Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gretna Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 750 students

Our school is best known for out superior athletics and band
 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

Its ok i guess just to much drama and twerking it just needs more dicipline its outta controll cuase they dont have decipline and a lot of the teachsrs are quitting due to those problems .


Posted December 2, 2013

Terrible. Terrible. Ratchet. Terrible.I HATE IT SO MUCH PLEASE GET A NEW PRINCILE WE'RE DYING OVER HEREE.


Posted August 18, 2013

I went to this school when I was in Middle school, I don't remember to much about but now my niece is going there and she says the restrooms are absolutely gross and she does not feel comfortable using them. I would like to hear what other people have to say about this school.


Posted August 1, 2013

This school is nasty ! To all of you parents don't let you child go to this school ! Just in advice ! I am a student ! I don't know in the old back days if it was a good school but I know that in 2011 - 2014 it's a really bad school ! I am going 8th grade at that school and I don't want to but I just have to deal with it that's the only way ! And next year I am going to high school ! Called lake central high school ! It's in Indiana and I love that school ! That's just my advice !


Posted March 5, 2013

This middle school is one of the cleanest schools I have seen. Teachers work with you and your child and try their best to help them reach their full potentail. When we asked why the uniform policy was so strict (they all have to dress with the same shoes, pants, shirts for grade level), we were told it was for safety reasons, which is most important to me and my family. Students are given many opportunities to excel at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2012

Very poor educational values,uniform policy a joke,this school is an abundance of foolishness and are discriminative towards students and i will be so glad when I move out of their district,leadership is poor,teaching staff is poor, overall,the school is not well kept,mold filled the walls and students were made to come to school and be contaminated,poor lunch habits,on a scale from 1-10 Gretna Middle gets a -1000 from me a concerned and very disappointed parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2012

Hello All- I'd like as much feedback as possible, whether negative or positive, thank you. This will be my son's first year in middle school. What have your experiences been recently with this school? I notice these comments are years old...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2010

This has been the best year ever! Our students have numerous activities they can choose to be involved in- a variety of school clubs and sports activities and our teachers are awesome! After being in the school system for nearly 10 years, I can honestly say this is the best staff I have ever worked with. Their professionalism and ability to work well together show that we have great leadership at Gretna Middle. Students are treated fairly, but are also held accountable for their actions. Nearly every teacher here has great classroom management and teaches students in a nurturing, yet structured and engaging learning environment. I love coming in to work everyday at Gretna Middle and would go nowhere else!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 6, 2009

It deciplens the students in a fair way and the have a police officers at every corner so no violence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Gretna Middle School has the most conducive learning environment of any school in the Jefferson Parish Public School System. It's warm, caring faculty and staff provide a safe and nurturing environment that many parents want for their child. The teachers design lessons for their students that are engaging and fun-filled. GMS Tornadoes are TERRIFIC!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 4, 2009

This school is by far the worse school a parent could send their precious cargo. If someone provokes your child to anger after being bullied,the both of them recieve the same punishment.That just isn't fair this school needs serious evaluations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2009

This school is the most worst ever.The dean is really horrible they look through all your personal belongings and some teachers really dont follow the rules.They need to make the school bigger and let them have like many classes to chose from to have fun.Please do not send your child to this nasty school.Because the lockers and the bathrooms are dirty.I strongly dissagree on saying this is a good school.They really need to do something and the school board needs to find out about this school.Thxs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

My child has gone to this school for three years now and I am proud to say that I am very thankful for the teachers there. The teachers really care for the students and you should send your kids there. However, the principal is terrible. She is never available, she hides in her office all the time, moody, and shows plays favorites with students and teachers. She is not consistent and not friendly. I wish for a new principal for this school. If that were to happen this school would be powerful and positive. Teachers: Keep up the great work! My child will miss you all so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2008

No one mentioned that our school's scores went up last year. Someone mentioned earlier that it was a failing school- NOT SO . Also, classes were overcrowded in the past because any student could have attended this school. NOW the school has been redistricted and we have about 300 less students. It makes a world of difference when classes are NOT OVERCROWDED! Students are learning more than ever and have the latest and best technology to learn with. The teachers are some of the best and most motivational I have ever seen. Another big improvement is that most of the students have been reading a lot more than ever because of our new library program and you can bet that scores will definitely go up this year! Not to mention the fact that we have awesome adminstrators who really care about the faculty as well as the students... Enough said....
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 11, 2008

My students have admitted that this school year is better than ever. They say the teachers and administrators have really shown an extra effort to help them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

this school has failed a number of times i strongly suggest you try to place your child somewhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2008

These comments about gretna middle must be from back in the day because this school is nothing like it used to be. Students and teachers are disrespectful, classes are over crowded, they constantly run out of food to feed the kids, bottom line this school is a poor environment for any kid who wants to learn. The principle dont have a clue as to what is going on are either dont care whats going on in her school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2006

I as a student love gretna middle school cause of academics and awesome and caring teachers there.. i always feel safe there cause i know theres always 2 cops on duty that i know are well observant of what goes on at school ..i realy love the principal ms. davis shes sweet always smiling and controling of the school body. keep up the great work cant wait to return from summer vacation..
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 22, 2005

Gretna Middle is a great school! I was a little worried about it in the beginning, but now that my child has been attending I feel differently. The principal and teachers are excellant, and always keep the line of communication open, so that you know whats going on with your child.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 69% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
38%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
35%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 55% 45%
White 18% 47%
Hispanic 17% 4%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 1%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A67%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • School of Recognized academic Growth (2009)
  • School of Exemplary Academic Growth (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production
Clubs
  • Anime club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:30 am
School end time
  • 2:20 pm
School Leader's name
  • Edith Dozier
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (504) 366-8807

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
  • Visual impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Kiwanis Club
  • Target
  • Raising Cane's
  • Jefferson Parish Public Library
  • New Orleans Hornets
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Technical design and production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Academic Games
  • Anime club
  • Library Club
  • Multicultural Club
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Middle school


Finding the right school

 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Helen Cox High School
West Jefferson High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

910 Gretna Boulevard
Gretna, LA 70053
Website: Click here
Phone: (504) 366-0120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Jcfa-East
Gretna, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT