Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Arden Cahill Academy

Private | PK-8 | 485 students

Arden Cahill Academy is known for our exceptional, accelerated learning program.

 
 

Living in Gretna

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $124,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $940.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

47 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 21, 2009

Cahill is a wonderful school. My 2 children have been there since 18 mos. My biggest fear has come true-4th grade. The teachers are very non-forgiving and push them WAY too hard. My child has always excelled. Her self-esteem has crashed due to the 4th grade teachers. I love the school and would hate to consider leaving, but how do I subject my younger child to the H**L of 4th grade at Cahill! I no longer feel that the $$ I'm paying is benefitting my child. I've talked to the teachers and they have a VERY nonchalant attitude--as if, I owe them for letting them teach my child. I also have a problem with after care. For the $$ we pay, the chidlren shouldn't sit in the gym for 8 hours on all day child care. At least let them go to the empty rooms and watch movies in chairs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

My children have been at this school for seven years. I love the school up until the second grade. After the second grade it seems as though the teachers do not take time with the students, they are expected to catch on the first time. Teachers do not allow the students to ask many questions. It is very unorganized after the second grade. Students who bully other kids or talked to and have to sit in the office. This method does not seem to work because the same kids are still bullying. The school is very espensive and prices rise every year for every activity. The registration fee is $400.00 every year and you still pay for and supply everrything else that is needed for your children. The classes get smaller as the grade levels increase because we are finding better options these days.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I highly reccomend Arden Cahill Academy. I went there for seven years, and durign those seven years I learned more then any other school could have taught me. I visited many differnt schools throught my years at cahill and none of them compared to its quality. When I got to high school I was prepared and above most people in Freshman, Sophomore, and Junior class. I am graduating this year and I still use the things instilled in me from Cahill towards my education in highschool. more than just a school it taught me to be a respectful young lady and well mannered. It taught me about life lessons and everything that you need to go ahead with in life. So if you are thinking about sending your child there. I suggest you should. its quiet incredible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 8, 2008

This summer my children attended the first session of Arden Cahill Academy. Everyday, my children would jump in the car excited to tell me about their day. I think the staff works hard to make sure the children have the best experiences. My children have been able to ride horses, ride paddle boats, and attend a sock hop, among other activities such as swimming, competitions such as blue and white day, and help put on a play. They have been learning, exploring, and having a great time in Discovery Science and Language Arts. They have been using their imagination creating in Art. They also enjoy the food and the kind staff in the cafeteria. They have been introduced to new games during gym. It is exciting to see my children so motivated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2008

Unorganized. Have to get multiple sheets every Friday from each subject in different piles and compile them together yourself for signature. My children's new school is not over-enrolled and it comes from all classes as a packet from the home room teacher. Was just always unhappy re; disorganization. Carpool is a parking lot!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

I have a 4 y.O. And he is doing great. The teachers are all wonderful, great activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2007

My son is in kindergarten at ACA, and we are very pleased with the school so far. This is his first year, and we were concerned that he would not be at the same level as the other children who had been there for Pre-3 and Pre-4. We are so excited that he has done very well and is thoroughly enjoying school. He has the best group of teachers we could have imagined. We must be lucky so far as I have not observed any over-crowding or after-care problems. There are 16 children in his class, and he has first-class after-care workers. I know each family has a different experience, so I'm sure there is some truth to those comments and appreciate knowing what to look out for in the future. However, to those considering the school, please visit, talk to other parents, and meet the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

This school is great and I can not believe that some people think and write differently, they believe that just because it is a private school that it and it's staff need to cater to their every need the school prepares the children so well, I my self attended the school and now my two children attend also. Anyone looking for a good education for their child should at least see the school and try it I do not think that it is a school for every child because it is advanced and not all children can handel the work. Just try it and see!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

Well rounded school with high academic standards, art, sports, music, language!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2007

This is a beautiful school. The school has a very friendly staff and clean grounds. The extras the school boasts, like the swimming pools, air conditioned indoor gym, and on site petting zoo make it a delight for students. Clearly the best choice for a private school on the westbank.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2007

I had two children attending (3yr and 8yr olds) I had to unenroll the youngest. He was moving up from the infant center to the main building where he was going to change classes 5x throughout the day. The problem was that my child is potty trained and still requires assistance with hygiene post bowel movements as I expect that most 3 yr olds would. The teachers were not willing to help wipe these kids at all, several stated that they should have already acquired this skill. The teachers I spoke with were not at all concerned and quite frankly had a hands off attitude. These are toddlers and still require nurturing. They expect to much independence. I spoke with Arden Cahill and she offered no acceptable resolution. In fact I was told that there are 103 3 yrs olds and they could not give that type of attention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2007

I had several children go through this school from Infant Centre to graduation of 8th grade. The school was good prior to change in principals. The school is overcrowded and they can't handle it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

It is a good school for very serious students. If your child has any trouble with schoolwork or organization skills it might not work out. a A child who responds to a challange will do well.


Posted June 7, 2007

My daughter went to Cahill when she was three. I wasn't pleased with the teachers.They push way to hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2007

My kids attended ACA from pre-4 to the third grade, when we unfortunately had to leave. There is just no comparison to any school we have seen. Arden Cahill is the most complete school you'll find in that area. You go there for an Academically sound education and you get a lot of lagniappe. The theatre and drama teachers are first class! You do not have to run around town to find extras. There is chess, swimming, music, multiple sports, a farm with animals, beautiful grounds, horse back riding, and Mrs. Cahill. I am still amazed at how disciplined the kids are. I get compliments daily on how well behaved my kids are, and I thank Cahill for that. If we should return to that area, we will be right back at ACA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2007

Too crowded.Not enough individual attention for the price. Other private schools in the area a lower teacher to student ratio. School as overgrown over it's limits and can't handle the daily functions throughout the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

I attended Cahill from elementary to middle school.I enjoyed extracurricular activities. I left with low self esteem and held it until college when I joined a sorority. I believe that kids should get graded on tests, quizzes and homework instead of binder checks, cover sheets and supplies brought in.It was unfair to me that I was intelligent (scholarship for college) and made the same grade as a kid who had F's on tests, but had a binder in better condition than mine. My other siblings have all been taken out of the school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 28, 2007

My child has been attending Arden Cahill Academy since Pre- k4. Up until this year he has enjoyed his education and so have we. I am seeing some of the unfortunate things that past parents warned me about. Standards based teaching says that you teach to every type of learner and this school does not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2007

I started out with 4 kids at this school and removed 2 of them because the childcare is very substandard. As soon as my younger 2 kids are old enough to leave, they will be leaving also. The education is great between 8AM and 3PM. After that, it is a nightmare. It is very expensive for the quality of the aftercare. There is no consistency. I have had many problems with the adminstration and the aftercare help. The regular teachers are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2007

We have been at Cahill for over 14 years.Things have changed since.The classes were smaller and more personal. You get the feeling that there is always someone behind you who will jump in your spot.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 47%
Black 35% 45%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 1%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Tutor(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Reading specialist(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Music teacher(s)
Math specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Gardening teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
French
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mary Kevin Cahill
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (504) 392-3813

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Morning/Noon Assisted Carpool
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Chess club
  • Choir
  • Drama club
  • Flag girls
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
St. Andrew's
Belle Chasse Primary
Our Lady of Perpetual Help

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$5000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Newman
Brother Martin
Dominican
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3101 Wall Boulevard
Gretna, LA 70056
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 392-0902

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Muslim Academy
Gretna, LA





Walden Academy
Terrytown, LA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT