were always there willing to help with any problems. I found most of the teachers employed there were there for the 'love of teaching', a deep respect for the school and its history, and the opportunity to shape and mold a future generation of young women into confident, independent, well-rounded individuals. This school was truly my daughter's home-away-from home. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants their daughter to learn to love and embrace the power of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

I just graduated from the Academy of the Sacred Heart and am currently a freshman at Tulane University. College has been a breeze for me and I find I was well prepared. My teachers really cared about me and still do. The curriculum was challenging but yet we managed to have a blast. It was an incredible place to grow up and I miss it dearly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2003

A wonderful place for a girl to grow into womanhood and learn leadership skills under the guidance of an incredible faculty and awesome resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 47%
Black 5% 45%
Hispanic 5% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Tulane University
Millsaps College
Spring Hill College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Rosetta Stone (any language)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 7:55 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:15 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lynne Lieux, RSCJ
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • All girls
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • Diocese of Lafayette
  • ISAS
  • Network of Sacred Heart Schools
Fax number
  • (337) 662-3011

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Internships
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Rosetta Stone (any language)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lafayette
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Book/reading club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Girls on the run
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2014-2015 school year.


Students accepted for the 2014-2015 school year
57
Applications received for the 2014-2015 school year
63

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$6000 - $16000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Tulane University
Millsaps College
Spring Hill College
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1821 Academy Road
Grand Coteau, LA 70541
Website: Click here
Phone: (337) 662-5275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Ignatius School
Grand Coteau, LA




Beau Chene High School
Arnaudville, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT