Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Kate Middleton Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 370 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 9, 2009

My son goes to Kate Middleton and he loves it. He gets up every morning excited about school. I love that he is enjoying school it makes things so much easier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2009

I wasnt to sure about this school when the school zone first came to light didn't want my kids to change from William Hart to Kate Middlleton. The school overall is good but the only problem i have with them is that you really dont know how well your child is doing until progress report or report cards come out.I am use to getting test folder coming home every week so i could help my kids were they need help but not at Kate Middleton.They just need to make a couple of changes and they will be all right.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2009

I was very disappointed when the district changed my daughters school this year. What a terrible idea to change a 4th graders school in such an important year. Her grades have gone from honor roll to almost failing. Almost everyday I am schocked when my daughter comes home and tells me how her day went at school. There is not enough parent - teacher communication when you dont find out till interims or report cards that your child is not doing well in a class. Many unfair things taking place at this school and I'm working on finding another school for next year even if it means we have to move. Yeah they offer tutoring and many other great things thats great and about the only thing I can say I am thankful for. This school has alot of improving to do in other areas though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2007

My daughter has been going to this school for 5 years now and as I would like to put her in a school where I would like for her to access more programs, I am very satisfied with the efforts that this school puts into her education. The whole staff is wonderful and I feel comfortable sending my daughter here as far as safety goes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2007

Overall I think the school great, I have a daughter in pre- k and a son in kindergarden. They love their school and look foward to each day there. The teacher's are very caring toward's the children. They work very hard making sure each child reaches their full potential. I look foward to my kid's to continue their education there. Great Job Mrs Williams.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2005

My daughter use to go to this school when the school was first turned to a Elementary school.Some of the staff members treated stundents like they were nobodys and I felt as iff it was wrong so I took my daughter out of the school.I think the way they started the school and had the children uprotted in the middle of there schooling the kids were use to one setting of school. and was placed into a different enviroment that caused them to act out.I think the staff was not ready and they could have did it three grades at a time instead of all at once.It would have been better for the stundents and the parents for the change.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
25%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
34%
Science

The state average for Science was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
27%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 66% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
49%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
35%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the integrated Louisiana Educational Assessment Program (iLEAP) to assess students in grades 3, 5, 6, and 7 in math, English language arts, science, and social studies. The iLEAP is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
64%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
60%
Scale: % basic or above

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Louisiana used the Louisiana Educational Assessment Program for the 21st Century (LEAP 21) to assess students in grades 4 and 8 in math, English language arts, science and social studies. The LEAP 21 is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Louisiana. The goal is for all students to score at or above basic on the test.

In preparation for new assessments in 2014-15, Louisiana is including more common core aligned content in LEAP and iLEAP tests in 2012-13 and in 2013-14. The percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Louisiana Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 85% 45%
White 7% 49%
Hispanic 4% 3%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Asian 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 96%N/A66%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Aretha Williams
Fax number
  • (504) 361-7704

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1407 Virgil Street
Gretna, LA 70053
Phone: (504) 366-8164

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Calvary Baptist School
New Orleans, LA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT