Advertisement
Advertisement

Schools of the Sacred Heart

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 14, 2013

The Academy of Sacred Heart is a wonderful school. My husband and I are very impressed with the education and the manners the girls display. Your child will be prepared for the future and society .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2010

With great dignity and respect, the wonderful school educates girls and transforms them into young women in the most loving and caring way. My two daughters love going to school and we are blessed as parents through our children's experience at the Academy of the Sacred Heart. Everything is done in a very meaningful, simple, dignified way. While academically excellent, their approach is such that girls are not intimidated into learning to achieve a test score, but rather because they have instilled in them a love of learning that inspires them to reach new heights. There is no better place for young girls to evolve into beautiful young women who are poised, confident and self-assured. It is truly a special place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2009

The school fosters a strong sense of self, community and wisdom in the girls. The girls are challenged to become not only exceptional students, but exceptional members of the community. I attended and now my daughter is attending the same school. The school is set in a beautiful location and has great teachers that attempt to foster a sense of curiosity regarding education rather than simply teaching rote memorization for testing purposes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

Our family has attended this school for generations. The sense of community is one that can not be found at any other school. The teachers are caring and capable. The academics are rigorous and students are more than prepared for college. Now that there is a boys' division, there is nothing more that we could ask for from this school. It is no doubt the best school in the Acadiana area,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2006

This School has the best academic progrems I have seen. Teachers are always willing to help students no matter what. There is almost every sport for girls there. There is music, art, and optional piano,and guitar lessons. This is the first private and all girl school my daughter has been to. I have no intension of taking her out. There are so many more good things i could say about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2005

My daughter attended this school for 12 years. A more loving and caring environment for your daughter, you will not find. Although very academically challenging, the teachers were always there willing to help with any problems. I found most of the teachers employed there were there for the 'love of teaching', a deep respect for the school and its history, and the opportunity to shape and mold a future generation of young women into confident, independent, well-rounded individuals. This school was truly my daughter's home-away-from home. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants their daughter to learn to love and embrace the power of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2004

I just graduated from the Academy of the Sacred Heart and am currently a freshman at Tulane University. College has been a breeze for me and I find I was well prepared. My teachers really cared about me and still do. The curriculum was challenging but yet we managed to have a blast. It was an incredible place to grow up and I miss it dearly.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2003

A wonderful place for a girl to grow into womanhood and learn leadership skills under the guidance of an incredible faculty and awesome resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 44%
Black 5% 51%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Lafayette
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

P.O. Box 310
Grand Coteau, LA 70541
Phone: (337) 662-5275

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Ignatius School
Grand Coteau, LA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT